News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

6128+ Cassette / tape mod - could do with some help

Started by AmstradNoob, 18:53, 24 November 18

Previous topic - Next topic

AmstradNoob

I've never used a tape on an CPC before, but I have watched a few Youtube videos of the process.

I've followed this, http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/DIY_Plus_Tape_Socket and how to build a cable.

I've used the commands |tape

I've wrote a small basic program, of

10 PRINT "Hello world!"
20 GOTO 10

I know I've managed to save it to tape with SAVE "HELLO"

I've played the audio back through the deck's own speaker, and it does make sound the way I'm used to with computer data being on a tape. (I've left space at the start of the tape, so it doesn't try and use the non-data part)

Here's my problem(s)

The relay remote connection doesn't seem to be working. I have to unplug that cable, to make the deck active.

I've wired it up, matching the picture on the bottom of the relay, to the diagram. The same goes for the 1n41001 diode direction. I'm using a 2SC1815 (Not crossing the legs, since there's no need), and a 1K resistor.

I don't seem to be able to load back my little program, even after making sure the CPC is in |tape mode, and using Load" (I have no retail CPC cassette just yet)

I know the deck works, because I'm able to load stuff on other retro computers.

I've read other people giving up, and others making it work. I can't find any actual internal photos of an install. Just that someone took a photo of the port from the outside.

Any thoughts on where things might be going wrong?

tjohnson

Voltage to activate the relay? I assume its a 5v relay, maybe it isn't getting sufficient volltage.

Bryce

Can you hear the relay clicking? Is the relay installed the correct way around (if it has a diode inside you need to have wired it in the correct polarity)?