Author Topic: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA  (Read 12496 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline morcar

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Country: 00
  • Liked: 9
  • Likes Given: 7
Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« on: 17:47, 30 May 12 »
Can anyone let me know if i can plug the CPC 464 to a CRT VGA Monitor.


I have a nice big CRT here doing nothing and thought it might used for the CPC 464.


thanks

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.834
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2931
  • Likes Given: 1767
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #1 on: 20:10, 30 May 12 »
Yes, using something like that :
Arcade game RGB/CGA/EGA/YUV to VGA HD video converter board 1 VGA output | eBay


Some adapters, and an external 5V power supply for powering the computer too.
(may be using the same for both, I don't know)
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 695
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 404
  • Likes Given: 974
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #2 on: 10:09, 31 May 12 »
Yes, using something like that :
Arcade game RGB/CGA/EGA/YUV to VGA HD video converter board 1 VGA output | eBay


Some adapters, and an external 5V power supply for powering the computer too.
(may be using the same for both, I don't know)

I am using one of these to run an old 4:3 LCD monitor with my CPC.
I have real CPC monitors, but was given the LCD and thought I'd hook it up for fun.
I am using an old PC power supply to power the VGA converter card as well as the CPC and an external 3.5" floppy drive.
 
Cheers,
Shane
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline Shredder11

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 70
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 4
  • Likes Given: 53
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #3 on: 23:52, 04 June 12 »
I've got one of those arcade boards (v4) and over at atari-forum.com, someone on there had to make an extra little add-on circuit to provide proper v + h sync;  it was a logic chip with a few resistors and a capacitor if I remember.  At some point I will be digging mine out along with my soldering iron, so I can try it with my various computers.
Amstrad CPC6128, 3.5" Ext' Floppy, SD HxC Floppy Emulator

Offline buzby

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Country: gb
  • retro rulez
  • Liked: 24
  • Likes Given: 26
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #4 on: 04:33, 09 June 12 »

I am using one of these to run an old 4:3 LCD monitor with my CPC.
I have real CPC monitors, but was given the LCD and thought I'd hook it up for fun.
I am using an old PC power supply to power the VGA converter card as well as the CPC and an external 3.5" floppy drive.
 
Cheers,
Shane
hi i am thinking of getting one of these boards so i can use it on my tv with lcd connector as nothing else will get a decent picture, could you tell me what i need voltage wise to power it and what lead from the board to the cpc please
many thanks
buzby

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 695
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 404
  • Likes Given: 974
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #5 on: 11:24, 09 June 12 »
Hi,
The version of the VGA adapter board I have (version 4) requires between 5-12 volts, so it's fairly flexible (I think earlier versions of the board were 5 volts, or at least only mentioned 5 volts). My board actually has DC 5v-12v marked on it. I'm running it on 5 volts.
You also have a choice of two different connectors on the board...one is the same as the CPC 5v connector, the other is a 2 pin item.
If you look at the top right of the attached photo you will see the power requirements & connectors.
 
For wiring up the plug to the CPC (monitor plug) I used this...

Connect CPC to a VGA display | The Amstrad CPC news portal
 
Cheers,
Shane
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline MacDeath

  • Chaotic post writer and mock-up specialist
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 4.068
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 1183
  • Likes Given: 665
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #6 on: 20:06, 10 June 12 »
Nice but I miss the scanlines effect.

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.834
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2931
  • Likes Given: 1767
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #7 on: 21:04, 10 June 12 »
I don't remember any scanlines effects on my CTM... Just on emulators and, may be, some NTSC systems.
Thanks to not get it with this adapter ; It's for a good quality picture. (Thanks to my eyes)
« Last Edit: 21:05, 10 June 12 by TotO »
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline SyX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.134
  • Country: br
  • Liked: 1133
  • Likes Given: 1873
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #8 on: 21:13, 10 June 12 »
00Wrex, how do look the scrollers??? Mainly, if Edge Grinder supersmooth scroller works as GREAT as in a CRT monitor :)

Offline MacDeath

  • Chaotic post writer and mock-up specialist
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 4.068
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 1183
  • Likes Given: 665
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #9 on: 00:52, 11 June 12 »
Quote
I don't remember any scanlines effects on my CTM... Just on emulators and, may be, some NTSC systems.
you are not wrong TotO.

well, those scanlines weren't that marked on CPC to be true, compared to what I used to have on my EGA PC...

EGA is set at 350 vertical lines, with "native" specific monitor, so when dealing with some vertical 200, you had "large" black lines between the normal lines. very strange to be honest.


Amstrad CPC on its native monitor...
first the pixels weren't perfectly square of course.
And to be fair the scanline "lines" weren't as marked as some consoles on large TV in fullscreen.

Fact is, on the same monitor :
=a NES displays 256x240 on the whole surface of the TV/Monitor
= a SegaMS displays 256x192 on the same surface, sort of.

=Speccy has a border, but also only 256x192 inside this.

Amstrad CPC had quite a large Border, well not that big actually when you were in real 320x200...
but far bigger border compared to (IBM) PC who had almost no borders, but also native specific monitors...

As a result the CPC managed to produce actually fine and small pixels compared to many other systems.

perhaps those scanlines are a bit more viosible on CPC when plugged into a large CRT TV instead of the "not that big" Amstrad monitor.

But the thing is also about the "non really square" pixels... it could really add a lot when dealing with ditherings and gradiants, and got the Mode0 pixels less blocky, and the palette not too much bright and vividly coloured.


But hey, who am i kidding, having bigger screen being flat and easy to transport is good anyway. ;D


Was it here that I saw links to a site on another brand of "anything" to modern VGA converted that had a proper "scanline" effect ?


anyway, the fact is I miss this model don't have some "CRT-like" display effect.
 
« Last Edit: 00:56, 11 June 12 by MacDeath »

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 695
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 404
  • Likes Given: 974
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #10 on: 12:02, 11 June 12 »
00Wrex, how do look the scrollers??? Mainly, if Edge Grinder supersmooth scroller works as GREAT as in a CRT monitor :)

Hi SyX, unfortunately Edge Grinder is one of the games that the adapter cannot handle too well.
It definately plays the majority that I've thrown at it, but it's not perfect and will not play 100% of games.
It also plays most demo's I've tried without a problem...the Batman demo runs through for 95% of it, with only one small section where the screen just goes black...
I just found an earlier thread where a few of us discussed the adapter (inludes a couple of posts from when i first got mine).

6128+ on a 17" VGA Monitor.
6128+ on a 17" VGA Monitor.
 
I think for the money it is pretty good.
 
Cheers,
Shane
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline SyX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.134
  • Country: br
  • Liked: 1133
  • Likes Given: 1873
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #11 on: 15:42, 11 June 12 »
Thanks 00WReX!!! :D

It looks that i didn't see that thread the first time, rereading now :)


Chris Renz

  • Guest
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #12 on: 15:39, 21 September 12 »
I bought the converter a few weeks ago in August 2012. I determined a light flickering from the
first moment I used it on any kind of monitor. Now, I have got very heavy flickering on the screen
so that working with it is no longer possible. Does anyone of you have the same problem?

With kind regards,

Christian

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 695
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 404
  • Likes Given: 974
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #13 on: 18:21, 21 September 12 »
Hi Chris,
 
If the flickering you mention is the power LED onboard the VGA adapter card...I actually observed a similiar thing when I was playing around with power supplies.
 
In my case I tried to power the CPC, the adapter card & an external 3.5" floppy from a power pack that could not quite provide enough power.
 
The VGA card would power on, put as soon as I flicked on the CPC the VGA card LED would start to flicker...this would then cause the LCD screen to flash because basically the VGA card was continually resetting.
 
I solved this by going to an OLD PC power supply and no problems since.

My VGA adapter card card accepts from 5volts to 12volts...if yours is the same maybe if possible try another power source.

Cheers,
Shane.
« Last Edit: 18:23, 21 September 12 by 00WReX »
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline Badstarr

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: 00
  • Liked: 73
  • Likes Given: 8
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #14 on: 19:17, 21 September 12 »
That does sound like a lack of sufficient amps from the PSU or a lack of or insufficient "smoothing" circuitry, basically capacitors in the PSU that are used to hold the power output steady. If you are using an after market PSU, which I would imagine most of us are these days, the power draw maybe ok when just the CPC is connected, but add another device into the mix and things can go a little screwy. The reason being, that the manufacturer may have designed it to power a flatbed scanner for example (like the one I use) and it may well be sufficient for that application. But power a CPC with it and it may be working to its limit.


One of my plus machines has an extra capacitor added for this very reason, a factor I forgot completely when I got another 464 plus and I wondered why the Batman Forever demo kept on crashing until I swapped to an Amstrad MP2 power supply!



If your CPC  has been happy enough using the PSU without problems it may be worth finding another one for your VGA board. Do check though, that the CPC power supply can output 5v at at least 1.7 amps to be on the safe side.
Proud owner of 464 GTM64 6128 GTM65, GX4128 and a 464/6128 Plus Hybrid a 20 year long ambition realised! :-)

Christian

  • Guest
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #15 on: 16:26, 22 September 12 »
Hello,

thanks for your quick answers. I think that it is no problem with the PSU because I use
a different one for the CPC (MP1). For the converterboard I tried two different ones,
but the problem with the flickering (jumping) picture on the screen is still the same.
As another test I connected my WII to the the converterboard and there is NO picture on the screen.
I think it is out-of-order.
Yesterday I contacted the manufacturer. I waiting for his reply.with kind regards,

Christian

Offline Badstarr

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: 00
  • Liked: 73
  • Likes Given: 8
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #16 on: 13:25, 23 September 12 »
As you've tried several PSU options I guess the darned thing is broken. Shame, I hope the after sales support is good and you get a working replacement. I have been considering one of these boards for a while, the only thing that has put me off is that it has to travel from china and it's not 100% compatible with some things like the Batman demo and I do like watching it quite often! It never gets old!
Proud owner of 464 GTM64 6128 GTM65, GX4128 and a 464/6128 Plus Hybrid a 20 year long ambition realised! :-)

Chris Renz

  • Guest
Re: Amstrad CPC 464 to VGA
« Reply #17 on: 14:52, 23 September 12 »
Hi,

I am a lucky guy, because I bought it via Ebay from Berlin / Germany.
The folllowing link shows where I bought it:
Arcade game RGB/CGA/EGA/YUV to VGA HD video converter board 1 VGA output | eBay

kind regards,

Christian