News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Amstrad CPC 664 - What now?

Started by moijk, 12:31, 19 August 11

Previous topic - Next topic

moijk

I aquired a Amstrad CPC 664. Now I have never used an amstrad before, I'm a commodore man. But I'm curious about this computer created for long desks. What fun can I do with it?

Bryce

Everything your C64 can do and more! But wear sunglasses for the first few days, your C64 eyes aren't used to such vivid colours :D

But no seriously, what do you want to do with it: Play games? Serious software? Compose Music? Write software? Develop Hardware?

Bryce.

Oh, and welcome to the Forum.

Morn

Quote from: Bryce on 12:38, 19 August 11your C64 eyes aren't used to such vivid colours :D

Yeah, tell that to me. Those vivid greens on my miniscule GT 65 totally blew away those poor C64 lusers who could only hook up their devices to their big-ass color CRT in the living room. The poor dears. Not!

Hooray for emulators and letting me actually see the CPC palette merely 20 years later.  :D

To the OP: Download http://retroactionmagazine.com/media/AAspecial/AATop100games.pdf and see for yourself what the CPC did well. Or play a little Sub Hunter if you prefer more modern gaming. Or tell us what kind of applications you are interested in.

Gryzor

@Morn: come on mate, that's sad. I had a nice SCART cable for my CPC for the price of two pirated games back in the day. AND the green monitor now looks incredibly retro :)

@moijk: welcome mate, to the world of the CPC and the CPCWiki! Well, I guess it's games you're looking after. Do play some on an emulator (you can find all the details here in the forum and the wiki, really), but transferring them to an actual 3" disk is not the simplest thing ever (though it's not that hard either). So, basically, you can start buying games on eBay or get some 3" disks and ask someone here to copy games on them. I'd be glad to do it for you...

Morn