- Top Stats

Top Posters Top Topic Starters Top Topics
Bryce 5285
TFM 2507
Gryzor 2256
arnoldemu 1273
TotO 1186
Bryce 90
arnoldemu 70
Gryzor 42
LambdaMike... 37
CraigsBar 35
Amstrad CPC WiFi - 287709 Views Duke 09:36, 07 May 16
CPC Plus cartr... - 209648 Views gerald 17:39, 01 November 14
ACID chip inside - 81925 Views MacDeath 15:52, 23 October 09
Gotek USB in a... - 70747 Views gryzor 18:01, 18 March 14
Pros & Con... - 58813 Views CPCIak 15:07, 11 May 10


Author Topic: Amstrad CPC WiFi  (Read 287710 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline nurgle

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 200
  • Country: de
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 7
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2200 on: 23:17, 11 September 18 »
Sure, inserted a blank formatted card.

Can this be a power or cabling issue? But why does it work with 2.03 then?

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.075
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1138
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2201 on: 00:16, 12 September 18 »
Can this be a power or cabling issue? But why does it work with 2.03 then?
Don't think so, if 2.0.3 works fine.
Only thing that comes to mind looking at the changelog @ http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/m4info.txt is the updated ESP libs that some had issues with.
Did you try v2.0.5beta1 (iirc. I accidently build it with the old esp libs) ?

Offline nurgle

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 200
  • Country: de
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 7
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2202 on: 00:36, 12 September 18 »
Tried both 2.0.5b1 and 2.0.5b2 now. Both fail to work. Going back to 2.0.3 makes the m4 work again.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.075
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1138
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2203 on: 00:39, 12 September 18 »
Tried both 2.0.5b1 and 2.0.5b2 now. Both fail to work. Going back to 2.0.3 makes the m4 work again.
When they fail to work, what is the symtoms ? garbage on the screen/lock ups or?
And what CPC are you using?

Offline nurgle

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 200
  • Country: de
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 7
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2204 on: 00:50, 12 September 18 »
Different symptoms. Garbage on the screen (rarely), syntax error, screen stays black, M4 not showing up.


It's a CPC6128 where overriding ROM7 works. CRTC0 if I remember correctly.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.075
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1138
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2205 on: 01:00, 12 September 18 »
Different symptoms. Garbage on the screen (rarely), syntax error, screen stays black, M4 not showing up.


It's a CPC6128 where overriding ROM7 works. CRTC0 if I remember correctly.
And you tried not overriding ROM7 ? (I guess you did with the blank microSD) - just in case. Does it startup properly when the microSD is NOT inserted? (after upgrading to v2.0.5b1/2).
And what does |version say, if you can even type anything.

Offline XeNoMoRPH

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 354
  • Country: es
  • " ... in space no one , can hear you scream ... "
  • Liked: 615
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2206 on: 19:50, 20 September 18 »
Hi Duke !!! .. where is the info of the new M4FIRM_v205b3.zip:o :o

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.075
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1138
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2207 on: 20:32, 20 September 18 »
Hi Duke !!! .. where is the info of the new M4FIRM_v205b3.zip:o :o

There isn't any.
The only change is a rom (board) issue on certain CPC's, probably introduced in v2.0.3 or v2.0.4. I wanted to do another couple of things before releasing it. But should be fine to use, @GUNHED tested it.

Since it is already in circulation, I uploaded it aswell.

M4 firmware v2.0.5 beta 3, download from here: http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/M4FIRM_v205b3.zip
Unpack to root of microSD and powercycle CPC to upgrade.

* Fix rom board issue with repeated pattern of 0x00, 0xFF .. on some CPC's, thanks to @GUNHED for finding the bug and testing the fix.
« Last Edit: 20:45, 20 September 18 by Duke »

Offline Kris

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 538
  • Country: fr
  • Team Impact
  • Liked: 199
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2208 on: 13:56, 21 September 18 »
The last firmware gave me a black screen and nothing else.........I had to "burn" the diag files to get back to 2.0 version.
Any bugs ?

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.075
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1138
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2209 on: 08:25, 22 September 18 »
The last firmware gave me a black screen and nothing else.........I had to "burn" the diag files to get back to 2.0 version.
Any bugs ?
Did you let the upgrading finish? It will give black screen while re-programming, but it should not be rebooted before the "DD" led goes off permanently.

Offline Kris

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 538
  • Country: fr
  • Team Impact
  • Liked: 199
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2210 on: 09:47, 22 September 18 »
Hi Duke,


Yes I let the upgrade running but it last a very long time and it does not reboot automatically...

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.075
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1138
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2211 on: 10:53, 22 September 18 »
Yes I let the upgrade running but it last a very long time and it does not reboot automatically...
Ok, I will add a fault report generator to it soon, to avoid too much trouble shooting, then hopefully you will test again, thanks.

Offline Kris

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 538
  • Country: fr
  • Team Impact
  • Liked: 199
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2212 on: 09:01, 23 September 18 »
Ok, I will add a fault report generator to it soon, to avoid too much trouble shooting, then hopefully you will test again, thanks.


OK, I will do the test as soon as it will be available ;)


Offline XeNoMoRPH

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 354
  • Country: es
  • " ... in space no one , can hear you scream ... "
  • Liked: 615
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2213 on: 12:19, 23 September 18 »
Did you let the upgrading finish? It will give black screen while re-programming, but it should not be rebooted before the "DD" led goes off permanently.
in my case, the screen was also black for a long time too but ... I switched off and on the M4 and CPC and if it was updated correctly  :o

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 276
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 183
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2214 on: 22:34, 24 September 18 »
Feature-Request for M4ROM:
Function "fio_jvec()"  ("fio jump vector" / #CD30):
Exit the function with "jp #be7f" (like #CD49 in CPC6128-AMSDOS). :)

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.002
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 474
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2215 on: 19:15, 17 October 18 »
Try it
It was a quick little hack, i don't remember exactly what i'd done
http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=78206317051926767285


Sorry to bother again but my SD failed and can't find Shinobi in my backups  :picard:


EDIT : I think I found it   ;D
« Last Edit: 19:50, 17 October 18 by VincentGR »
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.002
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 474
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2216 on: 12:38, 23 October 18 »
Are there any working versions of Double Dragon and Robocop?
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.075
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1138
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2217 on: 14:40, 23 October 18 »
Are there any working versions of Double Dragon and Robocop?
Yes.
For Robocop:
http://www.cpc-power.com/index.php?page=detail&onglet=dumps&num=1815#
(press the disc icon with CRACK).

As for Double Dragon, I think you need 128KB, no 64KB version I could see.


Feature-Request for M4ROM:
Function "fio_jvec()"  ("fio jump vector" / #CD30):
Exit the function with "jp #be7f" (like #CD49 in CPC6128-AMSDOS). :)

Of course... Next update.

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.002
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 474
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2218 on: 15:01, 23 October 18 »
Robocop reports "disc missing"
I have the original disk of DDragon and runs on my 6128 fine
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.075
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1138
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2219 on: 15:13, 23 October 18 »
Robocop reports "disc missing"
I have the original disk of DDragon and runs on my 6128 fine
You need to use the modified lowerrom. Then both will work fine.

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/M4_Board#Various%20files
« Last Edit: 15:16, 23 October 18 by Duke »

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.002
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 474
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2220 on: 15:20, 23 October 18 »
I have done this a while ago on my 6th slot.
Anyway no prob, I will dig more to find working versions  ;D


Thank you.
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.075
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1138
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2221 on: 15:41, 23 October 18 »
I have done this a while ago on my 6th slot.
Anyway no prob, I will dig more to find working versions  ;D

Are you sure you have enabled the "Modified lower rom" ?

Because both cracked versions from CPC power works fine when I just tested it on my CPC6128.
"Disc missing" would indicate that the modified lower rom is not active, as AMSDOS gets re-initialized not M4 rom.

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.002
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 474
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2222 on: 15:52, 23 October 18 »
Yes it is clicked enabled
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.075
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1138
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2223 on: 16:00, 23 October 18 »
Yes it is clicked enabled
Can you take a screenshot of your ROM setup?
« Last Edit: 16:02, 23 October 18 by Duke »

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.002
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 474
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2224 on: 18:19, 23 October 18 »
Here it is
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project