Author Topic: Amstrad CPC WiFi  (Read 329316 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline adolfo.pa

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 78
  • Country: es
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 55
  • Likes Given: 167
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1950 on: 21:42, 06 February 18 »
Good, atleast means there's not a short directly on the board that causes the black screen :)

You can try this firmware:
www.spinpoint.org/cpc/m4diag5.zip

Unpack it to root of the microSD, put the switch back to EXP and start the CPC.

It should generate report.txt in the microSD, paste the contents here.

Well, at least some (almost) good news :-)

Also, not sure if it is relevant, but when booting up the M4 with those files in the SD, the green led stayed on for the whole time. I waited for a while, assuming it was updating the firmware, but in the end I had to turn it off with the green led still on.

Here are the contents of the report.txt file (for some reason I cannot attach the file):
Code: [Select]
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF 
ESP Flash SR: 0xFF

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1951 on: 21:47, 06 February 18 »
@adolfo.pa

Looks like the ESP flash has gone bad, sorry.

Please ship it back to me, so I can replace it.

Offline adolfo.pa

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 78
  • Country: es
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 55
  • Likes Given: 167
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1952 on: 22:04, 06 February 18 »
Well, at least it can be repaired, so there's still hope :-)

Thanks a lot for your help Duke.

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 298
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 201
  • Likes Given: 178
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1953 on: 10:03, 12 February 18 »
Hi Duke,
please think about, if you want to reset
 #A700   "Default Drive"
 #A701   "Default User"
 #A702   "Active Drive"
When you're coming from the floppys - When you type in |SD.
E.g. |DISC, |D , |SD  => #A700 Shows "03" ->D-Drive is active   (no differences, when you type in |A after the |SD-Command)

Offline arnoldemu

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 5.332
  • Country: gb
    • Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource
  • Liked: 2247
  • Likes Given: 3477
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1954 on: 11:07, 12 February 18 »
Hi Duke,
please think about, if you want to reset
 #A700   "Default Drive"
 #A701   "Default User"
 #A702   "Active Drive"
When you're coming from the floppys - When you type in |SD.
E.g. |DISC, |D , |SD  => #A700 Shows "03" ->D-Drive is active   (no differences, when you type in |A after the |SD-Command)

@Duke:

Please look at the 16-bit value at be7d to find amsdos address.

Code: [Select]
ld hl,(&be7d)
xor
ld (hl),a ;; set default drive to 0.

:)

My games. My Games
My website with coding examples: Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1955 on: 11:41, 12 February 18 »
#A700   "Default Drive"
 #A701   "Default User"
 #A702   "Active Drive"
When you're coming from the floppys - When you type in |SD.
E.g. |DISC, |D , |SD  => #A700 Shows "03" ->D-Drive is active   (no differences, when you type in |A after the |SD-Command)
Ok,I can add that, if it's any use.
|A & |B when in "SD mode" (|SD) does nothing, it's only passed to AMSDOS when in disc mode via "|disc".

So set to:
0 when |A
1 when |B
2? when |SD
0 when |DISC, if >=2 otherwise unchange (0 or 1).
Correct ?


Code: [Select]
ld hl,(&be7d)
xor
ld (hl),a ;; set default drive to 0.


Yes, probably should check if the pointer is zero aswell, in case it's a 464 without disc rom :)



Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 298
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 201
  • Likes Given: 178
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1956 on: 13:00, 12 February 18 »
Ok,I can add that, if it's any use.

It's a unexpectedly behavior, so it may confuses Software (like YANCC :( , but i make a Workaround)

|A & |B when in "SD mode" (|SD) does nothing, it's only passed to AMSDOS when in disc mode via "|disc".

So set to:
0 when |A
1 when |B
2? when |SD
0 when |DISC, if >=2 otherwise unchange (0 or 1).
Correct ?
No  ;)

0=>Drive A active,
1=>Drive B active,
2=>Drive C active,
3=>Drive D active,
4=>Drive E active,
.....
So, after the |SD, M4 works on A-Drive... (without |A)  (so a "0" is expected)
Maybe it's easierer to clear all three variables, when you make a |SD

 
Yes, probably should check if the pointer is zero aswell, in case it's a 464 without disc rom :)
Yes, or e.g. if you use a 6128 without AMSDOS.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1957 on: 15:23, 12 February 18 »

So, after the |SD, M4 works on A-Drive... (without |A)  (so a "0" is expected)
Maybe it's easierer to clear all three variables, when you make a |SD

Ok :) no problem.

Only annoying may be this:
|disc
|b
|sd
|disc
Now it's drive A rather than B when you return to disc... Anyway maybe I will store the previous value and restore on |disc.

Offline arnoldemu

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 5.332
  • Country: gb
    • Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource
  • Liked: 2247
  • Likes Given: 3477
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1958 on: 15:51, 12 February 18 »
Yes, probably should check if the pointer is zero aswell, in case it's a 464 without disc rom :)
I would prefer you to check if |DISC existed, then look at the data.

As part of my viewer program I'll make a document for best practices to describe how to make programs work with other DOS. :)
My games. My Games
My website with coding examples: Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.391
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 791
  • Likes Given: 1666
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1959 on: 16:26, 12 February 18 »
Arnie is right, please use vectors to find the current data (drive # etc.) location. It's bad to use defined addresses. Because the existence of other ROMs will change them.  :)
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline remax

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.072
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 382
  • Likes Given: 420
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1960 on: 19:26, 12 February 18 »
Trying my M4 on my 6128 Plus.


Is it a normal behaviour that setting the M4 rom on rom 7 make it reset in a loop, like on a stock 6128 ?


If yes, is there an equivalent to the patched lower rom on the plus ?

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1961 on: 21:15, 12 February 18 »
Arnie is right, please use vectors to find the current data (drive # etc.) location. It's bad to use defined addresses. Because the existence of other ROMs will change them.  :)
I agree. Don't remember using hardcoded amsdos addresses in M4 rom, as it's independent of AMSDOS.. but I could remember wrong :)

Trying my M4 on my 6128 Plus.


Is it a normal behaviour that setting the M4 rom on rom 7 make it reset in a loop, like on a stock 6128 ?

No, it's not normal. What firmware version are you using?



Offline remax

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.072
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 382
  • Likes Given: 420
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1962 on: 22:47, 12 February 18 »


No, it's not normal. What firmware version are you using?

From memory, but i'm quite sure, i think it is 2.0.3

You think it would be better to test beta ?

Envoyé de mon SM-G930F en utilisant Tapatalk


Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1963 on: 09:33, 13 February 18 »
From memory, but i'm quite sure, i think it is 2.0.3

You think it would be better to test beta ?
I would check cable and connectors. It seems it's not seeing romdis.
The v2.0.4 beta 8 have support for cartridge emulation, so makes sense for a CPC+.

Offline remax

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.072
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 382
  • Likes Given: 420
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1964 on: 10:10, 13 February 18 »
I would check cable and connectors.

I'll do but the M4 it seems to work correctly when set on slot 6, so would be a bit strange that it's a cable problem, no ?

Quote
The v2.0.4 beta 8 have support for cartridge emulation, so makes sense for a CPC+.


Ok i'll try an upgrade

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1965 on: 10:21, 13 February 18 »
I'll do but the M4 it seems to work correctly when set on slot 6, so would be a bit strange that it's a cable problem, no ?
The difference between using rom 6 and 7 is that a ROMDIS signal is needed for rom 7 to disable the one from the cartridge.
What catridge are you using btw. ? the original with burning rubber and basic?

Offline remax

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.072
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 382
  • Likes Given: 420
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1966 on: 10:46, 13 February 18 »
The difference between using rom 6 and 7 is that a ROMDIS signal is needed for rom 7 to disable the one from the cartridge.
What catridge are you using btw. ? the original with burning rubber and basic?


I use the C4CPC, i tried with both the standard Burning Rubber/Basic and dragon's latest OS Cartridge

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1967 on: 11:04, 13 February 18 »

I use the C4CPC, i tried with both the standard Burning Rubber/Basic and dragon's latest OS Cartridge
Ok, please try with the original Burning Rubber/Basic cartridge if you have it instead of C4CPC. I remember there was some issue long ago, that should've been fixed, but maybe I brought it back.
Feedback appreciated.

Offline remax

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.072
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 382
  • Likes Given: 420
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1968 on: 18:18, 13 February 18 »
Sadly i don't have a standard cartridge.


I may look for one if needed.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1969 on: 12:24, 14 February 18 »
Sadly i don't have a standard cartridge.
Do you have any original game cartridges then?

You can use those too, just upload lowerrom and basic to M4.

Offline remax

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.072
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 382
  • Likes Given: 420
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1970 on: 17:34, 15 February 18 »
Do you have any original game cartridges then?


Yes, a Burnin' Rubber from GX4000 (without the OS)

You can use those too, just upload lowerrom and basic to M4.


Yeah seems to work, i also updated the card to latest beta, but i think that's not what fixed the problem.


So, if i understand the txt, i have to choose between a better compatibility (slot 7) and simultaneous access from SD and disc (slot 6) ?

I guess it's because none did a patched lower rom like on the 6128.

Well not a big deal as the Plus won't be my primary target for playing game except 6128+ exclusives (like Rick 128+), so i guess i'll stick on slot 6.


EDIT : Slot 7 still works badly with C4CPC.
More testing : I have lots of problem trying to use both at the same time. Even with the C4CPC configurated to automatically launch red label burnin rubber (so in theory same config that with my other cartridge), i have roling reset on slot 7, and problems like protext garbled text on slot 6.
« Last Edit: 18:01, 15 February 18 by remax »

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1971 on: 21:20, 15 February 18 »
So, if i understand the txt, i have to choose between a better compatibility (slot 7) and simultaneous access from SD and disc (slot 6) ?

I guess it's because none did a patched lower rom like on the 6128.
It would be the same with the patched lowerrom I did.
However you can upload AMSDOS to slot 8 and still have simultaneous access while M4 is rom 7 for better compatiblity.

Quote
EDIT : Slot 7 still works badly with C4CPC.
More testing : I have lots of problem trying to use both at the same time. Even with the C4CPC configurated to automatically launch red label burnin rubber (so in theory same config that with my other cartridge), i have roling reset on slot 7, and problems like protext garbled text on slot 6.
Yes, there is some unresolved issues. I haven't got a C4CPC (yet) so I don't have first hand experinces.
You can try my experimental firmware http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/M4FIRM_v204exp.zip and see if it changes anything (it has faster assertion of ROMDIS and some other timings *should* be slightly better).

Offline remax

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.072
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 382
  • Likes Given: 420
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1972 on: 17:58, 16 February 18 »
It would be the same with the patched lowerrom I did.
However you can upload AMSDOS to slot 8 and still have simultaneous access while M4 is rom 7 for better compatiblity.
Yes, there is some unresolved issues. I haven't got a C4CPC (yet) so I don't have first hand experinces.
You can try my experimental firmware http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/M4FIRM_v204exp.zip and see if it changes anything (it has faster assertion of ROMDIS and some other timings *should* be slightly better).


Sadly, it's far far worse...


When gerald will got a new batch of C4CPC, maybe we can mount a funding to get you a C4CPC ;)

Offline Vyper68

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Country: gb
  • 8-Bit Forever! - You know it makes sense
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 102
  • Likes Given: 221
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1973 on: 22:04, 17 February 18 »
Hi
Sorry I'm being thick but can you transfer a .dsk image held on the SD card to a real 3" disk?
How to guide if possible I am going round in circles my 3" and Gotek are not playing so I thought I would use the SD card.
Paul Woakes - Genius & Programmer

Thank you for Mercenary Paul

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.137
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1221
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #1974 on: 22:16, 17 February 18 »

Sadly, it's far far worse...


When gerald will got a new batch of C4CPC, maybe we can mount a funding to get you a C4CPC ;)
Too bad. If everything goes as planned I will hook up the LA tomorrow, and do some thorough checking of my timings (if only I find my second pod for the LA :) ).

I will work something out with gerald to get a C4CPC, thanks though :)

Sorry I'm being thick but can you transfer a .dsk image held on the SD card to a real 3" disk?
How to guide if possible I am going round in circles my 3" and Gotek are not playing so I thought I would use the SD card.

Yes if you use dskwriter application of Symbos (probably requires more than 128KB of RAM??).

If the DSK image is just files (not copy protected whatever dsk) you can also use M4 RSX to do the job.
Make sure you have M4 rom as 6 (or lower) and AMSDOS as 7.
Format your floppy and insert it, then:
|cd,"myimage.dsk"
|fcp,"*", "A:"

Done.