Author Topic: Amstrad CPC WiFi  (Read 222733 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 789
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2000 on: 16:29, 12 March 18 »


Thanks @Maniac and @00WReX for testing.

Firmware v2.0.4 beta 10: Download http://spinpoint.org/cpc/M4FIRM_v204b10.zip

WiFi: Fix WiFi connect issue after upgrade (clear some data and set proper RF cal data).
WiFi: Fix GD25Q32C ESP8266 spi flashchip to work in Quad IO mode.
DSK: Do not show files with system attribute set. (makes better catart too)
DSK: Show '*' after file with "Read Only" attribute set.
DSK: Do not reject strange sector numbers (like AMSOFT disk protection)

Hope it works better, than the last one.

Offline GUNHED

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 372
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 168
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2001 on: 19:36, 12 March 18 »
First impression: Runs very well! Thank you for your great support!  :) :) :)

Offline Maniac

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 45
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2002 on: 22:00, 12 March 18 »



Thanks @Maniac and @00WReX for testing.

Firmware v2.0.4 beta 10: Download http://spinpoint.org/cpc/M4FIRM_v204b10.zip

WiFi: Fix WiFi connect issue after upgrade (clear some data and set proper RF cal data).
WiFi: Fix GD25Q32C ESP8266 spi flashchip to work in Quad IO mode.
DSK: Do not show files with system attribute set. (makes better catart too)
DSK: Show '*' after file with "Read Only" attribute set.
DSK: Do not reject strange sector numbers (like AMSOFT disk protection)

Hope it works better, than the last one.
I'm afraid I still have the same issue and when I run ¦netstat it still says "No AP found". I've setup the networking again using ¦netset but still no joy I'm afraid.  :'(


Also went back to my original ROM config with M4 ROM in slot 7 and whilst CAT works better now when it gets to the end of the directory listing it then prompts with "Press PLAY then any key:"
« Last Edit: 22:04, 12 March 18 by Maniac »

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 789
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2003 on: 22:17, 12 March 18 »
Thanks @GUNHED & @Maniac  for testing.

I'm afraid I still have the same issue and when I run ¦netstat it still says "No AP found". I've setup the networking again using ¦netset but still no joy I'm afraid.  :'(

Running out of ideas. One thing, maybe try to reboot the router. Also can you pm me the ssid, channel you use and if there is any other specific settings (like MAC filtering)  and router brand. So I can try to replicate the settings as close as possible.

EDIT: one more thing, its important to put both upgrades on at the same time, or atleast upgrade with M4FIRM.BIN first. - Just in case....

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 213
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 133
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2004 on: 22:50, 12 March 18 »
Little feature-request:
m4info.txt:
     |cd,"/ takes you to the root of the sd.

Please could you add
     |cd,"\ takes you to the root of the sd.

So with "\" you get compatibility to the XMASS-OS's.

(Thanks  ;) )

Offline HAL 6128

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 413
  • Country: de
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 191
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2005 on: 23:39, 12 March 18 »
...also works with my CPC. Updates via WebGui. Very stable.
...proudly supported Pentomino and NQ-Music-Disc with GFX

Offline Maniac

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 45
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2006 on: 23:48, 12 March 18 »


Thanks @GUNHED & @Maniac  for testing.

Running out of ideas. One thing, maybe try to reboot the router. Also can you pm me the ssid, channel you use and if there is any other specific settings (like MAC filtering)  and router brand. So I can try to replicate the settings as close as possible.

EDIT: one more thing, its important to put both upgrades on at the same time, or atleast upgrade with M4FIRM.BIN first. - Just in case....
Rebooted router and although it changed the channel it was working on the M4 still doesn't connect I'm afraid.

The upgrade was performed as per the instructions by copying the flash files in the zip to the root of the SD card. This worked as expected and I only booted the Plus once the SD access LED was not lit.


Looks like I'm the only with this issue for some reason. My card is one of the originals, is that part of the issue?

Offline pelrun

  • VK4CPC
  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 483
  • Country: au
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 231
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2007 on: 06:33, 13 March 18 »
Some routers don't like talking to the esp8266 (either because they don't support one of the minor protocols, or it sends a weird/large packet that confuses the 8266) - do you have a different router you can try?

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 789
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2008 on: 08:10, 13 March 18 »
@SOS . Sure will add that, actually I thought it did already work with both / & \ .
@HAL 6128 thanks for testing and feedback!

Looks like I'm the only with this issue for some reason. My card is one of the originals, is that part of the issue?
No, but came to think of it, it may have to do with the different batches of ESP12F's used. There may be modules with a different size flashchip, than 32Mbit, which I have assumed for the latest builds.
Will make a new test for you later today :)

Some routers don't like talking to the esp8266 (either because they don't support one of the minor protocols, or it sends a weird/large packet that confuses the 8266)
Previous updates worked for him fine.
In latest beta's I finally upgraded the ESP NONOS sdk & libs to v2.2.0 from v1.5.x, this seems to be causing the problem.
One difference is that with the old one I could simply erase the entire chip and put on my firmware without initializing the init data (@0x3FC000 for 32Mbit and here I need to make the other offsets if different size flash is used).
« Last Edit: 08:17, 13 March 18 by Duke »

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 789
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2009 on: 00:08, 15 March 18 »
M4 Firmware v2.0.4 release version now available.
Via |UPGRADE for non beta users.

Download from http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/M4FIRM_v204.zip and unpack to root of microSD if you have a v2.0.4 beta version or don't wanna use |UPGRADE.

Only minor changes, since last beta. ( |cd,"\" addition and set version to non beta).

The WiFi issue of @Maniac was not resolved and is most likely a flaw in the updated ESP NONOS SDK v2.2.0, under particular circumstances. Hopefully another update later will fix it.

Complete change log can be found here:
www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/M4_Board#Firmware
« Last Edit: 00:33, 15 March 18 by Duke »

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 789
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2010 on: 22:38, 15 March 18 »
You can never test enough (*cough* atleast when I am involved).

Another beta (!), fixing issue with Eerie Forest & CRTC3 plus cartridge demos.

Download http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/M4FIRM_v205b1.zip   (unpack to root of microSD and reboot system).
  • Fix CPC+ cartridge issue with demos Eerie Forest & CRTC3 (and maybe others)
Those who reported issues with them earlier, feel free to test, I bet they work now  8)

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 622
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 319
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2011 on: 10:13, 16 March 18 »
Awesome work Duke.

I just updated and watched both Eerie Forest and CRTC3 all the way through on a 6128 Plus.

I was previously having issues with Eerie Forest.

Woohoo  :D

Cheers,
Shane

The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline Jungsi

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: de
    • Jungsis Corner
  • Liked: 8
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2012 on: 15:09, 17 March 18 »
A friend sent me his M4 because he has a problem.


Everytime he start the M4 he has to set the network with "netset".
After a restart the connection is lost - netstat only shows "Unknown status 255"
When netset ist done everything works fine until a restart.
It looks like the settings from the sd card are not read. There is the folder M4 and the config.txt with the correct settings.
Tried directly connected to the CPC with adpater and with the m4 board. Tried different SD Cards ;-)
Firmware 2.0.4b8 - Board Revision 2.4

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 789
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2013 on: 19:22, 17 March 18 »
Everytime he start the M4 he has to set the network with "netset".
After a restart the connection is lost - netstat only shows "Unknown status 255"
When netset ist done everything works fine until a restart.

Try to upgrade to v2.0.4 release or v2.0.5 beta #1. I think the problem would be fixed.

Offline roudoudou

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 477
  • Country: fr
    • urban exploration
  • Liked: 528
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2014 on: 15:48, 18 March 18 »
Hey Duke, it could be cool to add a RSX to write a (non protected) DSK from SD to real floppy?  ;D
use RASM, the best assembler ever made :p

I will survive

Offline Jungsi

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: de
    • Jungsis Corner
  • Liked: 8
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2015 on: 15:49, 18 March 18 »
Try to upgrade to v2.0.4 release or v2.0.5 beta #1. I think the problem would be fixed.
Thanks Duke - updated to v2.0.5 beta - now it's woriking. Also on my own board Chibi Akuma is now working. :-)

Offline Maniac

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 45
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2016 on: 15:50, 18 March 18 »
You can never test enough (*cough* atleast when I am involved).

Another beta (!), fixing issue with Eerie Forest & CRTC3 plus cartridge demos.

Download http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/M4FIRM_v205b1.zip   (unpack to root of microSD and reboot system).
  • Fix CPC+ cartridge issue with demos Eerie Forest & CRTC3 (and maybe others)
Those who reported issues with them earlier, feel free to test, I bet they work now  8)
Hi Duke,


You're unstoppable at the moment! Excellent work!


I've got around to testing 2.0.5 beta 1 today and despite all my issues with 2.0.4 and the networking everything now works as expected with this one! Did you change anything else between the full release of 2.0.4 and this new beta? I've not changed anything with my network setup other than restarting one of my Apple Airports but that shouldn't have caused this.


Regardless of the above I've been testing the cartridge stuff again today and I have to say things are much improved in this area. Controlling this via the web interface is so much neater than doing it via the RSX commands. I do find though that the cart image upload seems to require me to upload the image twice before it sticks for some reason. I've tried it via Edge and Chrome and both have the same impact. This is also regardless of having my C4CPC or standard Burnin' Rubber cart plugged in. However if I reset the M4 via the web interface prior to clicking 'Start Cart' it seems a bit more reliable.


Anyway great support as always and publically thank you for all your help with the v2.0.4 issues I had last week.


Kind regards
Maniac
« Last Edit: 16:40, 18 March 18 by Maniac »

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 789
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2017 on: 18:01, 18 March 18 »
Hey Duke, it could be cool to add a RSX to write a (non protected) DSK from SD to real floppy?  ;D

Yes, sometime :)

There's already a program by @HAL 6128 here http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/amstrad-cpc-hardware/amstrad-cpc-wifi/msg141353/#msg141353 which will enable you to write stardard non protected discs.

Thanks Duke - updated to v2.0.5 beta - now it's woriking. Also on my own board Chibi Akuma is now working. :-)

Good to hear !

I've got around to testing 2.0.5 beta 1 today and despite all my issues with 2.0.4 and the networking everything now works as expected with this one! Did you change anything else between the full release of 2.0.4 and this new beta? I've not changed anything with my network setup other than restarting one of my Apple Airports but that shouldn't have caused this.
Nope nothing changed in the WiFi part, between the two.
Quote
Regardless of the above I've been testing the cartridge stuff again today and I have to say things are much improved in this area. Controlling this via the web interface is so much neater than doing it via the RSX commands. I do find though that the cart image upload seems to require me to upload the image twice before it sticks for some reason. I've tried it via Edge and Chrome and both have the same impact. This is also regardless of having my C4CPC or standard Burnin' Rubber cart plugged in. However if I reset the M4 via the web interface prior to clicking 'Start Cart' it seems a bit more reliable.
Yes, when uploading via web interface, you must use "M4 Reset" before the CPR/BIN image will be put into the M4 flash. The upload only produces CARTIMG.BIN in root of SD card, the reboot will flash it into M4 flash. 
This is unlike the |CTRUP basic command, which will flash the file directly to flash (no reboot needed).

Quote
Anyway great support as always and publically thank you for all your help with the v2.0.4 issues I had last week.

Thanks, I appreciate the testing and feedback :)

Offline Maniac

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 45
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2018 on: 20:05, 18 March 18 »
Yes, when uploading via web interface, you must use "M4 Reset" before the CPR/BIN image will be put into the M4 flash. The upload only produces CARTIMG.BIN in root of SD card, the reboot will flash it into M4 flash. 
This is unlike the |CTRUP basic command, which will flash the file directly to flash (no reboot needed).

Thanks, I appreciate the testing and feedback :)
Is there any way that the upload, reboot and startup can be integrated in to one button please? Or at least the reboot and startup of a cart image? Would make things a lot more straightforward I think.

Offline KaosOverride

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 181
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2019 on: 18:47, 19 March 18 »
Hi Duke


Thinking the other day about games which used RS232 for multiplayer, like TT RACER ( if there is any other), how complex will be to "emulate" the RS232 of the Amstrad interface ? The IO ports and some setup commands like |HostRS232 for the "server" and |ConnRS232, "ip address" for the client, then one socket is used for emulating the serial link and |EndRS232 for ending the link. Then when a link is done the legacy IO ports of the serial interface are used to send/receive data...
KaosOverride · GitHub
MEGA Amstrad Public Amstrad folder

Offline GUNHED

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 372
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 168
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2020 on: 19:25, 19 March 18 »
Are there problems with the command !m4help,rom-number ? With my 2nd running board this gives me a crash (newest firmware). The power should be ok, it's at the 6128plus. If not I have to get an USB PSU.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 789
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2021 on: 20:14, 19 March 18 »
Is there any way that the upload, reboot and startup can be integrated in to one button please? Or at least the reboot and startup of a cart image? Would make things a lot more straightforward I think.
I'll see what I can do.

Thinking the other day about games which used RS232 for multiplayer, like TT RACER ( if there is any other), how complex will be to "emulate" the RS232 of the Amstrad interface ? The IO ports and some setup commands like |HostRS232 for the "server" and |ConnRS232, "ip address" for the client, then one socket is used for emulating the serial link and |EndRS232 for ending the link. Then when a link is done the legacy IO ports of the serial interface are used to send/receive data...
It'll probably not be too hard to add, will have a look at it sometime.

Are there problems with the command !m4help,rom-number ? With my 2nd running board this gives me a crash (newest firmware). The power should be ok, it's at the 6128plus. If not I have to get an USB PSU.
Which ROM did you check with |m4help ?  - I did make a couple of changes to it, maybe specific rom makes it crash....

Offline GUNHED

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 372
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 168
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2022 on: 16:01, 20 March 18 »
Oh, worded well with M4 ROM, problems with Maxam, crash with FutureOS ROM A. But it could be the PSU, first I have to buy an USB-PSU and try it with the M4. Just thought somebody saw similar behavior, but since nobody replied I guess it's the lack of an USB-PSU.  :)

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 851
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 789
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2023 on: 16:28, 20 March 18 »
Oh, worded well with M4 ROM, problems with Maxam, crash with FutureOS ROM A. But it could be the PSU, first I have to buy an USB-PSU and try it with the M4. Just thought somebody saw similar behavior, but since nobody replied I guess it's the lack of an USB-PSU.  :)
Just tested with maxam, and oups yeah it crashes bad :) - I must have messed something up... M4 and AMSDOS works fine...

Bug noted!

EDIT: Found the bug... I made a direct call to a rom function (call crlf, doh), but the m4help function is copied to ram and thus the rom address is not available unless M4 rom is enabled.
Fixed for next build.
« Last Edit: 17:09, 20 March 18 by Duke »

Offline KaosOverride

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 181
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2024 on: 13:57, 21 March 18 »
Is there any known limit for the MicroSD filesystem? I'm having some file and dir errors with my last files copied from PC...


Now I have  4418 folders and 26922 files from a big Games folder, symbos 3 and some util folders.


I had the Games at first and have problems with the new utils I copied. Then I have formated the MicroSD, copied backup of the M4 folder and then the util folder, symbos and games.


Now the last games main subfolder gives no file under cat, and some of the games in folders of the penultimate subfolder also list no files or garbage....
« Last Edit: 13:59, 21 March 18 by KaosOverride »
KaosOverride · GitHub
MEGA Amstrad Public Amstrad folder