Author Topic: Amstrad CPC WiFi  (Read 330818 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline nurgle

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 200
  • Country: de
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 7
  • Likes Given: 12
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2200 on: 23:17, 11 September 18 »
Sure, inserted a blank formatted card.

Can this be a power or cabling issue? But why does it work with 2.03 then?

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2201 on: 00:16, 12 September 18 »
Can this be a power or cabling issue? But why does it work with 2.03 then?
Don't think so, if 2.0.3 works fine.
Only thing that comes to mind looking at the changelog @ http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/m4info.txt is the updated ESP libs that some had issues with.
Did you try v2.0.5beta1 (iirc. I accidently build it with the old esp libs) ?

Offline nurgle

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 200
  • Country: de
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 7
  • Likes Given: 12
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2202 on: 00:36, 12 September 18 »
Tried both 2.0.5b1 and 2.0.5b2 now. Both fail to work. Going back to 2.0.3 makes the m4 work again.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2203 on: 00:39, 12 September 18 »
Tried both 2.0.5b1 and 2.0.5b2 now. Both fail to work. Going back to 2.0.3 makes the m4 work again.
When they fail to work, what is the symtoms ? garbage on the screen/lock ups or?
And what CPC are you using?

Offline nurgle

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 200
  • Country: de
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 7
  • Likes Given: 12
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2204 on: 00:50, 12 September 18 »
Different symptoms. Garbage on the screen (rarely), syntax error, screen stays black, M4 not showing up.


It's a CPC6128 where overriding ROM7 works. CRTC0 if I remember correctly.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2205 on: 01:00, 12 September 18 »
Different symptoms. Garbage on the screen (rarely), syntax error, screen stays black, M4 not showing up.


It's a CPC6128 where overriding ROM7 works. CRTC0 if I remember correctly.
And you tried not overriding ROM7 ? (I guess you did with the blank microSD) - just in case. Does it startup properly when the microSD is NOT inserted? (after upgrading to v2.0.5b1/2).
And what does |version say, if you can even type anything.

Offline XeNoMoRPH

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 539
  • Country: es
  • " ... in space no one , can hear you scream ... "
  • Liked: 1076
  • Likes Given: 933
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2206 on: 19:50, 20 September 18 »
Hi Duke !!! .. where is the info of the new M4FIRM_v205b3.zip:o :o

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2207 on: 20:32, 20 September 18 »
Hi Duke !!! .. where is the info of the new M4FIRM_v205b3.zip:o :o

There isn't any.
The only change is a rom (board) issue on certain CPC's, probably introduced in v2.0.3 or v2.0.4. I wanted to do another couple of things before releasing it. But should be fine to use, @GUNHED tested it.

Since it is already in circulation, I uploaded it aswell.

M4 firmware v2.0.5 beta 3, download from here: http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/M4FIRM_v205b3.zip
Unpack to root of microSD and powercycle CPC to upgrade.

* Fix rom board issue with repeated pattern of 0x00, 0xFF .. on some CPC's, thanks to @GUNHED for finding the bug and testing the fix.
« Last Edit: 20:45, 20 September 18 by Duke »

Offline Kris

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 554
  • Country: fr
  • Team Impact
  • Liked: 220
  • Likes Given: 819
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2208 on: 13:56, 21 September 18 »
The last firmware gave me a black screen and nothing else.........I had to "burn" the diag files to get back to 2.0 version.
Any bugs ?

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2209 on: 08:25, 22 September 18 »
The last firmware gave me a black screen and nothing else.........I had to "burn" the diag files to get back to 2.0 version.
Any bugs ?
Did you let the upgrading finish? It will give black screen while re-programming, but it should not be rebooted before the "DD" led goes off permanently.

Offline Kris

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 554
  • Country: fr
  • Team Impact
  • Liked: 220
  • Likes Given: 819
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2210 on: 09:47, 22 September 18 »
Hi Duke,


Yes I let the upgrade running but it last a very long time and it does not reboot automatically...

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2211 on: 10:53, 22 September 18 »
Yes I let the upgrade running but it last a very long time and it does not reboot automatically...
Ok, I will add a fault report generator to it soon, to avoid too much trouble shooting, then hopefully you will test again, thanks.

Offline Kris

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 554
  • Country: fr
  • Team Impact
  • Liked: 220
  • Likes Given: 819
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2212 on: 09:01, 23 September 18 »
Ok, I will add a fault report generator to it soon, to avoid too much trouble shooting, then hopefully you will test again, thanks.


OK, I will do the test as soon as it will be available ;)


Offline XeNoMoRPH

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 539
  • Country: es
  • " ... in space no one , can hear you scream ... "
  • Liked: 1076
  • Likes Given: 933
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2213 on: 12:19, 23 September 18 »
Did you let the upgrading finish? It will give black screen while re-programming, but it should not be rebooted before the "DD" led goes off permanently.
in my case, the screen was also black for a long time too but ... I switched off and on the M4 and CPC and if it was updated correctly  :o

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 299
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 201
  • Likes Given: 178
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2214 on: 22:34, 24 September 18 »
Feature-Request for M4ROM:
Function "fio_jvec()"  ("fio jump vector" / #CD30):
Exit the function with "jp #be7f" (like #CD49 in CPC6128-AMSDOS). :)

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.130
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 621
  • Likes Given: 1587
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2215 on: 19:15, 17 October 18 »
Try it
It was a quick little hack, i don't remember exactly what i'd done
http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=78206317051926767285


Sorry to bother again but my SD failed and can't find Shinobi in my backups  :picard:


EDIT : I think I found it   ;D
« Last Edit: 19:50, 17 October 18 by VincentGR »

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.130
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 621
  • Likes Given: 1587
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2216 on: 12:38, 23 October 18 »
Are there any working versions of Double Dragon and Robocop?

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2217 on: 14:40, 23 October 18 »
Are there any working versions of Double Dragon and Robocop?
Yes.
For Robocop:
http://www.cpc-power.com/index.php?page=detail&onglet=dumps&num=1815#
(press the disc icon with CRACK).

As for Double Dragon, I think you need 128KB, no 64KB version I could see.


Feature-Request for M4ROM:
Function "fio_jvec()"  ("fio jump vector" / #CD30):
Exit the function with "jp #be7f" (like #CD49 in CPC6128-AMSDOS). :)

Of course... Next update.

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.130
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 621
  • Likes Given: 1587
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2218 on: 15:01, 23 October 18 »
Robocop reports "disc missing"
I have the original disk of DDragon and runs on my 6128 fine

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2219 on: 15:13, 23 October 18 »
Robocop reports "disc missing"
I have the original disk of DDragon and runs on my 6128 fine
You need to use the modified lowerrom. Then both will work fine.

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/M4_Board#Various%20files
« Last Edit: 15:16, 23 October 18 by Duke »

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.130
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 621
  • Likes Given: 1587
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2220 on: 15:20, 23 October 18 »
I have done this a while ago on my 6th slot.
Anyway no prob, I will dig more to find working versions  ;D


Thank you.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2221 on: 15:41, 23 October 18 »
I have done this a while ago on my 6th slot.
Anyway no prob, I will dig more to find working versions  ;D

Are you sure you have enabled the "Modified lower rom" ?

Because both cracked versions from CPC power works fine when I just tested it on my CPC6128.
"Disc missing" would indicate that the modified lower rom is not active, as AMSDOS gets re-initialized not M4 rom.

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.130
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 621
  • Likes Given: 1587
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2222 on: 15:52, 23 October 18 »
Yes it is clicked enabled

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2223 on: 16:00, 23 October 18 »
Yes it is clicked enabled
Can you take a screenshot of your ROM setup?
« Last Edit: 16:02, 23 October 18 by Duke »

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.130
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 621
  • Likes Given: 1587
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2224 on: 18:19, 23 October 18 »
Here it is