Author Topic: Amstrad CPC WiFi  (Read 329807 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Joseman

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 780
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 628
  • Likes Given: 429
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2475 on: 20:54, 21 July 19 »
You must forward port 80 (http) to the M4.
Thankyou!!

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.171
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3007
  • Likes Given: 5336
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2476 on: 13:22, 23 July 19 »
Wait, the M4 has sold 700pcs???

Offline zhulien

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
  • Country: au
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 195
  • Likes Given: 121
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2477 on: 10:19, 30 July 19 »


Changes since v2.0.5 beta 12:
  • Fix |HTTPGET freeze when URL does not resolve (2 sec DNS lookup timeout)
  • ADDED |HTTPGET use @ symbol at start of request to silent output text of console, ie. |httpget,"@spinpoint.org/cpc/m4info.txt"  (@zhulien)
  • ADDED |HTTPGET use > symbol followed by filename at end of request string to output into desired file, ie. |httpget,"spinpoint.org/cpc/m4info.txt>info.txt" (@zhulien)


Hi Duke, the timeout appears to be working well.  The > however seems to pass the >info.txt up to the server which confuses the server - I can make my server aware of it, however other servers won't know what to do.  Any chance instead of >info.txt to have an optional 2nd parameter?


Thanks

Offline zhulien

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
  • Country: au
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 195
  • Likes Given: 121
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2478 on: 10:20, 30 July 19 »

Hi Duke, the timeout appears to be working well.  The > however seems to pass the >info.txt up to the server which confuses the server - I can make my server aware of it, however other servers won't know what to do.  Any chance instead of >info.txt to have an optional 2nd parameter?


An example is:


http://8bitology.net/ws.php?function=system_getapiversion  which from BASIC's perspective needs the response to go to a nominated file.

Thanks

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2479 on: 21:21, 30 July 19 »
Wait, the M4 has sold 700pcs???
Well not yet, current count is 690 :)


The > however seems to pass the >info.txt up to the server which confuses the server
Will fix soon. No need to send that to the server, somehow I must be stripping it afterwards (doh!).

Offline Monsieurmarc

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 4
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2480 on: 11:12, 01 August 19 »
Pleased to say my M4 arrived yesterday.  It’s up and running with games, ROMs and telnet
I am really really pleased.
Many thanks Duke

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.391
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 791
  • Likes Given: 1666
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2481 on: 23:53, 13 August 19 »
My M4 has the newest firmware 2.0.5 (b12 IIRC). However it connects very poor to the internet. Takes an hour to state "connected", but doesn't even set the time/date.

Signal is about &A4 or &A5. Is this too weak. Any ideas? Did you encounter similar effects?

http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.120
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 611
  • Likes Given: 1582
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2482 on: 00:21, 14 August 19 »
Mine is super fast, maybe dns settings?

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2483 on: 11:23, 14 August 19 »
My M4 has the newest firmware 2.0.5 (b12 IIRC). However it connects very poor to the internet. Takes an hour to state "connected", but doesn't even set the time/date.

Signal is about &A4 or &A5. Is this too weak. Any ideas? Did you encounter similar effects?
Newest firmware is v2.0.5 (non beta).
Yes seems your WiFi signal is very weak, the range goes from &A0 to &FF  (&A0 being the weakest).
It should connect almost instantly, I have not tried working with such a weak signal.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.391
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 791
  • Likes Given: 1666
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2484 on: 19:44, 14 August 19 »
Haha, ok, I can (must sometimes) check with weak signals. Always here for testing.  :)
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline krusty_benediction

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 102
  • Likes Given: 36
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2485 on: 11:22, 15 August 19 »
No idea if it is the best place to post that.
If someone is interested to code a bit of `rust` language, I have partly reimplemented `xfer` (because I need such library with my other tools such as image conversion one) in the toolbox I'm creating for my next demo: https://github.com/cpcsdk/rust.cpclib. It only contains the options I need (dowload/dowload and run/restart CPC/restart M4) and lacks of everything else needed by everyone else.
The only advantages over the original xfer tool are:
  • very minor: the ip value must be provided before the command (and later I will easily remove it in order to read an environment variable or something else)
  • most importantly: it works with snapshots V3 by downgrading them in snapshot V2 before sending them to the CPC. I have validated that with snapshots generated by rasm, there are probably bug to fixes with exotic chuncs.
Note that I am unable to cross-compile it from Linux for Windows, but it should be compilable under windows.
« Last Edit: 20:08, 15 August 19 by krusty_benediction »

Offline Targhan

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 960
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 920
  • Likes Given: 141
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2486 on: 13:09, 15 August 19 »
Quote
most importantly: it works with snapshots V3 by downgrading them in snapshot V2 before sending them to the CPC. I have validated that with snapshots generated by rasm, there are probably bug to fixes with exotic chucks.

I don't remember having problems with transferring snapshots made with Rasm using the CPC wifi...
Targhan/Arkos

Arkos Tracker 2 - alpha 7 now released! - Follow the news on Twitter!
Disark A cross-platform Z80 disassembler/source converter

Imperial Mahjong
Orion Prime

Offline krusty_benediction

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 102
  • Likes Given: 36
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2487 on: 20:07, 15 August 19 »
I don't remember having problems with transferring snapshots made with Rasm using the CPC wifi...
I have recently moved and will have no access to a real CPC before weeks (or months...) in order to check.
If I remember well, the snapshot loader of the M4 crashes when using a V3 snapshot. I guess the problem does not come from the chunks, but the fact that the memory is compressed.
Are you sure you do not generate V2 snapshots ?

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2488 on: 00:10, 16 August 19 »
I have recently moved and will have no access to a real CPC before weeks (or months...) in order to check.
If I remember well, the snapshot loader of the M4 crashes when using a V3 snapshot. I guess the problem does not come from the chunks, but the fact that the memory is compressed.
Are you sure you do not generate V2 snapshots ?
Compressed V3 snapshot format was added some time ago and is included in v2.0.5 release version:

Added SNA v3 (compressed sna's) support.
Added SNA v3 (compressed sna's) support.

Offline Dominoid

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: gb
  • Better a day as a lion than a lifetime as a lamb.
    • Dominoid's Youtube Channel
  • Liked: 11
  • Likes Given: 12
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2489 on: 22:36, 14 September 19 »
I'm very late to the party here, but I just got my M4 board and set it up. I am far too excited about having my CPC connected to the internet!

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.280
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1171
  • Likes Given: 79
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2490 on: 23:28, 14 September 19 »
I'm very late to the party here, but I just got my M4 board and set it up. I am far too excited about having my CPC connected to the internet!
Yes, it's good isn't it!

IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline Dominoid

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: gb
  • Better a day as a lion than a lifetime as a lamb.
    • Dominoid's Youtube Channel
  • Liked: 11
  • Likes Given: 12
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2491 on: 23:58, 14 September 19 »
Yes, it's good isn't it!
It's amazing! Loving it  :D

Offline IngoQ

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: de
  • Liked: 4
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2492 on: 16:03, 22 September 19 »
M4 Board firmware v2.0.5 released.
Download here: http://www.spinpoint.org/cpc/M4FIRM_v205.zip and unpack to root of microSD, then power cycle the CPC with microSD inserted.
If you have not used any v2.0.5 beta, you can use |update instead.

Hiya,

I have some trouble updating... I currently run 2.0.5b12. I downloaded the file above, extracted the two ROM files in the root of the SD card, powercycled and at boot it still says 2.0.5b12. The ROM files are erased and a report.txt is created:

Code: [Select]
M4 Firmware version 2.0.5B12


ESP firmware v2.0.5B12 found.


ESP flash: 0x00204016


ESP CRC match: 0x949FCC8E


Programming...


ESP programming success

What am I doing wrong?
--
IngoQ

Retro Collector: Schneider CPC 664, TI 99/4A, C64, Atari 800XL, Atari 130XE, Sinclair ZX Spectrum 128k, Amiga 1200, Atari 1040STE

Offline zhulien

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
  • Country: au
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 195
  • Likes Given: 121
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2493 on: 17:54, 22 September 19 »
Hi Duke, how is 2.0.6 coming along with the optional second parameter for the filename instead of a >filename.ext?


thanks, Julian

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.391
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 791
  • Likes Given: 1666
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2494 on: 20:20, 25 September 19 »
What am I doing wrong?


Gar nichts, alles bestens.  :)
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2495 on: 20:35, 25 September 19 »
Hiya,

I have some trouble updating... I currently run 2.0.5b12. I downloaded the file above, extracted the two ROM files in the root of the SD card, powercycled and at boot it still says 2.0.5b12. The ROM files are erased and a report.txt is created:

Code: [Select]
M4 Firmware version 2.0.5B12


ESP firmware v2.0.5B12 found.


ESP flash: 0x00204016


ESP CRC match: 0x949FCC8E


Programming...


ESP programming success

What am I doing wrong?
Does it display v2.0.5 on the basic startup screen or v2.0.5 beta 12?
 I probably forgot to update the log texts....

EDIT:
Just downloaded the zip unpacked to my microSD card and I get
v2.0.5 on Basic screen

log ->
C:\>cat j:\report.txt
M4 Firmware version 2.0.5B12
ESP firmware v2.0.5 found.
ESP flash: 0x00C84016
ESP CRC match: 0x949FCC8E
Programming...
ESP programming success

So yes, log entry is wrong.
What does your screen display if you boot up without the microSD card inserted.

Hi Duke, how is 2.0.6 coming along with the optional second parameter for the filename instead of a >filename.ext?
Will try to do an update maybe this weekend, now I have almost caught up with the backlog of orders for once (not 8 weeks behind anymore - only 4 8) ).
« Last Edit: 20:43, 25 September 19 by Duke »

Offline slugman

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 7
  • Likes Given: 14
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2496 on: 22:16, 28 September 19 »
Hi,

I'm looking for stl files for 3D printing case for the M4 board rev 2.5c  (last version with hack button). I only found files for old versions. Thanks!

Offline robcfg

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 2.235
  • Country: se
  • 8-Bit Technomancer
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 992
  • Likes Given: 2277
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2497 on: 11:18, 03 October 19 »
Hi @Duke , I just upgraded my M4 to 2.0.5 and when it boots, it goes to the hack menu, hangs and resets continuously.


What can I do to bring it back in working order?

So, I downloaded 2.0.4 and it´s working again, but installing 2.0.5 leaves it in the unusable state mentioned above.
« Last Edit: 11:37, 03 October 19 by robcfg »

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.138
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1226
  • Likes Given: 918
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2498 on: 18:08, 03 October 19 »
Hi @Duke , I just upgraded my M4 to 2.0.5 and when it boots, it goes to the hack menu, hangs and resets continuously.


What can I do to bring it back in working order?

So, I downloaded 2.0.4 and it´s working again, but installing 2.0.5 leaves it in the unusable state mentioned above.
Hmmm. Was the ESP firmware updated too?

Offline robcfg

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 2.235
  • Country: se
  • 8-Bit Technomancer
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 992
  • Likes Given: 2277
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2499 on: 18:27, 03 October 19 »
I don't know.


I´ll try to update again and check the SD card. The file should be in the root of the SD card and deleted after updating, right?


Can I upload the ESP firmware first to check that it works and then the M4 firmware, or is it mandatory to update them at the same time?


Edit: I tried updating only the ESP firmware. It did restart the machine, but hangs at start, no M4 prompt. Then I updated the M4 firmware and had the same error as before.


See video here: https://mega.nz/#!9h1jHC4A!oyCq27-bc4VH46_G-anoAly0cQhC6DN1DzzjiRXXEO8
« Last Edit: 18:40, 03 October 19 by robcfg »