Author Topic: Amstrad CPC WiFi  (Read 407480 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline breiztiger

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Liked: 28
  • Likes Given: 4
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2525 on: 14:25, 25 October 19 »
hi


is it possible to add a key at boot time to cancel autoexec.bas to run ?


because i have make a autoexec to launch rpm for exemple that i can't quit with the esc key (like in stock cpc, i think the m4 catch the esc ...)


i must  erase autoexec on a pc


thanks in adavance

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.175
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1300
  • Likes Given: 1007
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2526 on: 10:24, 26 October 19 »
is it possible to add a key at boot time to cancel autoexec.bas to run ?


because i have make a autoexec to launch rpm for exemple that i can't quit with the esc key (like in stock cpc, i think the m4 catch the esc ...)

It's possible, but it was a lot of hacking about (and a long time ago) to get the autorun feature to work, one of the side effects was ESC to break not working. Maybe I will re-visit it some day.
However I guess you could do some Basic key checking in your autoexec.bas to skip ie. launching rpm. Say hold space to exit to basic.

Quote
i must  erase autoexec on a pc
You can also eject the microSD, turn on the CPC and insert the microSD, then erase (or rename) it from the CPC.

Offline breiztiger

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Liked: 28
  • Likes Given: 4
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2527 on: 10:27, 26 October 19 »
thanks for the tip

Offline shifters74

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 37
  • Likes Given: 21
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2528 on: 12:23, 17 November 19 »
Hi all,
i am trying to build xfer on a ubuntu 18.04 machine (GCC 5.5.0_4) so i can transfer files to the M4 but it does not compile from source and i get the following error: 

gcc -O2  -W -I. -c parse.c -o parse.o
parse.c:10:25: error: conflicting types for 'strncasecmp'
        #define strnicmp strncasecmp
                         ^
parse.c:15:5: note: in expansion of macro 'strnicmp'
 int strnicmp(char const *a, char const *b, unsigned int lenght)
     ^
In file included from /usr/include/string.h:431:0,
                 from parse.c:6:
/usr/include/strings.h:120:12: note: previous declaration of 'strncasecmp' was here
 extern int strncasecmp (const char *__s1, const char *__s2, size_t __n)
            ^
parse.c: In function 'strncasecmp':
parse.c:19:17: warning: implicit declaration of function 'tolower' [-Wimplicit-function-declaration]
         int d = tolower(*a) - tolower(*b);
                 ^
Makefile:26: recipe for target 'parse.o' failed
make: *** [parse.o] Error 1

Any help appreciated!
shifters

Offline pelrun

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 618
  • Country: au
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 312
  • Likes Given: 195
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2529 on: 13:01, 17 November 19 »
Simple fix: in parse.c change
Code: [Select]
#ifdef __unix__ to
Code: [Select]
#ifndef __unix__ or just delete that entire block.

Offline shifters74

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 37
  • Likes Given: 21
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2530 on: 13:05, 17 November 19 »
Great!!
Worked like a charm!!
Many thanks
Shifters

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 365
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 236
  • Likes Given: 258
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2531 on: 12:10, 13 December 19 »
I am using an M4 with 2.05B12 and trying to load YANCC with |romup and it seems to result in corrupt text in the rom slot with |m4help and a non-functioning rom.
I ran the config.bas to create the configured rom (basically all N options) and then |fcp those over to the m4 so i can |romup them which seem to succeed but an M4 reset shows the corrupt text in the rom slot with |m4help and neither commands works.

I tried slots 1, 2, 11 and 12 out of interest but YANCC-CO.rom and Launch.rom both do not seem to install correctly.
Any one else tried to install YANCC140418b with 2.05B12???
Sorry, today seen your mail, do you have still problems? (yes: write me a PM)

Offline shifters74

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 37
  • Likes Given: 21
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2532 on: 20:57, 13 December 19 »
Sorry, today seen your mail, do you have still problems? (yes: write me a PM)
Hi SOS,
i tried again today with the same versions and all worked fine!!
Sorry must have been user error i.e. me!!!  :doh:

cheers
shifters

Offline zhulien

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 528
  • Country: au
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 222
  • Likes Given: 159
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2533 on: 07:45, 30 January 20 »
Hi Duke (or anyone else programming the M4).  What is the fastest you can make the CPC hit a URL (HTTP GET)?  Firstly where we care about a response (such as a payload of 128 characters), and secondly when we don't care about a payload response back to the CPC beyond 200.  How many times a second?

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.909
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 859
  • Likes Given: 2129
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2534 on: 16:28, 18 June 20 »
Hi @Duke : Recently WiFi becomes more and more a pain, too much routers are everywhere and sometimes I need to reset my router a couple of times per hour(!) to have a signal again. Now this for PC world.

Also for CPC world, the overwhelming number of waves in the air don't make it more easy.

So here my question: Would it be possible to make a M4 board with cable-plug? Because a cable would be much more stable.

Can you do that?

What do all others thing about that idea?
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.240
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 716
  • Likes Given: 1809
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2535 on: 16:58, 18 June 20 »
That and add at least 512KB  ;D

Offline asertus

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 79
  • Likes Given: 272
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2536 on: 17:23, 18 June 20 »
That and add at least 512KB  ;D


We will end up with a new Symbiface with RJ45  :D

Offline KaosOverride

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 312
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 195
  • Likes Given: 44
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2537 on: 18:20, 18 June 20 »
Some years ago I tried interfacing some Wiznet modules with the CPC. I/O mode was a pain and fail with the address autoincrease mode, the counter some times increased two in a read, but writing was good... "Ram" mode was not an option because you have to page 32kb, but now with the 4mb ram expansion which is some kind of "expansion of expansions"with the first 512kb compatible with legacy expansions, then a 8mb could be done with 4mb and a second 4mb reserved for "memory mapped I/O" for this kind of devices... Other way is using a microcontroller and SPI mode...

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.175
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1300
  • Likes Given: 1007
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2538 on: 18:42, 18 June 20 »
Hi @Duke : Recently WiFi becomes more and more a pain, too much routers are everywhere and sometimes I need to reset my router a couple of times per hour(!) to have a signal again. Now this for PC world.

Also for CPC world, the overwhelming number of waves in the air don't make it more easy.

So here my question: Would it be possible to make a M4 board with cable-plug? Because a cable would be much more stable.

Can you do that?
I guess you could try to change the channel you use for WiFi, I think there is some smart scanners for android/windows that can detect which is best (least used in your area).

I could add RJ45 if I wanted (I already made a board with that, not for the CPC -> http://www.spinpoint.org/2016/01/14/plc-datalogger/ ), but it takes time and effort and I really don't have much time/energy for these things at the moment (maybe when the winter comes!).

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.909
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 859
  • Likes Given: 2129
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2539 on: 18:57, 18 June 20 »
Thanks for the answer Duke!  :)  Well, me personal I can't change the channel. But if you could exchange the Wifi by a RJ45 (guess that's ethernet?) then it would be awesome. I would take at least two of them and I guess others too (see responses). I know you're busy, but maybe one day you can do such a board.  :) :) :)
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline RetroCPC

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: hk
  • Liked: 13
  • Likes Given: 13
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2540 on: 22:55, 18 June 20 »
Duke,

Can I still purchase an M4 from you - or its it a DiYkit? either option is good for me. I can assemble a PCB from a partial kit of parts (SMD no problem) if your short on time to build the board (I'll have all "common" components it stock)...

I'd be interested in one for my Amstrad CPC6128...

Thanks :)

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.175
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1300
  • Likes Given: 1007
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2541 on: 23:40, 18 June 20 »
Duke,

Can I still purchase an M4 from you - or its it a DiYkit? either option is good for me. I can assemble a PCB from a partial kit of parts (SMD no problem) if your short on time to build the board (I'll have all "common" components it stock)...

I'd be interested in one for my Amstrad CPC6128...

Yes I still make them. Current lead time is about 6 weeks (after I receive order confirmation), due to an overwhelming amount of orders and slow supplies on certain parts.  I don't sell any DIY kit.
See first post in this thread for pricing and options. Then PM what you need along with your email address.

Offline zhulien

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 528
  • Country: au
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 222
  • Likes Given: 159
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2542 on: 19:39, 19 June 20 »
this must be the longest running thread for hardware on this forum, congrats for surpassing 100 pages!

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.909
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 859
  • Likes Given: 2129
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2543 on: 17:05, 21 June 20 »
this must be the longest running thread for hardware on this forum, congrats for surpassing 100 pages!
And its by far the best selling expansion for CPCs / Plus computers. I'm curious how much devices (f.e. ROM boxes etc.) they did sell in the 80ies and 90ies?
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline genesis8

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 200
  • Country: fr
    • Genesis8 Amstrad Page
  • Liked: 62
  • Likes Given: 24
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2544 on: 21:36, 21 June 20 »
Hi @Duke : Recently WiFi becomes more and more a pain, too much routers are everywhere and sometimes I need to reset my router a couple of times per hour(!) to have a signal again. Now this for PC world.

Also for CPC world, the overwhelming number of waves in the air don't make it more easy.

So here my question: Would it be possible to make a M4 board with cable-plug? Because a cable would be much more stable.

Can you do that?

What do all others thing about that idea?
Use only channels 1, 6, 11 which have less nuisances from nearest channels (see in french : https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwjY3rvaxZPqAhVHXhoKHUAjCAgQFjALegQIBhAB&url=https%3A%2F%2Flafibre.info%2Fwifi%2Fquel-canal-wi-fi-choisir-pour-optimiser-son-debit%2F&usg=AOvVaw2NKCkw5h7Shc6C9RY9jKVD
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwjY3rvaxZPqAhVHXhoKHUAjCAgQFjALegQIBhAB&url=https%3A%2F%2Flafibre.info%2Fwifi%2Fquel-canal-wi-fi-choisir-pour-optimiser-son-debit%2F&usg=AOvVaw2NKCkw5h7Shc6C9RY9jKVD)
It's still better to use a channel that other people are using because inside one channel, all wifi devices are able to live as good neighbours. Whereas wifi devices of other channels are bad neighbours (noisy).


____________
Amstrad news site at Genesis8 Amstrad Page

Offline RetroCPC

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: hk
  • Liked: 13
  • Likes Given: 13
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2545 on: 06:39, 23 June 20 »
Yes I still make them. Current lead time is about 6 weeks (after I receive order confirmation), due to an overwhelming amount of orders and slow supplies on certain parts.  I don't sell any DIY kit.
See first post in this thread for pricing and options. Then PM what you need along with your email address.

Duke,

Sorry for the delay in responding - PM sent,

Thank you.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.909
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 859
  • Likes Given: 2129
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2546 on: 18:04, 23 June 20 »
Use only channels 1, 6, 11 which have less nuisances from nearest channels ....

Well, how to do that? The Wifi-Box is just a box. No DIP switches. Can I select that with software? Which one?

How to do that with the M4?
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline asertus

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 79
  • Likes Given: 272
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2547 on: 18:25, 23 June 20 »
Well, how to do that? The Wifi-Box is just a box. No DIP switches. Can I select that with software? Which one?

How to do that with the M4?


Normally channels are set in the wifi router. you create the wifi network with a name, SSID, and choose what channel, even frequency, 2.4 or 5.0 ghz. When wifi clients like M4 connect to that network.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.909
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
    • FutureOS - The quickest OS for the CPC and Plus
  • Liked: 859
  • Likes Given: 2129
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2548 on: 15:16, 24 June 20 »

Normally channels are set in the wifi router. you create the wifi network with a name, SSID, and choose what channel, even frequency, 2.4 or 5.0 ghz. When wifi clients like M4 connect to that network.


Thanks for the advice, but it can be done nowhere. So it would be great to have a M4 with internet-cable-socket.  :) :) :)
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.08.07)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Updated: 2019.08.14)

Offline robcfg

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 2.315
  • Country: se
  • 8-Bit Technomancer
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1031
  • Likes Given: 2470
Re: Amstrad CPC WiFi
« Reply #2549 on: 19:11, 25 June 20 »
That is quite unusual, what model of router do you have?