Author Topic: Cable for a DMP 3160 printer?  (Read 195 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JD

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 1
Cable for a DMP 3160 printer?
« on: 03:06, 14 November 17 »
Hello!


I've had a DMP 3160 sitting in my hall for... about a year, and I've just finally been able to test that it works mechanically by plugging it into my Amiga 600 and attempting to print a short document. The ribbon is as dry as a bone as you might expect, but I think I know where I can get a replacement. What I'm really interested in is getting it working with Mini Office II on my Amstrad CPC 6128, but unfortunately I don't have an edge-connector to centronics cable to hook it up. I was wondering, is it a fairly standard/common cable I need, and if so, what should I search for? Haven't been able to find much info on one. Any help would be appreciated.


Thanks  :D

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.880
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3059
Re: Cable for a DMP 3160 printer?
« Reply #1 on: 12:11, 14 November 17 »
It's not very standard as it was only used on the CPC. However, I might have one somewhere. I can take a look at the weekend.

Bryce.

Offline JD

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 1
Re: Cable for a DMP 3160 printer?
« Reply #2 on: 22:29, 14 November 17 »
It's not very standard as it was only used on the CPC. However, I might have one somewhere. I can take a look at the weekend.

Bryce.
 


Thanks Bryce, that would be great!

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.880
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3059
Re: Cable for a DMP 3160 printer?
« Reply #3 on: 10:05, 15 November 17 »
Hi JD,
    I took a quick look last night but I didn't find the cable. However, I probably have all the bits to make one, I'll take a better look at the weekend.

Bryce.

Offline JD

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 1
Re: Cable for a DMP 3160 printer?
« Reply #4 on: 14:02, 19 November 17 »
Hi JD,
    I took a quick look last night but I didn't find the cable. However, I probably have all the bits to make one, I'll take a better look at the weekend.

Bryce.


Hey, thanks for this, hope its not too much trouble. Were you proposing to make a cable, or to sell me the parts for one? I've never made a cable but I do have a soldering iron which I've used for repairs.

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.880
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3059
Re: Cable for a DMP 3160 printer?
« Reply #5 on: 09:27, 20 November 17 »
I can make one for you, but unfortunately my weekend was seriously distracted, so I never got to check whether I had the parts. No soldering is required as it uses a flat cable with IDC connectors at both ends.

Bryce.

Offline JD

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Liked: 1
Re: Cable for a DMP 3160 printer?
« Reply #6 on: Yesterday at 16:26 »
No worries, my weekends are often the same. Just let me know if you find time/parts for it.