News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

CPC 6128: Best way to get ParaDOS ROM?

Started by woody.cool, 19:43, 23 July 12

Previous topic - Next topic

woody.cool

Hi all,

I've got a CPC 6128 and recently modded an old busted Cumana Amiga 3.5" external floppy drive to work on it.
Anyway, I'm interested in getting ParaDOS as I'd love to use 720kb rather than 2x 180kb.

I have a few questions:

• is it easy (ish) to replace the AMSDOS ROM with ParaDOS?
  • is there any compatibility problems caused by replacing AMSDOS with ParaDOS?
  • to retain compatibility, would it be better to keep AMSDOS and get a ROM board & stick ParaDOS in that?
  • if it's better to get a ROM board, which is the best one to get & where can I get one?
  • is ParaDOS the best way to go or should I consider an alternative?
Sorry if some of these sound like noob questions, but although I'm a CPC veteran, I've been using 3" discs and cassette tapes on my CPCs since 1986 LOL ;D

Thanks all
woody.cool

TotO

Parados need to be used as ROM7 for the best compatibility.
So, you have to replace the AMSDOS ROM by it, inside the CPC because it can't be disabled by an external ROM. (w/o inside hack)
Finally, it's more clean and don't need external board by doing like that.

If I understand well, Parados take the Logo3 space on the AMSOFT ROM... So you can't use this program with CP/M.
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

woody.cool

Is Logo the only program that doesn't work with ParaDOS?

TFM

Some games have problems with parados too.

You could think about getting a MegaFlash (from Bryce), it provides space for 32 ROMs of 16 KB each on a Flash Chip. With that you can install different DOS like Parados or X-DDOS, or others.
Look in the wiki for MegaFlash

Then you also have space for a lot of different other ROM software.
TFM of FutureSoft