News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

CPC Laptop.

Started by Bryce, 12:20, 25 October 14

Previous topic - Next topic

Bryce

Unfortunately (mainly due to work). I won't be going to Revision 2015 :( Nor will I have the laptop finished by then.

Bryce.

HAL6128

...inspired by Bryces "CPC Laptop" approach, I was working on mine. Ok, ok, this statement is such thing exorbitant!! :P

It's only a LCD panel attached to the CPC.

I'm not an electrical engineer, so I have to work with available stuff: A LCD Panel with driver board and 1360x768 Resolution, a GBS 8200 CGA to VGA converter and a new PSU with 5V/12V in one unit.
Here are some negative aspects of the project: It's a very, very simple assembly, its ugly painted. The attachment to the CPC is a big failure: I can rotate the LCD but it's vibrating, because the whole Panel with boards inside and frame are very heavy. The next disadvantage is, that the GBS converter produces a lot of heat. Therefore the topside of the PCB with the heat sink looks out of the back (and that's really ugly, and I didn't want to show), otherwise it produces signal failures after a certain time (maybe active cooling could help). And, of course... the GBS is not able to convert the right signal of every game, especially those which works with "hard effects" (e.g. scrolling of Edger Grinder, Ghost'n Goblins etc.)

...But it works! I'm satisfied. The GBS converter can do the 1360x768 Resolution of the LCD. The Picture is pretty clear, even in Mode 2, almost like the CTM Monitor. It's a neat laptop for programing and working in a quick way, and with the MiniBooster attached I can transfer quick data from PC to CPC. :D
...proudly supported Schnapps Demo, Pentomino and NQ-Music-Disc with GFX

TFM

Nice work! I would love to do the same one day, but with a bigger monitor.  :)
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Bryce