- Top Stats

Top Posters Top Topic Starters Top Topics
Bryce 5272
TFM 2507
Gryzor 2255
arnoldemu 1273
TotO 1166
Bryce 90
arnoldemu 70
Gryzor 42
LambdaMike... 37
CraigsBar 35
Amstrad CPC WiFi - 280788 Views Duke 09:36, 07 May 16
CPC Plus cartr... - 207382 Views gerald 17:39, 01 November 14
ACID chip inside - 81207 Views MacDeath 15:52, 23 October 09
Gotek USB in a... - 69604 Views gryzor 18:01, 18 March 14
Pros & Con... - 58155 Views CPCIak 15:07, 11 May 10


Author Topic: Front-end for M4 board in ROM  (Read 4547 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline francouai

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: fr
  • CPC6128+
  • Liked: 23
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #50 on: 21:26, 11 January 19 »
abalore, got some bug with the last version.looks like since I have upgraded my M4 with the last BETA FWx.10.
I'm not able to enter into folder where .DSK files are; once selected, it going back to the root.I don't know why, but it happen very often with different folder's name.
--
francois

Offline abalore

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 102
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #51 on: 01:50, 12 January 19 »
abalore, got some bug with the last version.looks like since I have upgraded my M4 with the last BETA FWx.10.
I'm not able to enter into folder where .DSK files are; once selected, it going back to the root.I don't know why, but it happen very often with different folder's name.


Hi @francouai ,


I made several tests and everything seems fine here, could you please post a snapshot of your M4 Rom Config page and/or a zip with an example of a directory tree that produces the failure.


Thank you!
Abalore

Offline francouai

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: fr
  • CPC6128+
  • Liked: 23
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #52 on: 14:23, 12 January 19 »
Here it is a video to show you that I'm not able anymore to enter into some folders:

https://youtu.be/Tc5VJyjYoo8

By using manually command (├╣cd,"xxxxxx), it works fine.
And here it is my ROMS config.
« Last Edit: 19:59, 12 January 19 by francouai »
--
francois

Offline francouai

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: fr
  • CPC6128+
  • Liked: 23
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #53 on: 21:28, 12 January 19 »
I did some tests by downgrading to ROM 197 and the problem was fixed. I was able to jump into any kind of folders.If I upgrade to 198, the folder's problem is coming back.I'm going to use FW197 since this one works great on my CTRC1 azerty + M4 2.4e
--
francois

Offline abalore

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 102
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #54 on: 00:07, 13 January 19 »
I did some tests by downgrading to ROM 197 and the problem was fixed. I was able to jump into any kind of folders.If I upgrade to 198, the folder's problem is coming back.I'm going to use FW197 since this one works great on my CTRC1 azerty + M4 2.4e


Can you please try this new version?


Thank you!
« Last Edit: 00:11, 13 January 19 by abalore »

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.165
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 262
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #55 on: 06:29, 13 January 19 »
@abalore


Is it possible to include a Delete file function Perhaps "Control - Delete"


Just a thought.


I like the rest of the Frontend


Thanks.   Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline francouai

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: fr
  • CPC6128+
  • Liked: 23
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #56 on: 09:45, 13 January 19 »
abalore, problem fixed with FW199 :P
--
francois

Offline Syncmaster319

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 2
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #57 on: 12:55, 13 January 19 »

Hi,

I have a couple of issues since the support for long filenames was added.

Firstly the TOSEC collection was really slow moving down the list of games.

I did some testing by cutting down the number of folders to see if that improved things as the other folders seemed to be fine.

Ultimately I have ended up with an exact copy of the folder again and file/folder navigation is fast.  Exact same structure! Must be an odd bug somewhere.

Secondly I now have an odd situation where all my folders are no longer alphabetical (see attached).  It ok when viewing via the web interface.

Very confused.
 

Offline francouai

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: fr
  • CPC6128+
  • Liked: 23
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #58 on: 14:10, 13 January 19 »
do you use "SD Card Formatter" to format before your SD card?what the size ? (I'm using 512mo)
if you are all fine with that, try to downgrade the FW to see if your problem is still there.
--
francois

Online VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 979
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 448
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #59 on: 19:09, 13 January 19 »
Finally tested it.


THIS-IS-AWESOME  :o




Tried though to test dsk transfer but gave me an AMSDOS error.
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline francouai

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: fr
  • CPC6128+
  • Liked: 23
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #60 on: 20:00, 13 January 19 »
did you upload the AMSDOS rom like it need for this function?
--
francois

Online VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 979
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 448
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #61 on: 23:01, 13 January 19 »
did you upload the AMSDOS rom like it need for this function?


2   M4FE
6   M4
8   AMSDOS
31 Modified for 6128
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Online zhulien

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 353
  • Country: au
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 137
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #62 on: 01:59, 14 January 19 »



may i suggest a feature?

that is, since the M4 also has wifi on it, that the M4 Front-End has the ability to copy files from the net?  perhaps the simplest way could be to allow bookmarks to be added which would be a name and a url, eg:

http://myfavouritecpcsoftwaresite.com/cpcdownloads/index.txt

the files.txt could perhaps be setup as a type (F for file, D for directory (i.e. other bookmark files), description, filename,url and filesize as a CSV... limit the size of such files.txt to 16kb (if you need a limit)

eg:

(inside index.txt)
Type,Description,Filename,URL,Filesize
D,Games A,,http://myfavouritecpcsoftwaresite.com/cpcdownloads/A.txt,
D,Games B,,http://myfavouritecpcsoftwaresite.com/cpcdownloads/B.txt,
D,Games C,,http://myfavouritecpcsoftwaresite.com/cpcdownloads/C.txt,

(inside c.txt)
Type,Description,Filename,URL,Filesize
F,Cybernoid,CYBNOID.ARC,http://myfavouritecpcsoftwaresite.com/cpcdownloads/C.txt,50KB

It would allow some elementary web download interface but with seamless integration with the rest of the Front End.  Far from optimal, but I am thinking keep it simple rather than not so the people can easily generate these files using a whatever means is easy for them, perhaps even Excel.

Treat it as a readonly filesystem.  Actually the M4 ROM could perhaps include this functionality somehow which would give every other software automatic feature?
« Last Edit: 02:03, 14 January 19 by zhulien »

Offline abalore

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 102
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #63 on: 12:01, 16 January 19 »

Hello,

Here is a new version of M4FE that fixes an issue with some 'catart' file names.


Abalore

Offline francouai

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: fr
  • CPC6128+
  • Liked: 23
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #64 on: 17:48, 16 January 19 »
you missed v200  ;D
--
francois

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.044
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 547
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #65 on: 17:51, 16 January 19 »
I like 201  :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.01.14)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline Livingstone

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: es
  • Opera Soft forever
  • Liked: 1
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #66 on: 18:46, 18 January 19 »
10/10  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Online VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 979
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 448
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #67 on: 23:04, 18 January 19 »
From gameathlon event today.



To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Online VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 979
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 448
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #68 on: 16:25, 07 February 19 »
Well after re positioning my roms about 20 times, the disk transfer worked.
I moved the card to a 464plus and changed the lower rom.
Later moving back to the plain 6128 and re uploading the os mod, amsdos missing error.


Really don't know what is happening  :picard:
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.044
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 547
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #69 on: 18:47, 07 February 19 »
Maybe it's not related to this ROM, can you test amsdos functions in general?

http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.01.14)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Online VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 979
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 448
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #70 on: 18:49, 07 February 19 »
|disc works and can dir floppy.
Also without the amsdos on m4 I have random numbers in basic so I think it works.
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.044
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 547
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #71 on: 18:52, 07 February 19 »
Time for 2.025  ;D
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.01.14)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline Swisstoni

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 0
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #72 on: 13:38, 14 February 19 »
I'm new to the Amstrad and recently picked up an M4 board, please could someone be kind enough to give me a step by step guide to setting up the front end on the M4 board it would be much appreciated as ive no idea where to start.

Many Thanks

Online VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 979
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 448
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #73 on: 14:03, 14 February 19 »

@Swisstoni

Hi,

if you already have setup your autoexec.bas and have access via your browser, then use this configuration.
Everything works fine except the dsk transfer, at least for me.


For a CPC 6128 you'll need the modified OS, it is somewhere in this post.


To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline Swisstoni

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 0
Re: Front-end for M4 board in ROM
« Reply #74 on: 14:32, 14 February 19 »
Thanks VincentGR no im not connected to WIFI im only just getting use to how the Amstrad works ive only been running games from the SD card so far will have to have a look at the wiki and work out how to setup the wifi and see what all these different roms do.