News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Interfacing CPC with a microcontroller

Started by joska, 11:27, 11 July 14

Previous topic - Next topic

joska

I want to connect an Arduino or similar to my CPC in order to let the CPC interact with the outside world. I've had Z80-computers since the early 80's (Sharp MZ and MSX) but I've never worked with the Z80 at this level before.

I found this interesting MSX project: Coding Laboratory: Virtual MSX disk drive

Basically it has a simple address decoder that pulls the WAIT/READY line low to force the Z80 to wait until the microcontroller has either read the databus or written to it. Then the microcontroller release WAIT/READY and the Z80 continues.

This looks rather easy, but can the same concept be used on the CPC?

Bryce

As long as you don't hold the wait signal low for too long it should be fine.

Bryce.

joska

Nilquader

Take a look at the CPC Booster+ - That's an ATMEGA connected to the CPC Bus. CPC Booster - CPCWiki
--
Nilquader of SPRING
http://www.nilquader.net/

MacDeath

I already asked this.

to have such stuff woud need :
=cabling properly the Arduino to CPC.
=have some library on both the arduino and CPC to have them do stuff together.

good point with arduino :
you can get the ethernet shield and its micro-SD card plug used as ethernet/internet, or mass data storage...

with such a shield, you may emulate an HDD or Floppy dfisk or even ROMs perhaps, or get online.
the arduino could also be used to perform some additional tasks or functions I guess, like arithmetic functions or whatever...

yeah the ethernet shield doesn't allows to use both the SD card or the ethernet at the same time, not a big deal...

Really I don't understand why no coder-hobbyist did stuff like that.