News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

internal or external floppy?

Started by lost84, 22:14, 23 December 13

Previous topic - Next topic

lost84

Hello,

This is my first post. I'm totally new to the CPC, being more of a spectrum man, but a few weeks ago I got a cpc6128 with color monitor for £30, which I thought was a bargain. I think the floppy needs a new belt, but not worried about that as I've fitted a 3.5" externally.

I have the bits to mount a drive internally which I'd like as the external looks a bit ugly frankly. However, mounting internally seems like butchery.

Is there a neat way to mount the drive externally? Should I mount the drive internally?

Bryce

3.5in Floppies never look good internally on a 6128. No matter how good the modding is, it just looks wrong because the shape is wrong. Buy an external floppy housing (the Amiga ones aren't bad) and install the external 3.5 in that.

Bryce.

MiguelSky

Well, not necessary bad looking:

lost84

Thanks Brice,

Starting to think along the same lines. The floppy is just too wide, and I don't really want to alter the original.

I've removed the 3" for refurb at a latter date, and have fed the power cable and internal FDD cable out through the b drive edge. This way the external drive sits nicely on top of the housing of the old drive. Looks OK and seems to keep extra wires to a minimum.

lost84

Quote from: MiguelSky on 23:27, 23 December 13
Well, not necessary bad looking

Looks great. I guess you mounted the floppy high to avoid having to remove the screw fixings for the old drive. It seems a tight fit up there. It was another way I way thinking, and have the switch below. May have another look in a few days.

TotO