Author Topic: Keyboard Issues on my CPC6128  (Read 972 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AMSDOS

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.623
  • Country: au
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Programs for Turbo Pascal 3
  • Liked: 890
  • Likes Given: 1545
Keyboard Issues on my CPC6128
« on: 06:17, 09 August 14 »
I decided to get out my Amstrad CPC6128 after many years (under the dust covers), only to find some of the keyboard isn't working. Most of the keys still seem to be working with the more crucial ones, I have no Shift, Control isn't working, f4 for some reason, "i" and some of the keys around that including Return, Small Enter still works, and I have no control key.


Thinking it might of been the edge connector I opened it up, only to find it was firmly in place, does anyone know if the edge connector deteriorates, the one I have on the keyboard seemed very stiff, but it didn't appear damaged. But I'm thinking it might be the keys themselves which may not be registering due to the sticky nature of them, though I'm unsure why the Control isn't going cause it seems fine.


Can anyone help me here please?
* Using some of the hardly used Amstrad compilers :D
* I use Firmware in my Assembly code :P
* Have interpreted some BASIC 1.1 programs for BASIC 1.0. :)

Offline gerald

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.366
  • Liked: 970
  • Likes Given: 243
Re: Keyboard Issues on my CPC6128
« Reply #1 on: 09:29, 09 August 14 »
I have no Shift, Control isn't working, f4 for some reason, "i" and some of the keys around that including Return, Small Enter still works, and I have no control key.
Shift, Crtl, F4, return, CLR, [, ], \ are all on the same keyboard matrix line. This suggest that the line connection is wrong rather than the keys themselves.
Does anyone know if the edge connector deteriorates, the one I have on the keyboard seemed very stiff, but it didn't appear damaged.
The connection can go wrong with time. Unplugging an plugging the connectors back usually solve the problem.

Offline AMSDOS

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.623
  • Country: au
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Programs for Turbo Pascal 3
  • Liked: 890
  • Likes Given: 1545
Re: Keyboard Issues on my CPC6128
« Reply #2 on: 09:41, 09 August 14 »
Thanks, I'll have a look, I just opened the keyboard up and found quite a bit of dust/hair on the Membrane, I cleaned this up, though it didn't resolve it, I didn't unplug the connector from the Mainboard though.
* Using some of the hardly used Amstrad compilers :D
* I use Firmware in my Assembly code :P
* Have interpreted some BASIC 1.1 programs for BASIC 1.0. :)

Offline AMSDOS

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.623
  • Country: au
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Programs for Turbo Pascal 3
  • Liked: 890
  • Likes Given: 1545
Re: Keyboard Issues on my CPC6128
« Reply #3 on: 11:49, 09 August 14 »
Shift, Crtl, F4, return, CLR, [, ], \ are all on the same keyboard matrix line. This suggest that the line connection is wrong rather than the keys themselves.The connection can go wrong with time. Unplugging an plugging the connectors back usually solve the problem.


Yes that seemed to be the problem, thanks very much for that.  :)


These keys seem to go to the outer connector, got a bit of a fright when I pulled out the cable cause I was expecting the Black connector to come out with it, but that part is actually soldered to the board, managed to put it back in, all working as if it was the 1990s again!  :D


I took some photos of my computer while I had it opened up which had some modifications done to it which particularly involves the  NEC D765AC-2 Chip, unfortunately my photos are all that clear and all I can gather is it relates to the 2 x 5.25" Disk Drives, though I also got somewhere what appears to be a Homemade RS232, it doesn't have a Power supply unit accompanying it. I think it was being used to connect to a Printer cause I had a number of Printouts somewhere.


Even though I haven't been able to use the machine for what the original owner did, I've been able to use bits of it like the 5.25" Disk Drive, I've been able to use it as if it was an ordinary Amstrad.  :)
« Last Edit: 13:32, 09 August 14 by AMSDOS »
* Using some of the hardly used Amstrad compilers :D
* I use Firmware in my Assembly code :P
* Have interpreted some BASIC 1.1 programs for BASIC 1.0. :)

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.877
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3820
  • Likes Given: 391
Re: Keyboard Issues on my CPC6128
« Reply #4 on: 12:47, 09 August 14 »
Ooo, something went wrong with that second picture  :o   And I thought "wow, what a cool dust cover" at first.

Bryce.

Offline AMSDOS

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.623
  • Country: au
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Programs for Turbo Pascal 3
  • Liked: 890
  • Likes Given: 1545
Re: Keyboard Issues on my CPC6128
« Reply #5 on: 13:05, 09 August 14 »
I'll try again.
« Last Edit: 13:30, 09 August 14 by AMSDOS »
* Using some of the hardly used Amstrad compilers :D
* I use Firmware in my Assembly code :P
* Have interpreted some BASIC 1.1 programs for BASIC 1.0. :)

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.877
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3820
  • Likes Given: 391
Re: Keyboard Issues on my CPC6128
« Reply #6 on: 13:20, 09 August 14 »
Getting closer :D but still no cigar.

Bryce.

Offline AMSDOS

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.623
  • Country: au
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • Programs for Turbo Pascal 3
  • Liked: 890
  • Likes Given: 1545
Re: Keyboard Issues on my CPC6128
« Reply #7 on: 13:24, 09 August 14 »
Should be there now, I've switched from Safari to Chrome.
« Last Edit: 13:36, 09 August 14 by AMSDOS »
* Using some of the hardly used Amstrad compilers :D
* I use Firmware in my Assembly code :P
* Have interpreted some BASIC 1.1 programs for BASIC 1.0. :)