Author Topic: MultiFace II clone  (Read 29177 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.280
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1171
  • Likes Given: 79
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #150 on: 12:39, 30 April 15 »
The eprom in my real plus mf2 is 78. I swapped the eproms and it made no difference. Like I said no biggie.

The big issue now will be to get antimultiface working so I can try some more gx conversions.

I might remove my acid inside board from the 464 plus. Does anyone have a spare plus cart slot riser?
IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.042
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3914
  • Likes Given: 408
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #151 on: 13:37, 30 April 15 »
Interresting...
On the original MF2 what is the eprom version ? is it 8B ?

Both devices should be similar... may be there are other differencies between your "Regular" cpc+ and your "Extra" 464+

There's nothing extra on Craigs 464+ that would break compatibility with the MF2, it just has the extra 64K and the floppy circuitry added, so essentially it's a standard 6128+.

@Craig: I'm pretty sure I included a disable jumper on the ACID inside PCB. You just need to move this jumper to revert to the original state.

Bryce.
« Last Edit: 13:39, 30 April 15 by Bryce »

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.280
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1171
  • Likes Given: 79
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #152 on: 13:54, 30 April 15 »
There's nothing extra on Craigs 464+ that would break compatibility with the MF2, it just has the extra 64K and the floppy circuitry added, so essentially it's a standard 6128+.

@Craig: I'm pretty sure I included a disable jumper on the ACID inside PCB. You just need to move this jumper to revert to the original state.

Bryce.
I'll take a look next time I have the 464 in pieces.
IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.042
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3914
  • Likes Given: 408
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #153 on: 13:57, 30 April 15 »
Yup, the jumper is there. This is your PCB: http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/File:AcidInside1.png

You could even add an external switch instead of the jumper if you want /need to switch it regularly.

Bryce.

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.280
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1171
  • Likes Given: 79
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #154 on: 14:01, 30 April 15 »
Yup, the jumper is there. This is your PCB: http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/File:AcidInside1.png

You could even add an external switch instead of the jumper if you want /need to switch it regularly.

Bryce.
;) thanks Dr @Bryce
IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline wmsteele

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 2
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #155 on: 14:52, 30 April 15 »
Hi, I would be interested in one if you have any spare from this batch?

Payment sent :)

Offline talrek

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 197
  • Likes Given: 207
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #156 on: 11:37, 02 May 15 »
Second batch closed  :)

 

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.140
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 2987
  • Likes Given: 5301
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #157 on: 19:05, 03 May 15 »
Waiting for the postman... :)

Offline talrek

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 197
  • Likes Given: 207
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #158 on: 19:21, 03 May 15 »
You have to be very very very very patient... Second batch is shipped in around 5 weeks.  :)

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.140
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 2987
  • Likes Given: 5301
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #159 on: 19:25, 03 May 15 »
Oh well I'll be twiddling my thumbs till then I guess :D

Offline chinnyhill10

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.373
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 747
  • Likes Given: 514
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #160 on: 12:34, 07 May 15 »
My MF2 clone has turned up this morning. Does the EPROM need covering over to prevent it getting erased?
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline talrek

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 197
  • Likes Given: 207
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #161 on: 13:43, 07 May 15 »
Yes,
obviously i have forgotten to do that ....  ::)
« Last Edit: 13:45, 07 May 15 by talrek »

Offline chinnyhill10

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.373
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 747
  • Likes Given: 514
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #162 on: 13:51, 07 May 15 »
Yes,
obviously i have forgotten to do that ....  ::)


Any particular material I should use? Does the chip get hot?
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline talrek

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 197
  • Likes Given: 207
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #163 on: 13:53, 07 May 15 »
No, just use some black rubber tape for example, or adhesive paper just to hide the window.

Offline chinnyhill10

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.373
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 747
  • Likes Given: 514
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #164 on: 02:37, 09 May 15 »
Works like a dream. Anyone have any ideas for an easy project to build a case for it? Mine is currently hanging out the back of the CPC sitting on my +3 keyboard. Not ideal.
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline chinnyhill10

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.373
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 747
  • Likes Given: 514
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #165 on: 02:37, 09 May 15 »
No, just use some black rubber tape for example, or adhesive paper just to hide the window.


Square of a paper label, square of gaffer and square of a paper label on top. Just to be sure.  ;D
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline talrek

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 197
  • Likes Given: 207
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #166 on: 21:43, 28 May 15 »
Ok here some news  :D
I have all parts and almost ended all boards  :D
I start send the first MF2 clone Monday, i now have to test them all !!!  :)

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.280
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1171
  • Likes Given: 79
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #167 on: 23:14, 28 May 15 »
Ok here some news  :D
I have all parts and almost ended all boards  :D
I start send the first MF2 clone Monday, i now have to test them all !!!  :)
hey, what.... I got my mf2 remake a while ago.
IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline talrek

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 197
  • Likes Given: 207
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #168 on: 21:37, 29 May 15 »
hey, what.... I got my mf2 remake a while ago.

I mean the first of the second batch  :laugh:

Offline jrodriguezv

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 15
  • Likes Given: 19
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #169 on: 09:24, 30 May 15 »

Ok here some news  :D
I have all parts and almost ended all boards  :D
I start send the first MF2 clone Monday, i now have to test them all !!!  :)

Good news! :-)

Offline talrek

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 197
  • Likes Given: 207
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #170 on: 16:36, 31 May 15 »
Things were going too easily  :'( :'(

I must have a problem with a component and i don't know which one....  :(
I'm doubting about the GALs...  and may be the LS670 or LS365 but i find hardto believe that all LS are bad....

Well... does everybody knows about incompatibility issues between GAL16V8D-15LP and GAL16V8B-10LP (which were the ones in the first batch)
Also do you have any idea to test a 74LS670 ?

Offline gerald

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.415
  • Liked: 996
  • Likes Given: 251
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #171 on: 17:57, 31 May 15 »
I must have a problem with a component and i don't know which one....  :(
I'm doubting about the GALs...  and may be the LS670 or LS365 but i find hardto believe that all LS are bad....

Well... does everybody knows about incompatibility issues between GAL16V8D-15LP and GAL16V8B-10LP (which were the ones in the first batch)
Also do you have any idea to test a 74LS670 ?
GAL16V8D-15LP are just slower than GAL16V8B-10LP, it may be a problem.
Do you still have one card from the 1st batch ? If so just swap the component on socket from batch 1 to batch 2 and check who is not working.
Also double check that you did put the right GAL on the right socket.
For the smd ones, no easy solution.

Offline talrek

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 197
  • Likes Given: 207
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #172 on: 18:23, 31 May 15 »
GAL16V8D-15LP are just slower than GAL16V8B-10LP, it may be a problem.
Do you still have one card from the 1st batch ? If so just swap the component on socket from batch 1 to batch 2 and check who is not working.
Also double check that you did put the right GAL on the right socket.
For the smd ones, no easy solution.

Good idea, but i didn't kept one for me   ::)
I don't know for the speed since J.Leandro says wrote in the file he tested successfully with a 16V8-25LP
Well i asked someone who bought it in France (post is faster), i'm waiting for the answer ... May be if he lends me a MF2 clone for 1-2 weeks ;-) it will be great.

Of course there is a reward  :laugh: :laugh:
« Last Edit: 18:27, 31 May 15 by talrek »

Offline talrek

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 197
  • Likes Given: 207
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #173 on: 15:28, 05 June 15 »
Hi, good news. I found the problem. It was really stupid... 470kohms smd resistor instead of 470ohms... I feel really stupid.
Sorry for the delay, just a couple of days before shipping. Just the time to receive the new resistors

Offline skywalky

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 17
  • Likes Given: 43
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #174 on: 20:18, 05 June 15 »
We can wait a little more. I'm glad you found the problem. Thank you