Author Topic: MultiFace II clone  (Read 29174 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
  • Liked: 1976
  • Likes Given: 4650
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #50 on: 21:26, 03 March 15 »
Minibooster is cool, but only works once in a while for me. More often the PC - CPC connection just don't work. So I use the HxC instead. So switch the SD Card is a task that even I can perform quick.  :laugh:
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.280
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1171
  • Likes Given: 79
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #51 on: 00:37, 04 March 15 »
Minibooster is cool, but only works once in a while for me. More often the PC - CPC connection just don't work. So I use the HxC instead. So switch the SD Card is a task that even I can perform quick.  :laugh:
ahhh, there you go then. My Mac - CPC connection works 99% of the time, and when it fails restarting the app on the Mac fixes it. Ditch the PC, buy a Mac lol!
IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
  • Liked: 1976
  • Likes Given: 4650
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #52 on: 00:42, 04 March 15 »
Haha!  :-*  Maybe one day. Meanwhile a couple of SD cards are more cheap than the Mac.  ;)
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline pelrun

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 580
  • Country: au
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 296
  • Likes Given: 166
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #53 on: 06:58, 04 March 15 »
Minibooster is cool, but only works once in a while for me. More often the PC - CPC connection just don't work. So I use the HxC instead. So switch the SD Card is a task that even I can perform quick.  :laugh:


I don't have an HxD, and I've still not gotten far enough with my Gotek firmware to use it, so I have to resort to my tape cable to transfer dsk images. Drives me mad that I can't get a full disk image across the minibooster before aft and writedsk crash on a corrupted byte.


So I just spent two days bashing my head against cpctools trying to get AFT to compile (being forced to install Visual Studio just to get a version of the libdsk.dll that I can link to and fighting CMake for days just like every other time I encounter a project that uses CMake makes me a very unhappy person.). Hopefully now I'll be able to make some robustness improvements.

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.042
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3914
  • Likes Given: 408
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #54 on: 11:59, 04 March 15 »
I am really gonna need to get a 2nd Mother4X for my machine. The one I have is already full with, from front to back, X-Mem, X-Mass, PlayCity & Mini Booster. @TotO : I assume that that multiple M4X boards can be chained together, and if so can they be ordered with the correct 50 pin female to female ribbon cable? Is the 5v supply passed backwards to any additional boards, or would I ideally need to provide another 5v supply to the 2nd M4X for the Multiface Remake, RTC and whatever other boards come alone in M4X format?

I love to see a new standard coming along, it makes the new expansions options so very much neater.

Craig

The 5V rail would be parallel across the two MX4 boards, so only one supply would be required.

Bryce.

Offline pelrun

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 580
  • Country: au
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 296
  • Likes Given: 166
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #55 on: 12:37, 04 March 15 »
If only there was one more mounting hole near the front of the MotherX4, then you could use a few long spacers and stack the second board above the first.


(...what do you mean you can't see the screen now? Geez, there's no pleasing some people)

Offline Sloopie

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Country: de
  • Liked: 1
  • Likes Given: 4
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #56 on: 00:50, 05 March 15 »
Declare interest !! one piece please.

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.456
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2630
  • Likes Given: 1555
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #57 on: 00:59, 05 March 15 »
If only there was one more mounting hole near the front of the MotherX4, then you could use a few long spacers and stack the second board above the first.
Strange idea...  ???

"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline pelrun

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 580
  • Country: au
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 296
  • Likes Given: 166
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #58 on: 05:47, 05 March 15 »
If I tried to daisy chain a second board behind the MotherX4, I'd push the monitor off the back of the desk before I had room.

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.456
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2630
  • Likes Given: 1555
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #59 on: 10:09, 05 March 15 »
And over, you no more see the monitor display?  ;D 


 [ Invalid Attachment ]

You should arange them like that and does the link from the passthrough connector?


* MXT.jpg
(211.44 kB, 640x1024 - viewed 120 times)


If you really want to make a Lego tower with them, I should provide you a second board with simple pins connectors on both sides.
So, you will be able to use the 4 holes to do what you need for your work. (your CPC mainboard make that useless)
« Last Edit: 10:22, 05 March 15 by TotO »
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline Pentagon

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Country: de
  • Liked: 37
  • Likes Given: 48
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #60 on: 12:20, 05 March 15 »
I am interested in one device of the next batch too.


Thanks for that
Tom


Offline The Last Bandit

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
  • Country: ie
  • Liked: 25
  • Likes Given: 11
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #61 on: 14:55, 05 March 15 »
Also interested in one of these. 

Offline mrchip

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 2
  • Likes Given: 3
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #62 on: 15:18, 05 March 15 »
I would also like to purchase one...

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
  • Liked: 1976
  • Likes Given: 4650
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #63 on: 18:21, 05 March 15 »
If I tried to daisy chain a second board behind the MotherX4, I'd push the monitor off the back of the desk before I had room.


Put the monitor higher, on feet. Works very well.  :)
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline talrek

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 197
  • Likes Given: 207
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #64 on: 21:33, 06 March 15 »
Sloopie, Pentagon, Tle last Bandit and Mrchip you're interest is noted  ;)
You'll have to be patient ...  ;D

Offline candyOvl

  • Speccy
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 1
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #65 on: 14:41, 15 March 15 »
Really Nice projet !! I need one MFII New Generation !!!  :P


Candy / OVerLanders!

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
  • Liked: 1976
  • Likes Given: 4650
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #66 on: 18:50, 16 March 15 »
Nice to see you here at the forum!  :)
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline talrek

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 197
  • Likes Given: 207
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #67 on: 19:15, 16 March 15 »
Really Nice projet !! I need one MFII New Generation !!!  :P


Candy / OVerLanders!

No problem of course !!! ;D

Offline the KING

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: no
  • Liked: 14
  • Likes Given: 17
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #68 on: 00:04, 19 March 15 »
Sign me up for one too!

Offline Joseman

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 780
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 628
  • Likes Given: 429
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #69 on: 13:46, 19 March 15 »
count me in for one!  :)


Offline Phantomz

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.141
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 1657
  • Likes Given: 534
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #70 on: 16:54, 19 March 15 »
Will this work on the 6128 plus? if so I'd be interest in one with an edge connector for it, thanks  :)

Offline talrek

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 197
  • Likes Given: 207
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #71 on: 18:04, 19 March 15 »
It should work with the CPC6128+ and the adequate centronics cable. I never tried.
but it will be tested.
If someone know about this, please talk  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
  • Liked: 1976
  • Likes Given: 4650
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #72 on: 18:19, 19 March 15 »
IIRC the old MF2 had problems with the Plus, right?

TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.280
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1171
  • Likes Given: 79
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #73 on: 19:07, 19 March 15 »
IIRC the old MF2 had problems with the Plus, right?
yes. The Amsdos ROM in the plus needed different code in the multiface. The only difference is the MF ROM tho.

Also,if you fit parados in your plus you need the CPC multiface and not the plus one.
IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

Offline Phantomz

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.141
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 1657
  • Likes Given: 534
Re: MultiFace II clone
« Reply #74 on: 19:37, 19 March 15 »
yes. The Amsdos ROM in the plus needed different code in the multiface. The only difference is the MF ROM tho.

Also,if you fit parados in your plus you need the CPC multiface and not the plus one.

Do I lose anything if I go for a CPC Multiface instead of the plus one? Also which version is compatible with AMSDOS Firmware 3.12 ?  (This is the basic original Amstrad CPC6128 coupled to firmware 3.15).


I'm trying to get the best compatibility with games on my plus, I'm using a parados cart at the moment, only because I got fed up with the basic / burning rubber menu on the original cart.

I don't need to use parados really as I've got a hxc floppy emulator instead of a real external drive.

I've got a Cartridge on the way with Dual Roms in it, it contains PARADOS 1.0 and AMSDOS Firmware 3.12, I was told it is the original Amstrad Basic with a 3.12 firmware (100% compatible with all games).

I've got a normal cpc 6128 (original rom not parados) with a multiface and it would be nice to load any multiface saves from that up on my plus.

So I'm thinking I'll need a normal cpc multiface with the centronics cable if it works with AMSDOS Firmware 3.12 for best compatibility between both machines and games.





« Last Edit: 19:43, 19 March 15 by Phantomz »