Author Topic: Quick and dirty RAM test for CPC  (Read 4602 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 620
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 259
Re: Quick and dirty RAM test for CPC
« Reply #40 on: 13:03, 11 July 17 »
Yep, regulated 5v supply into the 5v socket.  ;)

Cheers,
Shane
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.953
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3079
Re: Quick and dirty RAM test for CPC
« Reply #41 on: 13:09, 11 July 17 »
Yup, and I'm on my third coffee at this stage. :)

Bryce.

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.151
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1050
Re: Quick and dirty RAM test for CPC
« Reply #42 on: 21:59, 11 July 17 »
Diode tested... All good. 100% resistance one way and healthy continuity the other

If I did not have to dismantle the speccy +3 to get at some ram chips I'd test the 9v power now.

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.151
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1050
Re: Quick and dirty RAM test for CPC
« Reply #43 on: 17:33, 16 July 17 »
All tested and working.... Albeit with the suspect speccy +2 ram.

Sent from my ONEPLUS 3t using Tapatalk


Offline LambdaMikel

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 162
  • Country: us
    • Homepage
  • Liked: 57
Re: Quick and dirty RAM test for CPC
« Reply #44 on: 08:30, 07 December 17 »
It's probably a stupid beginner question, but can someone please explain how I burn this memtest.bin
lower rom using XMem? I am using "exrom.bas" from XMem tools disk A, and then it shows that ROM 0 = 64,  ROM 1 = 01, and LOWER ID = 71. So after "filename? " I loaded ramtest.bin, and tried all 3 IDs, but when  I booted in XMem boot mode, I either got a pixelated screen or colorful vertical stripes. What am I doing wrong? I am using a 6128.  After that, I have to run "setup" from XMem tools disk again, in order to get the XMem Firmware 3.14 back again, so it seems to be replacing some system roms, but it doesn't work. Thanks!

Offline GUNHED

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Country: us
  • Liked: 50
Re: Quick and dirty RAM test for CPC
« Reply #45 on: 16:31, 07 December 17 »

There are two possible ways...

When using the X-MEM and you want to install a new lower ROM (which is the case here I guess), then you can use my ROManager to install it. However it's a bit more work since you need to install FutureOS before. If you need a step by step guidance please let me know.


I don't remember if the FW 3.16 Flasher RSX can also be used for this purpose, but you can try ROM number &47.




Offline LambdaMikel

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 162
  • Country: us
    • Homepage
  • Liked: 57
Re: Quick and dirty RAM test for CPC
« Reply #46 on: 17:48, 07 December 17 »
I don't remember if the FW 3.16 Flasher RSX can also be used for this purpose, but you can try ROM number &47.

Tried that, but getting pixelated screen when booting from XMem.
« Last Edit: 17:50, 07 December 17 by LambdaMikel »

Offline GUNHED

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
  • Country: us
  • Liked: 50
Re: Quick and dirty RAM test for CPC
« Reply #47 on: 17:50, 07 December 17 »
Oh I see. The question is not to tell if Flasher has a problem or the ROM you flash.


You still can try ROManager.
« Last Edit: 17:52, 07 December 17 by GUNHED »

Offline LambdaMikel

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 162
  • Country: us
    • Homepage
  • Liked: 57
Re: Quick and dirty RAM test for CPC
« Reply #48 on: 19:07, 07 December 17 »
I must say I don't know. Is there anything else I need to do in order to "prepare" ramtest.bin for lower rom flashing? AMSDOS headers or the like (shouldn't that be irrelevant for lower ROM?)

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 944
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3. I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 174
Re: Quick and dirty RAM test for CPC
« Reply #49 on: 23:33, 07 December 17 »
@LambdaMikel
The last Picture above is very similar to a fault i just fixed (on a 464).


The ICs 104 - 105 - 109 - 113 Multiplexers 74ls153 area had some faulty chips and OPEN Tracks (Trace)


Have a look around this area.


Good luck
Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.