Rombo Romboard reverse engineering troubleshooting help required

Started by The Equalizor, 02:02, 03 March 18

Previous topic - Next topic

The Equalizor

Hi Bryce,

They're definitely connected, double checked on board I've got here, attached a close up of the caps on the board....

Regards

Rob

Bryce

Quote from: The Equalizor on 16:11, 21 March 18
I'm going to say this again : I'm not an electronics genius like you, I'm just a hobbyist with an interest in fixing stuff although I do appreciate your comments.

I'd give you a job. I've seen worse from people who get paid to do it!

Good to hear that the GND is connected. I was just suspicious because the trace from the VSS pin goes seperately through the ground plane.

Bryce.

The Equalizor

Yeah Altium does some stuff in strange ways. I use the Autorouter a lot and then correct the insanity that ensues  as much as I can.

I'll let you know when the blank boards turn up and I've built one and tested it. If they work correctly I'd actually like to donate one to you in recognition of the hard work you do on this board, I'd be very happy to do that.

Regards

Rob

Bryce

That's very kind of you.

Regarding the Altium strangeness (of which there's lots). As far as I can remember, you need to rename the NET between the capacitor and VSS to whatever the ground plane is called and it will integrate it into the plane automatically. (or I may be thinking of a completely different routing program :D )

Bryce.

LambdaMikel

Great job with the Romboard, I'd like to order one, too!  :)

The Equalizor

Mmmm PCB Goodness :-) just in from China!

I'll be building the test one tonight, I'll see how that goes and let you guys know.

Regards

Rob

CPC_Fan

The Equalizor

Well, as long as it works as good as it looks I'll be happy!
But thank you :-)

Rob

Bryce

Quote from: The Equalizor on 15:08, 28 March 18
Mmmm PCB Goodness :-) just in from China!