News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Amstrad Version of the "Amiga Kickstart Switcher" board

Started by CraigsBar, 11:29, 08 August 19

Previous topic - Next topic

CraigsBar

Hi all,

through my investigations into FlySpy and loading I found a need!

Would it be possible for a PCB to be designed that would be a plug in solution to allow switching between 2 FIrmware 3k roms or 2 16k DOS roms on the CPC.
Are the pin outs close enough for the same device to be used for both?

I would be happy to order, solder and make a small batch of these adaptors as I would need several myself but I am not tech savvy enough to design the board.

They would need to have 2 Eprom Sockets and switch headers (Maybe jumpers too if the pinout on 32k and 16k roms are not compatible) so that the Firmware could be switched from Basic1.0 and 1.1 on a CPC 464 and the DOS from AmsDOS to Parados on a CPC 6128 without needing to open the case.

If someone is willing to help we could make a really useful board.

I know it can be done with piggybacking the chips and adding a switch, but a little PCB is neater IMHO and is totally reversible.

Hopefully I am not insane here :)

Craig

IRC:  #Retro4All on Freenode

TotO

Sure, il is not hard to do, but better to unsolder the previous one and add a socket. (or using an external board)
I should take a little time to design a board with 128K flash and a dipswitch to set 4x32K in example.
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

CraigsBar

Quote from: TotO on 11:51, 08 August 19
Sure, il is not hard to do, but better to unsolder the previous one and add a socket. (or using an external board)
I should take a little time to design a board with 128K flash and a dipswitch to set 4x32K in example.