Author Topic: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!  (Read 11346 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SuTeKH/Epyteor

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.266
  • Country: 00
  • Liked: 1144
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #175 on: 16:43, 08 November 18 »
I do have a version of "Cocio & Finsprit" that supports multiple AYs (via the beta AT2) but I think most people would not be interested in it! ^_^
I was going to use AT1 and SyX's plAycity code, but I am lazy and not very good at Z80 coding!


Offline Arnaud

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 354
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #176 on: 20:33, 11 November 18 »
Just played with it and i tried to load CHP musics converted by CNGSoft.
It works pretty well and it's really nice to see how the those great tunes were done  :)
« Last Edit: 20:38, 11 November 18 by Arnaud »

Offline Targhan

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 782
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 708
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #177 on: 22:07, 11 November 18 »
The CNG Soft format is really different, so the import is "best effort". Drums for example are not well managed during the import (most of the time, simply modify the instrument to remove the "sound" (type of sound = 0)).
But this should be enough to finish a song made with Chip'n'sfx, into AT2 (which is the purpose of the imports).


Did you like the new UI better (with the VuMeters besides the Linker)?


In the next version, the Expressions (Arpeggio/Pitch) will be removed and put at the same level as the Pattern Editor/Instrument Editor, which will save even more space.

Offline Arnaud

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 354
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #178 on: 22:16, 11 November 18 »
Did you like the new UI better (with the VuMeters besides the Linker)?

Yes it's really better, there is more room for the pattern editor.
Now i have to see how works the new export, if i understand there is configuration file to include in the compilation ?

Offline Targhan

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 782
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 708
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #179 on: 00:21, 12 November 18 »
Quote
Now i have to see how works the new export, if i understand there is configuration file to include in the compilation ?
Yes, everything is explained on this page. But be aware that you don't HAVE to use it if you don't want to (so, there is nothing to do). But it would be a shame not to use it, this really saves quite a lot of memory on the AKG/Lightweight players.


This also requires Rasm, unless you assembler accept the same IFDEF mnemonic (for compatibility tricks, check here).

Offline Arnaud

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 354
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #180 on: 22:02, 15 November 18 »
Hi,i just try the new LW player with configuration file and i have now 147 more free bytes !
Nice job.

Offline Targhan

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 782
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 708
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #181 on: 00:27, 16 November 18 »
Not bad, but I expected something better. I made a test with both your songs (since you sent them to me :)), and I won #10f bytes (271) from the player, which is better. How did you calculate your 147 free bytes?

Offline Targhan

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 782
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 708
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #182 on: 11:05, 16 November 18 »
I see that your are using volume effects. Since you're using only a bit of them, you would optimize a lot by removing all the volume effects and duplication/modifying your instruments, applying the required volume to them. This way, all the effect management code would be ditched, it would save a lot of memory from the player.

Offline Arnaud

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 354
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #183 on: 12:47, 17 November 18 »
Not bad, but I expected something better. I made a test with both your songs (since you sent them to me :) ), and I won #10f bytes (271) from the player, which is better. How did you calculate your 147 free bytes?
It's the usable free memory, the full gain (code optim + better music generation) is ~370bytes
I see that your are using volume effects. Since you're using only a bit of them, you would optimize a lot by removing all the volume effects and duplication/modifying your instruments, applying the required volume to them. This way, all the effect management code would be ditched, it would save a lot of memory from the player.
I have to remove the modification of the volume in each instrument (in volume column next to noise column ?)  and set to a fixed value or it's a specific effect ?

Offline Targhan

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 782
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 708
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #184 on: 13:30, 17 November 18 »
No, remove the use of the volume effect in the patterns (V effect). Then in the generated "config" file, you won't see the "useEffects" line. The gain is quite substantial.
And obviously, lower the volumes of your instruments instead (the "volume" column besides the "noise" column).

Offline Arnaud

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 354
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #185 on: 11:03, 18 November 18 »
No, remove the use of the volume effect in the patterns (V effect). Then in the generated "config" file, you won't see the "useEffects" line. The gain is quite substantial.
And obviously, lower the volumes of your instruments instead (the "volume" column besides the "noise" column).
I tried to remove the volume effect, but it doesn't work very well because i haven't succeded to apply correctly the same volume drop for all instruments.

Is there a way to apply a volume overall to a song as do with speed ?
« Last Edit: 11:15, 18 November 18 by Arnaud »

Offline Targhan

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 782
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 708
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #186 on: 16:48, 18 November 18 »

Quote
>I tried to remove the volume effect, but it doesn't work very well because i haven't succeded to apply correctly the same volume drop for all instruments.

It shouldn't be very hard, if the volume is E, decrease each line of your instrument volume of 1. D = 2, and so on...


No, there isn't a way to decrease the song volume, but you can do it programmatically quite easily. AFTER initializing the song, you can set in labels:
PLY_LW_Track1_TrackInvertedVolume / PLY_LW_Track2_TrackInvertedVolume / PLY_LW_Track3_TrackInvertedVolume
how many volume step to decrease. This will not affect the sound effects.

Offline Arnaud

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 354
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #187 on: 18:03, 18 November 18 »
It shouldn't be very hard, if the volume is E, decrease each line of your instrument volume of 1. D = 2, and so on...
The volume of the track is 9 then i have to drop the volume of each instrument of 6.
How to handle the case of instrument with volume droping from F to 0 or volume < 6 ?

No, there isn't a way to decrease the song volume, but you can do it programmatically quite easily. AFTER initializing the song, you can set in labels:
PLY_LW_Track1_TrackInvertedVolume / PLY_LW_Track2_TrackInvertedVolume / PLY_LW_Track3_TrackInvertedVolume
how many volume step to decrease. This will not affect the sound effects..
It could be a good solution.

Offline Targhan

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 782
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 708
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #188 on: 18:32, 18 November 18 »

Quote
How to handle the case of instrument with volume droping from F to 0 or volume < 6 ?
Unless I don't understand, simply make your instrument volume go from 9 to 1. This will even save a bit of memory :)

Offline Arnaud

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 354
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #189 on: 18:50, 18 November 18 »
Unless I don't understand, simply make your instrument volume go from 9 to 1. This will even save a bit of memory :)
Oh yes, simply  :D
« Last Edit: 18:53, 18 November 18 by Arnaud »

Offline Arnaud

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 448
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 354
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #190 on: 21:11, 25 November 18 »
It shouldn't be very hard, if the volume is E, decrease each line of your instrument volume of 1. D = 2, and so on...


No, there isn't a way to decrease the song volume, but you can do it programmatically quite easily. AFTER initializing the song, you can set in labels:
PLY_LW_Track1_TrackInvertedVolume / PLY_LW_Track2_TrackInvertedVolume / PLY_LW_Track3_TrackInvertedVolume
how many volume step to decrease. This will not affect the sound effects.

As always i'm looking for memory, so i'd to try this solution,
 in Arkos2 player i found PLY_LW_Track1_TrackInvertedVolume in
Code: [Select]
;Data block for channel 1.:but i haven't found PLY_LW_Track2_TrackInvertedVolume or PLY_LW_Track3_TrackInvertedVolume  in
Code: [Select]
;Data block for channel 2 or 3:How set volume for channel 2 or 3 ?

Offline Targhan

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 782
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 708
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #191 on: 21:39, 25 November 18 »
That's because the other "track data items" are not declared, as they are always the same, relative to the beginning of the "track data".


Simply do:
InvertedVolume1 = PLY_LW_Track1_Data + PLY_LW_Data_OffsetTrackInvertedVolume
InvertedVolume2 = PLY_LW_Track2_Data + PLY_LW_Data_OffsetTrackInvertedVolume
InvertedVolume3 = PLY_LW_Track3_Data + PLY_LW_Data_OffsetTrackInvertedVolume

But this "channel" volume technique may not save you memory. The "decrease the instruments volume" technique saves a few bytes (the sounds are shorter)... unless you have to duplicate the instruments! In which case, yes, the technique above will be more interesting, memory-wise.

Offline Rhino

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 188
  • Liked: 438
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #192 on: 16:53, 12 December 18 »
Hi Targhan,Congratulations on your great work!
In order to make the source code compatible with Maxam (WinAPE assembler), it would be good to do some small modifications:

* ;; instead of ; in the comments to be able to use : in the comment
* LET before assembly variable assignments (e.g  LET PLY_CFG_UseHardwareSounds = 1)
* remove : before EQU
* out (c),0 is not supported, use db &ed,&71 ;; out (c),0
* and possibly something else...

Offline Targhan

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 782
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 708
Re: Arkos Tracker 2 - Released!
« Reply #193 on: 21:03, 12 December 18 »
Thanks. You can, to some extend, change the syntax of the generated music via File > Setup > Source profiles.


However, this won't address your problem with the players. I do not target Winape because I need the comfort/features of more elaborated assemblers, such as Rasm or SJasmPlus. So you will have to correct the player for your needs (which is why the sources are provided :)), or use another assembler. Plus, the parenthesis and multiplicationision order will not work with Winape. Sorry but I won't go back to this assembler.