CPCWiki forum

General Category => Applications => Topic started by: Executioner on 06:12, 26 November 15

Title: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Executioner on 06:12, 26 November 15
After much optimising and squeezing, I managed to get all the features I wanted in a new version of ParaDOS, and fully tested (btw, this is what was delaying the release of WinAPE). The new features are:

Support for Vortex and PCW (SS40 and DS80) formats.
Fixed the file copy bug when a file was exactly 32768 bytes (some formats).
Add the missing Backup command.
Created a Plus version which still has the |GAME, |JEUX etc commands to launch Burnin' Rubber.
Improved error handling (eg, you can Cancel a Log of a bad disc).
Improved Escape key handling (works in most places and asks for the logged disc when required).

Go to the WinAPE Web Site  (http://www.winape.net)to download the new version.

Enjoy,
Richard
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Audronic on 07:35, 26 November 15
Thanks for the New Version.
Where can I find some Docs Please


Ray
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Ast on 07:49, 26 November 15
Thanks Richard.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Executioner on 07:54, 26 November 15
Thanks for the New Version.
Where can I find some Docs Please

The following text is the updated info on the DDB/DPB. There may be a user manual somewhere on the Wiki.

ParaDOS uses a locking technique to reset the drive definitions to their default values when the CPC
gets reset. There is a slight possibility that some programs may confuse the locking system, but that
should be rare.

The lock works by placing the bytes #53 and #44 at address #BAFA and #BAFB respectively (ie.
"PD", short for ParaDOS). If these two bytes are intact, it is assumed that the bytes at addresses
#BAFC and #BAFD respectively are also intact, and these are used as the master copy of the DDB
and DPB (Drive Definition Byte and Drive Parameter Byte).

 The values that are actually used to determine the number or tracks, number of sides, default side
and stepping mode are stored in the DDB at #BAFF. The byte at #BAFE determines the format
preference for DATA, SYSTEM and IBM formats. These two bytes are copied from #BAFC and
#BAFD on reset if the lock is intact. This allows a user-defined setting to be used, which will survive
through resets as long as the lock survives (for example, type |DRIVE, and configure the drive
settings. When you reset all the settings remain intact).

The actual values for the DDB are as follows:

Drive A:
---------
bit 7 - Head use when single-sided (Normally 0)
bit 6 - Single stepping (0) or double-stepping (1).
bit 5 - Number of tracks per side (0 = 40, 1 = 80)
bit 4 - Number of sides, single-sided (0) or double-sided (1).

Drive B:
---------
bit 3 - Head use when single-sided (Normally 0)
bit 2 - Single stepping (0) or double-stepping (1).
bit 1 - Number of tracks per side (0 = 40, 1 = 80)
bit 0 - Number of sides, single-sided (0) or double-sided (1).


The DPB bits are as follows:

Bit 4 - (0) Bit 2 Selects ROMDOS D1/IBM, (1) Bit 2 Selects Vortex/PCW
Bit 3 - (0) Disable, (1)Enable Ultraform format rather than ROMDOS D10 (*Config says D1)
Bit 2 - (0) Disable, (1)Enable IBM format rather than ROMDOS D1 (*Config says D10).
Bit 1 - (0) Disable, (1)Enable extended DATA and SYSTEM formats (Electro Formats)
Bit 0 - Drive configuration (DDB) usage affected by formats. (0 = Unlocked, 1 = Locked)

Vortex, PCW (SS40) and PCW (DS80) are new to ParaDOS 1.2.

So to make a temporary change to the drive definition, poke &baff or &bafe with the new value. To
make a semi-permanent change, poke &bafd or &bafc and the corresponding byte at &baff or
&bafe. To make a permanent change, change the ROM at address #3ffe (DDB) or #3ffd (DPB). If these
values are changed, the ROM checksum at #3fff should be adjusted accordingly.

The correct default values for 40 track, single-sided drive B should be 0 and 0.

To allow 80 track, double-sided discs to be used in Drive B: use DDB=#03. Disabling Electro
formats allows 40 track, single-sided DATA and SYSTEM format discs to be used in drive B:

Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 09:56, 26 November 15
All sound awesome. I'll remake some plus cart images as soon as I get a chance.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Executioner on 10:10, 26 November 15
Where can I find some Docs Please

On the Wiki ParaDOS page there's the original manual also: ParaDOS - CPCWiki (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/ParaDOS#Manual)
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Audronic on 10:25, 26 November 15
Thanks  :)


Ray
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Kris on 11:49, 26 November 15
@Craiglist: DId you already update the Cartridge version ?
Thank you.



Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 12:01, 26 November 15
Awesome!! Thank you very much! I will update the Plus as soon as I can!!  :D
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: TFM on 20:39, 26 November 15
Support for Vortex format! Great! That's what we missed all the time! Well done!  :) :) :)


btw: How can I patch the ROM to enable Vortex by default? Is it like for the previous version (same address)?
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Executioner on 23:15, 26 November 15
btw: How can I patch the ROM to enable Vortex by default? Is it like for the previous version (same address)?

See the documentation above, I put the DPB and DDB as the last bytes in the ROM except the checksum. The bytes are at #3FFD/#3FFE and are now in the same order as the RAM_DPB/DDB at #BAFE/#BAFF, so select the format you want and copy the bytes at #BAFE/F to #FFFD/E in the ROM, then adjust the checksum.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: TFM on 23:48, 26 November 15
Great!
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 09:48, 27 November 15
@Craiglist: DId you already update the Cartridge version ?
Thank you.
Not yet. I'll hopefully do it over the weekend.

Sent from my A3-A30 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Kris on 12:48, 27 November 15
Great news !! :)


Not yet. I'll hopefully do it over the weekend.

Sent from my A3-A30 using Tapatalk
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 19:13, 27 November 15
Great news !! :)
Since my beautifully recapped a600 is mia somewhere between Bryce and me, I have an evening on the CPC ahead if me. So I will get the cart done tonight.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: TFM on 23:34, 27 November 15
Since my beautifully recapped a600 is mia somewhere between Bryce and me, I have an evening on the CPC ahead if me. So I will get the cart done tonight.


Well, I speak a prayer to the Z80 gods to keep the situation like it is.  :)  Who needs an amiga when you can have a CPC.  ;D :) :)
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 00:06, 28 November 15
Since my beautifully recapped a600 is mia somewhere between Bryce and me, I have an evening on the CPC ahead if me. So I will get the cart done tonight.

Ok It's done and works beautifully. I am so glad to see Richard was not tempted to "change the fookin colours" as I quite like them as they are ;)


ParaDOS 1.2+ on my Amstrad 4128plus - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nw7OSIssgwk)


And the CPR is attached


Edit: Added FW3.15 with Parados 1.2+ and full working Burning Rubber.
Edit2: Added one more.. this is the Megaflash patched cart with bugfixes and that initialises all 32 roms with Parados 1.2+
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 02:03, 28 November 15
I just updated with the first CPR and everything works very well! Thank you!  :-*
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 14:18, 30 November 15
I just updated with the first CPR and everything works very well! Thank you!  :-*
Excellent news, these 3 bin files currently sit in slots 0, 1 and 2 on my c4cpc.

If anyone wants or needs other keyboard language combinations with parados 1.2+, speak now lol!
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Kris on 14:22, 30 November 15
Hi Craigsbar, I need the Fr version please :)
Thank you.

@ Executionner: it seems that RAM size calculation is still wrong (I got 552Ko for 1152Ko in reality) ?

Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 15:46, 30 November 15
Hi Craigsbar, I need the Fr version please :)
Thank you.

@ Executionner: it seems that RAM size calculation is still wrong (I got 552Ko for 1152Ko in reality) ?
Which one?

Stock, fw 3.15 or patched?

Let me know and I'll do it tonight.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Kris on 16:17, 30 November 15
From my side, I would need the "stock & FW3.15" versions :)
Thank a lot
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 16:28, 30 November 15
From my side, I would need the "stock & FW3.15" versions :)
Thank a lot
OK, will have a look tonight.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Executioner on 22:59, 30 November 15
@ Executionner: it seems that RAM size calculation is still wrong (I got 552Ko for 1152Ko in reality) ?

ParaDOS can't use any more than 552K of RAM. If you have 1152K then it's not Dk'Tronics compatible.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: TFM on 23:48, 30 November 15
Hi Craigsbar, I need the Fr version please :)
Thank you.

@ Executionner: it seems that RAM size calculation is still wrong (I got 552Ko for 1152Ko in reality) ?


Shouldn't you have 1088 KB (= 512 + 512 + 64). You can check it with this tool:

ht tp://cpcwiki.eu/imgs/2/28/E-RAM_Test_2014.zip  (Delete space at beginning)


(WinApe just passed successful the 4 MB Test  :) ).
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Kris on 11:14, 02 December 15
ParaDOS can't use any more than 552K of RAM. If you have 1152K then it's not Dk'Tronics compatible.


OK thank you, I was not aware about this limitation in paraDOS.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Guy0me on 11:24, 02 December 15
Which one?

Stock, fw 3.15 or patched?

Let me know and I'll do it tonight.
Yes CraigsBar same for me too we need the Azerty release of the Parados 1.2 CPR and also the one with FW3.15  ;D thanx a lot !
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 11:28, 02 December 15
Yes CraigsBar same for me too we need the Azerty release of the Parados 1.2 CPR and also the one with FW3.15  ;D thanx a lot !
OK, I'll try to get them done tonight.I ran out of time last night trying (and failing) to remap controls for hirise.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Guy0me on 11:35, 02 December 15
OK, I'll try to get them done tonight.I ran out of time last night trying (and failing) to remap controls for hirise.
No problem take your time  ;) maybe a version without burnin'rubber too i guess it will reduce the size of the CPR and a quicker boot .. :-X
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 15:22, 02 December 15
No problem take your time  ;) maybe a version without burnin'rubber too i guess it will reduce the size of the CPR and a quicker boot .. :-X
It makes no difference to the boot time in all honesty. And what would happen to |game etc with no burning rubber..... Unless someone else works out how a different game can be added into those 5 16k romslots instead.

Sent from my A3-A30 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Guy0me on 15:58, 02 December 15
It makes no difference to the boot time in all honesty. And what would happen to |game etc with no burning rubber..... Unless someone else works out how a different game can be added into those 5 16k romslots instead.

Sent from my A3-A30 using Tapatalk
Agree there is no difference.. I was just talking about this because Gerald made some CPR with Parados1.1 with no game in it with a size of 49ko and a FR_FW315ParaDOS1.1 with a size of 65ko no game too..
I'm dreaming about a CPR with RSX |C4CPC  :P but it's another subject..
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 16:07, 02 December 15
Agree there is no difference.. I was just talking about this because Gerald made some CPR with Parados1.1 with no game in it with a size of 49ko and a FR_FW315ParaDOS1.1 with a size of 65ko no game too..
I'm dreaming about a CPR with RSX |C4CPC  :P but it's another subject..
now having |game go back to the c4cpc menu would be awesome, but not possible I guess since it needs a power cycle.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: gerald on 17:07, 02 December 15
now having |game go back to the c4cpc menu would be awesome, but not possible I guess since it needs a power cycle.
That would be possible. The power cycle is needed to reload CprSelect when you load a cartridge with it.

Agree there is no difference.. I was just talking about this because Gerald made some CPR with Parados1.1 with no game in it with a size of 49ko and a FR_FW315ParaDOS1.1 with a size of 65ko no game too..
The Stipped version (48K) still load faster than the full version (128k). Bigger is the CPR, longer is the load time. But we are talking of tenth of second  ;D
It would also be nice to strip the conversion dsk from empty tarck/sectors. This would improve loading time as well.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 01:26, 03 December 15

No problem take your time  ;) maybe a version without burnin'rubber too i guess it will reduce the size of the CPR and a quicker boot .. :-X



OK Guys, sorry for the delay, but I have done what I can... Attached here you will find.


1. French FW3.15 and Parados 1.2+ (Burning Rubber included and working with |game)
2. French Patched (32 Roms and Bug Fix) Parados 1.2+ (Burning Rubber included and working with |game)


I cannot yet do a totally stock versions with Parados 1.2+ at the moment because I cannot find a totally stock French CPR or BIN image. If anyone has one, please let me know so I can do this one too.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Guy0me on 09:36, 03 December 15
I cannot yet do a totally stock versions with Parados 1.2+ at the moment because I cannot find a totally stock French CPR or BIN image. If anyone has one, please let me know so I can do this one too.
Hello i have a Amsdos_FR_Patched.cpr if you want or a FR_Parados_1.1.cpr or a FR_FW315ParaDOS1.1.cpr if it can helps but i don't really understand what you need lol  :picard:

Anyway when i use the French FW3.15 Parados 1.2+ or even the english one CPR on Winape , it keep booting and booting all over again  ???
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: reidrac on 10:17, 03 December 15
Slightly off topic, but I didn't know ParaDOS included Burnin' Rubber.

When I was developing SPC, I was testing on WinAPE and I had a crash in my game that started Burnin' Rubber... and I can assure you that was the biggest WTF ever in my development career :laugh:

At that time I couldn't explain it. I had played the game not so long ago after watching ChinnyVision and I thought perhaps the DSK was still somewhere referenced in WinAPE... or something. Hah!
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: gerald on 19:13, 04 December 15
Updated System cartridge are available on C4CPC (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/C4CPC#System_Cartridges) page
You will find 3 archive (English/French/Spanish) of :
 - Original systems (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2+ (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2 + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2  (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
 - FW1.36 32 rom (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - FW1.36 32 rom with parados (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Guy0me on 00:49, 05 December 15
Updated System cartridge are available on C4CPC (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/C4CPC#System_Cartridges) page
You will find 3 archive (English/French/Spanish) of :
 - Original systems (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2+ (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2 + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2  (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
 - FW1.36 32 rom (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - FW1.36 32 rom with parados (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
Awesome ! Thanx Gerald
AND THE FW 1.36 does not booting all over again in winape good !
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Kris on 10:17, 05 December 15
Updated System cartridge are available on C4CPC (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/C4CPC#System_Cartridges) page
You will find 3 archive (English/French/Spanish) of :
 - Original systems (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2+ (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2 + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2  (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
 - FW1.36 32 rom (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - FW1.36 32 rom with parados (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)

You mean FW 3.16 not 1.36 ;)
THank you for this update
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: gerald on 10:44, 05 December 15

You mean FW 3.16 not 1.36 ;)
THank you for this update
Finger dislexy fixed on the Wiki  :picard:
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Executioner on 07:36, 14 December 15
I've just uploaded a new version of ParaDOS 1.2/1.2+ on WinAPE : Windows Amstrad Plus Emulator : Downloads (http://www.winape.net/downloads.jsp) which fixes the bug that stopped it working in slots 1 through 6. Not an easy fix since I had to remove a 1 byte optimisation in the ROM init code, which meant I had to find another. I found I could replace:

PUSH IY
..
..
PUSH DE
POP IY

with

..
..
PUSH DE
EX (SP),IY
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: gerald on 10:01, 14 December 15
Updated System cartridge are available on C4CPC (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/C4CPC#System_Cartridges) page
You will find 3 archive (English/French/Spanish) of :
 - Original systems (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2+ (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2 + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2  (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
 - FW1.36 32 rom (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - FW1.36 32 rom with parados (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
System cartridge updated with latest version of Parados. (but older shold be fine as parados is in slot 7)
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Executioner on 10:27, 14 December 15
System cartridge updated with latest version of Parados. (but older shold be fine as parados is in slot 7)

Thanks gerald. I'll be releasing an update WinAPE in order to update most copies. I was debating changing the version number for the bug fix.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Audronic on 10:38, 14 December 15
Thanks    :D


All working fine in Slot 6.


Ray




Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: dodogildo on 00:58, 30 December 15
Yaay,
Urban-Retro burned me the new version. He really is awesome.
(http://i.hizliresim.com/m1Gml8.jpg)
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 01:35, 16 January 16
Thanks gerald. I'll be releasing an update WinAPE in order to update most copies. I was debating changing the version number for the bug fix.
Sorry to report, I found another little bug!

With parados 1.2+ I am not able to launch CPM from ROM. With parados 1.1 it works.

I'd love a fix, either with a patch to the CPM ROM (preferable as I have made a physical Firmware 3.15 and parados 1.2+ cart now) or to parados.

Thanks

Craig
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Executioner on 23:11, 19 January 16
Where can I find the CPM ROM you are using?
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Kris on 23:37, 19 January 16

Sorry to report, I found another little bug!

With parados 1.2+ I am not able to launch CPM from ROM. With parados 1.1 it works.

I'd love a fix, either with a patch to the CPM ROM (preferable as I have made a physical Firmware 3.15 and parados 1.2+ cart now) or to parados.

Thanks

Craig


The Firmware 3.16 is avalaible as well :) ; better wait for a fixed parados and make a new ROM ;)
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 23:47, 19 January 16
Where can I find the CPM ROM you are using?
I'll grab it off the plus and attach it here later.


Edit : Attached


Oddly it works just fine with Parados 1.2 on the JustCPC. however on the 6128+ with Parados1.2+ it just hangs forever more, never loading CPM.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 00:25, 20 January 16


The Firmware 3.16 is avalaible as well :) ; better wait for a fixed parados and make a new ROM ;)
At the moment I am using 3.15 because of the silicon disc. I'll move up to 3.16 when acme-dos comes along so i can use the ide device instead.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: TFM on 23:09, 20 January 16
Where can I find the CPM ROM you are using?

A comprehensive collection for CP/M Plus on ROM and lots of applications, including my self written documentation can be found on my homepage. Or use the direct link:

http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/CPM_Plus_ROMs.zip (http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/CPM_Plus_ROMs.zip)

(English and German versions). Enjoy.  :)
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Audronic on 23:15, 20 January 16
@TFM (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=179)


Thanks for the CPM Roms for the Plus series.
Is there a link for the NON Plus machines ??


Thanks    Ray
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: TFM on 23:17, 20 January 16
@TFM (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=179)
Thanks for the CPM Roms for the Plus series.
Is there a link for the NON Plus machines ??
Thanks    Ray


The link up there? That all should work for all CPCs.  :)
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Audronic on 23:20, 20 January 16
@TFM (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=179)


Thanks i will give it a try.


Ray
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: khaz on 00:56, 19 March 16
Hi, I've been trying to use ParaDOS 1.2 on my CPC6128, with the X-MEM and a 3.5 drive. I can't seem to make it format my disc properly? The disc is 1.44MB with tape over the HD hole, the ParaDOS ROM comes from my WinAPE 2.0b2 install.

I have been able to successfully format it in all ParaDOS, ROMDOS, S-DOS, DATA (SS 40), and SYSTEM (SS 40) formats.
Trying to format to DATA (DS 40), (SS 80), (DS 80) formats it as DATA (SS 40) instead.
Trying to format to SYSTEM (DS 40), (SS 80), (DS 80) formats it as SYSTEM (SS 40) instead.
The IBM, PCW, ULTRAFORM and VORTEX formats are all formatted as ROMDOS D1 instead.

I've looked into the format setup, but I'm not sure what I'm doing. I can toggle IBM formats instead or ROMDOS but then everything previously formatted as ROMDOS D1 would be as IBM (SS 40), even the three other IBM formats (DS 40), (SS 80), (DS 80).

I don't know what to do, I must be missing something obvious.

How do I format a 3.5 disc in DATA (DS 80)? And IBM (DS 80)?
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: CraigsBar on 01:58, 19 March 16
I think these extended data and system formats are referred to as the electro formats and they are there for CPM generally. Amsdos needs parados set up to use them, which by default it is not.

For general amsdos use, use the romdos formats for 80trk DS discs.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: khaz on 02:35, 19 March 16
So all these formats need a CPC with ParaDOS to be accessed? I feel like I'm missing the point of having so many options: why would I use anything but ROMDOS if the 22 formats can only be used with ParaDOS? I wanted to make the best of my 3.5 disc while also being able to share it with a standard CPC, and I thought AMSDOS would just check the format (DATA) and use whatever space was available. What are my options to do that?

Isn't IBM format essentially FAT12? how would the ParaDOS-equipped CPC react if I fed it an MS-DOS formatted disc?
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: AMSDOS on 04:18, 19 March 16

Isn't IBM format essentially FAT12?

No, the IBM format which the CPC uses is the format used for CP/M-86, which is the 160kb I think which uses a different format from the FAT format DOS uses.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Executioner on 00:10, 21 March 16
So all these formats need a CPC with ParaDOS to be accessed?

A standard CPC with AMSDOS can only use DATA (SS40), SYSTEM (SS40) and IBM (SS40). Although ParaDOS allows you to format DATA as DS80 for example, it won't read it as 716K unless you enable Electro formats. These larger DATA/SYSTEM/IBM formats were commonly used in Australia in the '80s and '90s since we had some simple patched AMSDOS ROMs to enable the formats. If you want a standard CPC to be able to read the discs at all (from AMSDOS), I'd stick with SS40 formats.

The format I normally use for DS80 drives is ROMDOS D10 or D20 since they are detected by ParaDOS regardless of the drive configuration, but they can't be used on a normal CPC since the standard AMSDOS ROM doesn't provide for double sided drives at all.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: Executioner on 04:00, 04 April 16
Edit : Attached

Oddly it works just fine with Parados 1.2 on the JustCPC. however on the 6128+ with Parados1.2+ it just hangs forever more, never loading CPM.

The file you attached contains two ROM files, but they don't appear to be valid ROMs at all, the first 3072 bytes of each are all zeroes.
Title: Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
Post by: The_Mole_UK on 23:43, 15 August 18

• Reference:  Page 1, Post 4...
I was a bit confused by Richard's documentation, and so sought help from a friend who programs the C64 to understand it...
My version is attached...


CRC32: 720478F9
MD5: 1057394671CFA37575A8984DCF25E559
SHA-1: A3901D27D841DBD709F3C01730269C4CC060F679