- Top Stats

Top Posters Top Topic Starters Top Topics
TFM 514
ComSoft612... 290
Gryzor 282
Targhan 174
Ast 161
ComSoft612... 30
TFM 17
arnoldemu 15
Gryzor 12
Devilmarku... 11
BBS software /... - 560945 Views Octoate 21:00, 23 March 10
Arkos Tracker - 31781 Views Targhan 16:56, 20 February 10
SID tracker / ... - 26326 Views BSC 14:35, 05 November 13
SymbOS CPC upd... - 21672 Views Prodatron 00:18, 11 October 16
X-Mass Application - 20331 Views Ast 16:18, 04 March 16


Author Topic: New version of ParaDOS finally released.  (Read 9608 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kris

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 538
  • Country: fr
  • Team Impact
  • Liked: 199
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #25 on: 11:14, 02 December 15 »
ParaDOS can't use any more than 552K of RAM. If you have 1152K then it's not Dk'Tronics compatible.


OK thank you, I was not aware about this limitation in paraDOS.

Offline Guy0me

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 51
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #26 on: 11:24, 02 December 15 »
Which one?

Stock, fw 3.15 or patched?

Let me know and I'll do it tonight.
Yes CraigsBar same for me too we need the Azerty release of the Parados 1.2 CPR and also the one with FW3.15  ;D thanx a lot !

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.238
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1153
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #27 on: 11:28, 02 December 15 »
Yes CraigsBar same for me too we need the Azerty release of the Parados 1.2 CPR and also the one with FW3.15  ;D thanx a lot !
OK, I'll try to get them done tonight.I ran out of time last night trying (and failing) to remap controls for hirise.

Offline Guy0me

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 51
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #28 on: 11:35, 02 December 15 »
OK, I'll try to get them done tonight.I ran out of time last night trying (and failing) to remap controls for hirise.
No problem take your time  ;) maybe a version without burnin'rubber too i guess it will reduce the size of the CPR and a quicker boot .. :-X

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.238
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1153
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #29 on: 15:22, 02 December 15 »
No problem take your time  ;) maybe a version without burnin'rubber too i guess it will reduce the size of the CPR and a quicker boot .. :-X
It makes no difference to the boot time in all honesty. And what would happen to |game etc with no burning rubber..... Unless someone else works out how a different game can be added into those 5 16k romslots instead.

Sent from my A3-A30 using Tapatalk


Offline Guy0me

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 51
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #30 on: 15:58, 02 December 15 »
It makes no difference to the boot time in all honesty. And what would happen to |game etc with no burning rubber..... Unless someone else works out how a different game can be added into those 5 16k romslots instead.

Sent from my A3-A30 using Tapatalk
Agree there is no difference.. I was just talking about this because Gerald made some CPR with Parados1.1 with no game in it with a size of 49ko and a FR_FW315ParaDOS1.1 with a size of 65ko no game too..
I'm dreaming about a CPR with RSX |C4CPC  :P but it's another subject..

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.238
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1153
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #31 on: 16:07, 02 December 15 »
Agree there is no difference.. I was just talking about this because Gerald made some CPR with Parados1.1 with no game in it with a size of 49ko and a FR_FW315ParaDOS1.1 with a size of 65ko no game too..
I'm dreaming about a CPR with RSX |C4CPC  :P but it's another subject..
now having |game go back to the c4cpc menu would be awesome, but not possible I guess since it needs a power cycle.

Offline gerald

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.346
  • Liked: 964
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #32 on: 17:07, 02 December 15 »
now having |game go back to the c4cpc menu would be awesome, but not possible I guess since it needs a power cycle.
That would be possible. The power cycle is needed to reload CprSelect when you load a cartridge with it.

Agree there is no difference.. I was just talking about this because Gerald made some CPR with Parados1.1 with no game in it with a size of 49ko and a FR_FW315ParaDOS1.1 with a size of 65ko no game too..
The Stipped version (48K) still load faster than the full version (128k). Bigger is the CPR, longer is the load time. But we are talking of tenth of second  ;D
It would also be nice to strip the conversion dsk from empty tarck/sectors. This would improve loading time as well.

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.238
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1153
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #33 on: 01:26, 03 December 15 »

No problem take your time  ;) maybe a version without burnin'rubber too i guess it will reduce the size of the CPR and a quicker boot .. :-X



OK Guys, sorry for the delay, but I have done what I can... Attached here you will find.


1. French FW3.15 and Parados 1.2+ (Burning Rubber included and working with |game)
2. French Patched (32 Roms and Bug Fix) Parados 1.2+ (Burning Rubber included and working with |game)


I cannot yet do a totally stock versions with Parados 1.2+ at the moment because I cannot find a totally stock French CPR or BIN image. If anyone has one, please let me know so I can do this one too.
« Last Edit: 01:30, 03 December 15 by CraigsBar »

Offline Guy0me

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 51
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #34 on: 09:36, 03 December 15 »
I cannot yet do a totally stock versions with Parados 1.2+ at the moment because I cannot find a totally stock French CPR or BIN image. If anyone has one, please let me know so I can do this one too.
Hello i have a Amsdos_FR_Patched.cpr if you want or a FR_Parados_1.1.cpr or a FR_FW315ParaDOS1.1.cpr if it can helps but i don't really understand what you need lol  :picard:

Anyway when i use the French FW3.15 Parados 1.2+ or even the english one CPR on Winape , it keep booting and booting all over again  ???
« Last Edit: 11:10, 03 December 15 by Guy0me »

Offline reidrac

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 658
  • Country: gb
  • Trying to gamedev!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • usebox.net
  • Liked: 1163
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #35 on: 10:17, 03 December 15 »
Slightly off topic, but I didn't know ParaDOS included Burnin' Rubber.

When I was developing SPC, I was testing on WinAPE and I had a crash in my game that started Burnin' Rubber... and I can assure you that was the biggest WTF ever in my development career :laugh:

At that time I couldn't explain it. I had played the game not so long ago after watching ChinnyVision and I thought perhaps the DSK was still somewhere referenced in WinAPE... or something. Hah!
« Last Edit: 10:30, 03 December 15 by reidrac »
Released The Return of Traxtor, Golden Tail, Magica and The Dawn of Kernel for the CPC.

If you like my games and want to show some appreciation, you can always buy me a coffee.

Offline gerald

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.346
  • Liked: 964
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #36 on: 19:13, 04 December 15 »
Updated System cartridge are available on C4CPC page
You will find 3 archive (English/French/Spanish) of :
 - Original systems (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2+ (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2 + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2  (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
 - FW1.36 32 rom (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - FW1.36 32 rom with parados (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)

Offline Guy0me

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 51
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #37 on: 00:49, 05 December 15 »
Updated System cartridge are available on C4CPC page
You will find 3 archive (English/French/Spanish) of :
 - Original systems (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2+ (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2 + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2  (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
 - FW1.36 32 rom (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - FW1.36 32 rom with parados (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
Awesome ! Thanx Gerald
AND THE FW 1.36 does not booting all over again in winape good !
« Last Edit: 01:07, 05 December 15 by Guy0me »

Offline Kris

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 538
  • Country: fr
  • Team Impact
  • Liked: 199
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #38 on: 10:17, 05 December 15 »
Updated System cartridge are available on C4CPC page
You will find 3 archive (English/French/Spanish) of :
 - Original systems (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2+ (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2 + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2  (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
 - FW1.36 32 rom (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - FW1.36 32 rom with parados (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)

You mean FW 3.16 not 1.36 ;)
THank you for this update

Offline gerald

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.346
  • Liked: 964
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #39 on: 10:44, 05 December 15 »

You mean FW 3.16 not 1.36 ;)
THank you for this update
Finger dislexy fixed on the Wiki  :picard:

Offline Executioner

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 783
  • Country: au
  • WinAPE Developer
    • WinAPE
  • Liked: 390
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #40 on: 07:36, 14 December 15 »
I've just uploaded a new version of ParaDOS 1.2/1.2+ on WinAPE : Windows Amstrad Plus Emulator : Downloads which fixes the bug that stopped it working in slots 1 through 6. Not an easy fix since I had to remove a 1 byte optimisation in the ROM init code, which meant I had to find another. I found I could replace:

PUSH IY
..
..
PUSH DE
POP IY

with

..
..
PUSH DE
EX (SP),IY

Offline gerald

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.346
  • Liked: 964
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #41 on: 10:01, 14 December 15 »
Updated System cartridge are available on C4CPC page
You will find 3 archive (English/French/Spanish) of :
 - Original systems (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2+ (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2 + BurninRubber)
 - Original system with parados 1.2  (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
 - FW1.36 32 rom (Basic 1.1 + Amsdos + BurninRubber)
 - FW1.36 32 rom with parados (Basic 1.1 + Parados 1.2)
System cartridge updated with latest version of Parados. (but older shold be fine as parados is in slot 7)

Offline Executioner

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 783
  • Country: au
  • WinAPE Developer
    • WinAPE
  • Liked: 390
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #42 on: 10:27, 14 December 15 »
System cartridge updated with latest version of Parados. (but older shold be fine as parados is in slot 7)

Thanks gerald. I'll be releasing an update WinAPE in order to update most copies. I was debating changing the version number for the bug fix.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.183
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 267
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #43 on: 10:38, 14 December 15 »
Thanks    :D


All working fine in Slot 6.


Ray




Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline dodogildo

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 340
  • Country: tr
  • M'enfin!
  • Liked: 127
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #44 on: 00:58, 30 December 15 »
Yaay,
Urban-Retro burned me the new version. He really is awesome.


Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.238
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1153
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #45 on: 01:35, 16 January 16 »
Thanks gerald. I'll be releasing an update WinAPE in order to update most copies. I was debating changing the version number for the bug fix.
Sorry to report, I found another little bug!

With parados 1.2+ I am not able to launch CPM from ROM. With parados 1.1 it works.

I'd love a fix, either with a patch to the CPM ROM (preferable as I have made a physical Firmware 3.15 and parados 1.2+ cart now) or to parados.

Thanks

Craig

Offline Executioner

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 783
  • Country: au
  • WinAPE Developer
    • WinAPE
  • Liked: 390
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #46 on: 23:11, 19 January 16 »
Where can I find the CPM ROM you are using?

Offline Kris

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 538
  • Country: fr
  • Team Impact
  • Liked: 199
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #47 on: 23:37, 19 January 16 »

Sorry to report, I found another little bug!

With parados 1.2+ I am not able to launch CPM from ROM. With parados 1.1 it works.

I'd love a fix, either with a patch to the CPM ROM (preferable as I have made a physical Firmware 3.15 and parados 1.2+ cart now) or to parados.

Thanks

Craig


The Firmware 3.16 is avalaible as well :) ; better wait for a fixed parados and make a new ROM ;)

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.238
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1153
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #48 on: 23:47, 19 January 16 »
Where can I find the CPM ROM you are using?
I'll grab it off the plus and attach it here later.


Edit : Attached


Oddly it works just fine with Parados 1.2 on the JustCPC. however on the 6128+ with Parados1.2+ it just hangs forever more, never loading CPM.
« Last Edit: 00:21, 20 January 16 by CraigsBar »

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.238
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1153
Re: New version of ParaDOS finally released.
« Reply #49 on: 00:25, 20 January 16 »


The Firmware 3.16 is avalaible as well :) ; better wait for a fixed parados and make a new ROM ;)
At the moment I am using 3.15 because of the silicon disc. I'll move up to 3.16 when acme-dos comes along so i can use the ide device instead.