Author Topic: Telnet client for CPC  (Read 3631 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 949
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 903
Telnet client for CPC
« on: 21:11, 21 March 18 »

I put together a new and improved telnet client for use with M4 board.
It still is not perfect, but maybe useful for some, it should have no major issues with basic telnet servers. It does negotiate the screen size and filter out escape sequences (0x1B [.....).

Download directly to your CPC via:
|httpget,"spinpoint.org/telnet.bin"   (also attached here)

and run"telnet"

Type in IP or name of telnet server.
If the port is not the standard port 23, you add ":portnum" to the IP/name.
Ie. spinpoint.org:8877  or 192.168.1.1:9999

At any time you can press ESC and connect to a new telnet server.

Have fun!



Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 590
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 269
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #1 on: 21:41, 21 March 18 »
Awesome!!!  :) :) :)
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2018.08.23)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline adolfo.pa

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Country: es
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 44
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #2 on: 17:46, 22 March 18 »
Please stop making so many cool stuff! You make the rest of us look like lazy couch potatos (which we aren't, of course  ;) )

Thanks a lot!

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 590
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 269
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #3 on: 18:04, 22 March 18 »
But we are  ;D
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2018.08.23)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline adolfo.pa

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Country: es
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 44
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #4 on: 20:53, 22 March 18 »
It doesn't seem to work on my 6128+ with the latest firmware (2.0.5b1). All I get is a blank screen  :(

See @GUNHED ? I'm not that lazy. Now back to the couch  ;)

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 949
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 903
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #5 on: 21:10, 22 March 18 »
It doesn't seem to work on my 6128+ with the latest firmware (2.0.5b1). All I get is a blank screen  :(
Thanks for testing.
I was using my CPC6128+ with v2.0.5B1 to write the app.  You have a particular rom setup? or just M4 rom in slot 6?

Offline adolfo.pa

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Country: es
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 44
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #6 on: 21:22, 22 March 18 »
I had Protext in slot 8. I removed it, but still a blank screen. No other extras.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 949
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 903
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #7 on: 21:31, 22 March 18 »
I had Protext in slot 8. I removed it, but still a blank screen. No other extras.
Weird. Can you try and download it again, maybe something happened.
Works fine regardless if other roms present or not when I try. Just tested my regular CPC6128 aswell.
Even starts in WinApe.
Anyone else tried to launch it?

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 778
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 344
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #8 on: 01:18, 23 March 18 »
OMG, I was waiting for this  :o
Thanks Duke, tomorrow I'll test it.
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline miknet

  • Speccy
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 1
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #9 on: 10:38, 23 March 18 »
Hello everybody,

It works perfectly for me with the firmware version 2.0.4 with 6128
I can configure My Hp Procurve switch with my CPC  ;D .
I have only a little issue :
When I press the return, the prompt is duplicated without a line break.

Thanks Duke for your great Job !



Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 630
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 323
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #10 on: 11:22, 23 March 18 »
Hello Duke,

Telnet works great thanks (running on 2.0.5b1).

Attached is a quick screen grab of my CPC6128+ logging onto the 'Wikipedia telnet' (I pressed 'Esc' after the ASCII art intro, as it will scroll down a bit more).

Quote
telnet.wmflabs.org

The only things that would be nice for this type of session would be the ability to pause the output and resume.

I also noticed that if displaying a very large output it will lock up.

Just a side note for those searching on the Wikipedia telnet session, I noticed some searches will be case sensitive.

A perfect example search, once logged in, simply type...    Amstrad

Cheers,
Shane
 

* wikipedia-telnet.jpg
(209.7 kB, 1024x576 - viewed 435 times)


« Last Edit: 11:41, 23 March 18 by 00WReX »
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline adolfo.pa

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Country: es
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 44
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #11 on: 12:04, 23 March 18 »
@Duke Issue solved. I copied the file manually into the SD card and everything works fine.

The first time I tried I used |httpget to get it, and the resulting telnet.bin was shorter than the original one. I'll try again this evening to see if I can reproduce the problem (I'll post in the CPCWifi main thread if I find something).

Thanks!

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 949
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 903
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #12 on: 13:04, 23 March 18 »
Attached is a quick screen grab of my CPC6128+ logging onto the 'Wikipedia telnet' (I pressed 'Esc' after the ASCII art intro, as it will scroll down a bit more).

That's cool, didn't know you could telnet Wikipedia :)

Will be good for testing, when I look at the issues mentioned.

Thanks all for the feedback.

Offline adolfo.pa

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Country: es
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 44
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #13 on: 16:19, 23 March 18 »
Hey @Duke,

I just tested the thing with |httpget again and everything worked fine on the first try. So there's definitely no problem with the M4 or the telnet client; probably some one-off issue with my home network.

Thanks!

Offline Takis Kalatzis

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Liked: 18
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #14 on: 21:17, 23 March 18 »
Just used it to connect to naken.cc at port 6666, a telnet chat server. Somebody even talked to me!

That was the first time I got online with my CPC 6128, something I dreamed as I child. 30 years later, this was a moment of absolute joy. I would like to give my warmest thanks to Duke for enabling this to happen!
Best regards,

Takis
« Last Edit: 21:19, 23 March 18 by Takis Kalatzis »

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 630
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 323
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #15 on: 01:46, 24 March 18 »
Another interesting (and maybe good for testing) telnet site is 'telehack.com'.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telehack

http://telehack.com/telehack.html

Quote

Telehack

    Telehack is a simulation of a stylized arpanet/usenet, circa 1985-1990.
    It is a full multi-user simulation, including 25,000 hosts and BBS's
    from the early net, thousands of files from the era, a collection of
    adventure and IF games, a working BASIC interpreter with a library of
    programs to run, simulated historical users, and more.

Connecting
----------

On the web: http://telehack.com/

or open a shell and type

    telnet telehack.com

Telehack.com supports an open web telnet interface.  You can also telnet
directly to telehack on the regular telnet port of 23.

The following ports are also open for those, who have issues connecting:
443, 1337, 8080, 31173 (e.g. 'telnet telehack.com 443')


Special control characters:

    ctrl-C       interrupt program
    ctrl-N       next line
    ctrl-P       previous line
    ctrl-R       quick relay (requires backgrounded relay)
    ctrl-T       print system status
    ctrl-W       delete word
    (up arrow)       previous line
    (next arrow)   next line
    (tab)       autocomplete next command/file/user/host

Cheers,
Shane
« Last Edit: 01:50, 24 March 18 by 00WReX »
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 630
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 323
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #16 on: 03:14, 24 March 18 »
Just used it to connect to naken.cc at port 6666, a telnet chat server. Somebody even talked to me!

That was the first time I got online with my CPC 6128, something I dreamed as I child. 30 years later, this was a moment of absolute joy. I would like to give my warmest thanks to Duke for enabling this to happen!
Best regards,

Takis

Hey Takis, thanks for the heads up.
This morning (Saturday in Australia) I headed over to naken.cc:6666 and had a very friendly (telnet) chat with some of the guys logged in at the time.
It was a little hard as all my typed text was blind until I hit enter and it was echoed back to me.
Sometimes the messages incoming appeared a little lagged and you could see the text coming through very slowly, but overall still a cool experience from the old Amstrad.  ;)

I also thought once I had finished the chat session, that something like a session log would be really cool.
Just a thought. May not be possible.

Cheers,
Shane
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline Fedeo

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 1
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #17 on: 20:56, 24 March 18 »
Hio,
I am trying Telnet in my Plus with v2.04 and works very well. Mike from naken.cc sends greetings  ;D .
Thanks you very much Duke!

Offline angelcaio

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Country: es
  • AMSTRAD CPC-464
  • Liked: 22
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #18 on: 23:06, 24 March 18 »
I have also entered wikipedia on my 464. It's incredible. thank you very much, Duke


Enviado desde mi iPad utilizando Tapatalk

Offline Kris

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 524
  • Country: fr
  • Team Impact
  • Liked: 182
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #19 on: 13:55, 25 March 18 »
I just have a nice conversation with Mike using Telnet, it works very well.
Thank you for this nice soft !


Offline blackdalek

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: au
  • Fraser
  • Liked: 96
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #20 on: 15:03, 25 March 18 »

It was a little hard as all my typed text was blind until I hit enter and it was echoed back to me.


I haven't had a chance to look at this telnet for CPC yet, but I seem to remember from when I used to use telnet, the telnet client usually had an option to enable local echo (so you could see what you type). @Duke does your client have this feature?

Is there some kind of command like "set echo on"? I really don't remember the telnet commands.
« Last Edit: 15:27, 25 March 18 by blackdalek »
CPC6128 modded with ABBA switch. External 5.25" floppy drive with side switch and Multiface 2. Now also sporting a joystick splitter and M4 WiFi board.

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 14.532
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 2681
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #21 on: 19:09, 25 March 18 »
This is so cool. Damn.

Offline Takis Kalatzis

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Liked: 18
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #22 on: 20:58, 25 March 18 »
How difficult would it be to setup a globally accessible telnet based chat server? I used to be in a Greece based one (it was called Homecoming and was hosted in National Technical University of Athens - NTUA). It had several rooms, you could pm someone and it was really really nice. Do not know which exact software it was running but we would connect via telnet. Come on, you guys, wouldn't you like all the crazy Amstrad forum maniacs inside a chat room?

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 14.532
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 2681
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #23 on: 21:08, 25 March 18 »
If such software exists maybe (security issues pending) we could install it here?

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 949
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 903
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #24 on: 23:13, 25 March 18 »
the telnet client usually had an option to enable local echo (so you could see what you type). @Duke does your client have this feature?

Is there some kind of command like "set echo on"? I really don't remember the telnet commands.

It's possible to negotiate this with the telnet server, yes. Maybe in next release I will add an option for it.