Author Topic: Telnet client for CPC  (Read 4011 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Scautura

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 18
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #25 on: 06:59, 28 March 18 »
For reference, there is a website dedicated to old BBS style telnet servers: http://www.telnetbbsguide.com
I wonder how many of these will work on the CPC? :)
Of particular note is the Amstrad BBS: https://www.telnetbbsguide.com/bbs/amstrad-bbs/

Ports to connect being 464 (telnet), 664 (rlogin) and 6128 (SSH)!  :D
« Last Edit: 07:04, 28 March 18 by Scautura »

Offline jomicamp

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • Liked: 7
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #26 on: 01:56, 29 March 18 »
Itried typing telnet amstrad.simulant.uk 464 but it did not work...


Offline blackdalek

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: au
  • Fraser
  • Liked: 96
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #27 on: 15:23, 29 March 18 »
Itried typing telnet amstrad.simulant.uk 464 but it did not work...

Same here, yet the embedded telnet client on the page worked fine. I noticed it connects through a proxy, so perhaps we can't connect to amstrad.simulant.uk because it is geo-blocked outside of UK?
CPC6128 modded with ABBA switch. External 5.25" floppy drive with side switch and Multiface 2. Now also sporting a joystick splitter and M4 WiFi board.

Offline blackdalek

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: au
  • Fraser
  • Liked: 96
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #28 on: 15:51, 29 March 18 »
I have now given this CPC Telnet client a go. It seems to work well enough.
I'm guessing telnet servers that make use of colour or special extended ASCII characters are impossible to view?
CPC6128 modded with ABBA switch. External 5.25" floppy drive with side switch and Multiface 2. Now also sporting a joystick splitter and M4 WiFi board.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 965
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 921
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #29 on: 16:52, 29 March 18 »
Itried typing telnet amstrad.simulant.uk 464 but it did not work...

Try typing amstrad.simulant.uk:464

I could connect, but later some garbage comes out.

I'm guessing telnet servers that make use of colour or special extended ASCII characters are impossible to view?

For now these are filtered out, but yeah we got only 2 colours in 80x25 (which is a pretty good terminal window size, I think), so colours is no go.

Offline blackdalek

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: au
  • Fraser
  • Liked: 96
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #30 on: 07:03, 30 March 18 »
Try typing amstrad.simulant.uk:464

I could connect, but later some garbage comes out.

Sorry, I should have specified, when I couldn't connect by typing "telnet amstrad.simulant.uk 464" I was referring to using a different telnet client on linux, not using your CPC telnet client :)
I assumed jomicamp was also trying with a different client given the way he structured his command.

Using the CPC, I WAS able to connect with your client Duke, but then, as you said, I got garbage characters appear and couldn't do anything.

It's great app so far and I've found several BBS it works well with for simple text based MUD games :D
CPC6128 modded with ABBA switch. External 5.25" floppy drive with side switch and Multiface 2. Now also sporting a joystick splitter and M4 WiFi board.

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 800
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 362
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #31 on: 01:37, 01 April 18 »
At last some time to test it.
Chat with Mike, telnet my BBS and Pi, also wiki was great indeed.
What's up with the scrolling there, how can I pause it?


Thanks Duke.


Video coming soon...
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 800
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 362
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #32 on: 16:34, 01 April 18 »



I will upload the video at night as it is 600+ MB.
I managed to join irc with this painful method thoug
h.



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSYPMDwLtVA
« Last Edit: 16:36, 01 April 18 by VincentGR »
To blit, or not to blit?
Amiga 1200 Black Project

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 800
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 362
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #33 on: 01:39, 02 April 18 »

Offline reidrac

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 632
  • Country: gb
  • Trying to gamedev!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • usebox.net
  • Liked: 1113
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #34 on: 17:44, 02 April 18 »
Nice one @Duke !

I tried to connect to http://bbs.fozztexx.com/ and this client doesn't seem to work as expected because I think it is sending CR LF and the server expects only CR (perhaps?).

The server is new and experimental, so it could be also a problem on their side. Could it be possible to configure few things on the client? For example: only send CRs.

Thanks for this!
Released The Return of Traxtor, Golden Tail, Magica and The Dawn of Kernel for the CPC.

If you like my games and want to show some appreciation, you can always buy me a coffee.

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 965
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 921
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #35 on: 18:17, 02 April 18 »
I will check it out, thanks.
For now it's very crude, but with all the links mentioned in this thread I have plenty to test with next time I find a day to work on it.

I tried to connect to http://bbs.fozztexx.com/ and this client doesn't seem to work as expected because I think it is sending CR LF and the server expects only CR (perhaps?).

The server is new and experimental, so it could be also a problem on their side. Could it be possible to configure few things on the client? For example: only send CRs.

Online Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 14.693
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 2768
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #36 on: 10:30, 07 April 18 »
Thanks for sharing that video, really cool :) Bonus points for the Venus The Flytrap soundtrack :D

Offline Vyper68

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Country: gb
  • 8-Bit Forever! - You know it makes sense
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 94
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #37 on: 14:54, 09 April 18 »
Hi,

My 2.0.4 Board on my 6128 run's this Telnet software OK, i can access the Wiki Telnet page as a test.
Paul Woakes - Genius & Programmer

Thank you for Mercenary Paul

Offline Vyper68

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Country: gb
  • 8-Bit Forever! - You know it makes sense
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 94
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #38 on: 21:11, 09 April 18 »
I have to confess Telnet passed me by at the time. I did dabble with Compunet on the C64 but that didn't last long when my Dad got the Phone bill  :D .
Is there some specific Amstrad "sites" to have a look at and how does the whole chat thing work? i can remember logging into Compunet and being in a chat room. I imagine it's like that.
Paul Woakes - Genius & Programmer

Thank you for Mercenary Paul

Offline ukmarkh

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.363
  • Country: england
    • Classic Replay
  • Liked: 286
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #39 on: 04:28, 29 May 18 »
When using telnet, does anyone else get a black screen... I noticed someone below mentioned they had a problem a while back, did this ever get resolved?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline adolfo.pa

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Country: es
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 53
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #40 on: 10:46, 29 May 18 »
When using telnet, does anyone else get a black screen... I noticed someone below mentioned they had a problem a while back, did this ever get resolved?
I had the same problem, and I fixed it by copying the file manually into the SD card. In my first attempt, I had downloaded the client into the M4 using |httpget, and the resulting telnet.bin file was missing some bytes. I didn't investigate it further, so no idea what happened there.

Offline ukmarkh

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.363
  • Country: england
    • Classic Replay
  • Liked: 286
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #41 on: 21:36, 30 May 18 »
I had the same problem, and I fixed it by copying the file manually into the SD card. In my first attempt, I had downloaded the client into the M4 using |httpget, and the resulting telnet.bin file was missing some bytes. I didn't investigate it further, so no idea what happened there.

That worked! Thank you, I played a good game of chess online, very basic looking, but highly intense once you understand the controls, unfortunately unranked as couldn’t work out how to sign up.

The StarTrek and official Amstrad boards still work, but not on my 6128 Plus. Please recommend gaming and news boards 🤪

Anyone got R-Type 128k working on the M4 board yet?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline simulant

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: gb
    • Amstrad BBS
  • Liked: 7
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #42 on: 22:37, 03 August 18 »
How difficult would it be to setup a globally accessible telnet based chat server? I used to be in a Greece based one (it was called Homecoming and was hosted in National Technical University of Athens - NTUA). It had several rooms, you could pm someone and it was really really nice. Do not know which exact software it was running but we would connect via telnet. Come on, you guys, wouldn't you like all the crazy Amstrad forum maniacs inside a chat room?
Hi we do already have IRC and BBS chat on our Amstrad dedicated BBS. Though as some other users have already mentioned the BBS doesn't seem to work yet with Duke's telnet client. I've logged on successfully with it but sometimes it won't display anything, sometimes it displays some menus or intro text (such as the login and user setup), and other times the menus go completely bonkers. A few times it crashed my CPC too. I'm going to try it on my 6128 PLUS next. On Amstrad NC200, PPC640 and other Amstrads the BBS does work really well. Also on linux and on my Amiga 1200 too. So I think it is just down to Duke's telnet client needing further work, features and testing. It is awesome he even made it in the first place with little time to spare! I'm sure he'll improve it when he gets more time...

Currently users have accessed the Amstrad BBS with Pace RS232 and other hardware/software - but to use it on the M4 would be fantastic for a lot of users.
So what we really need next is an ANSI BBS terminal package or more fully featured telnet client to get everything working that works with the M4 board.
I did hope to try work on one myself but haven't had much time and also I've not done much Amstrad coding (other than when I was 8 out of the back of Amstrad Action etc!!).
Great work though Duke, if you get a chance to test with the Amstrad BBS at amstrad.simulant.uk:464 let me know, I can always help with anything you need to know or hopefully aid in debugging etc.
It would be great if you could github the source code and open up the project for more work, or if we could all get together and get a new ANSI BBS client that works with the M4 set up between us all. The possibilities are exciting with online chat, message boards, file uploads and downloads, sending email through the BBS, online gaming and such :)
--
Another thought that may be easier is if a driver for the m4 could be made to emulate the pace rs232 connection. So when you load Ansiterm / EwenTerm / Honeyview / Honeyterm or other existing Terminal emulators that are already out there on CPC, they think the wifi connection is the serial connection? Then software from back in the day could be used to logon to the BBSes with the M4? How cool would that be???!

 
« Last Edit: 08:40, 04 August 18 by simulant »

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 965
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 921
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #43 on: 08:45, 04 August 18 »
It would be great if you could github the source code and open up the project for more work
I will give the source a quick clean next week and put it up.

Quote
Another thought that may be easier is if a driver for the m4 could be made to emulate the pace rs232 connection.
I don't think it will be straight forward to do, but I'll take a look.

Offline simulant

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: gb
    • Amstrad BBS
  • Liked: 7
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #44 on: 09:31, 04 August 18 »
I will give the source a quick clean next week and put it up.
I don't think it will be straight forward to do, but I'll take a look.
Great thanks Duke :)

I also found a little way down this page: https://www.genesis8bit.fr/frontend/misc.php
A zip file called cpcip020.zip which might help for reference...

 
Quote
CPC/IP v0.20, a TCP/IP stack for Amstrad CPCs. Includes: - An Amstrad/Pace serial interface driver - A CPC Amstrad Int'l serial interface driver - A loopback driver - A SLIP layer - A PPP layer - IP and ICMP layers (so can be pinged) - UDP and TCP layers - A resolver - A DNS server - A TFTP server, write-only - An HTTP/0.9 server - A ping client - A host client - A finger client - A telnet client - Source
« Last Edit: 09:33, 04 August 18 by simulant »

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 965
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 921
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #45 on: 07:44, 07 August 18 »
Here is the source code for the super simple basic telnet client:
https://github.com/M4Duke/M4examples/blob/master/telnet.s

Feel free to use for whatever you wish. Would be great if someone improves on it.. Otherwise I will have to re-visit it some day.

Edit:
Added some ANSI escape codes + you can press TAB to pause and  TAB again to resume.
« Last Edit: 13:10, 07 August 18 by Duke »

Offline simulant

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: gb
    • Amstrad BBS
  • Liked: 7
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #46 on: 17:31, 07 August 18 »
Here is the source code for the super simple basic telnet client:
https://github.com/M4Duke/M4examples/blob/master/telnet.s

Feel free to use for whatever you wish. Would be great if someone improves on it.. Otherwise I will have to re-visit it some day.

Edit:
Added some ANSI escape codes + you can press TAB to pause and  TAB again to resume.
That's really cool :)
The new version is giving me a "Type mismatch error" when I try and run it at the moment...
Great that you've put the source up, much appreciated!

Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 965
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 921
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #47 on: 18:57, 07 August 18 »
The new version is giving me a "Type mismatch error" when I try and run it at the moment...
Oups, I uploaded the binary without amsdos header  :doh: Fixed now.

It still struggles with your server, I think there is some negotiation going bad :)

Offline simulant

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: gb
    • Amstrad BBS
  • Liked: 7
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #48 on: 14:19, 23 September 18 »
Oups, I uploaded the binary without amsdos header  :doh: Fixed now.

It still struggles with your server, I think there is some negotiation going bad :)
hmm I might see if Prodatron / SymbiosiS can help (maybe a long shot?) but the SymbOS "SymTel" telnet client works great so they may be able to help with the negotiation?


Offline robcfg

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 2.021
  • Country: se
  • 8-Bit Technomancer
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 864
Re: Telnet client for CPC
« Reply #49 on: 15:52, 23 September 18 »
Not that of a long shot.


It can take a bit though, because he's usually quite busy.


Let's try summoning @Prodatron !