CPCWiki forum

General Category => Applications => Topic started by: SOS on 07:53, 08 September 16

Title: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS+M4DOS+CubeIOS
Post by: SOS on 07:53, 08 September 16
Puhhh, this was a long-hard-way, but i think YANCC for ACMEDOS, M4DOS and AMSDOS is stable enough to introduce a public beta-version to the forum.
YANCC exist only as a ROM-Version, so you need a ROM-Board...
What should i say about the program, if you don't know what "norton commander" is, then i think, you dont need this program ;-)

Please read the TXT there are additional Infos inside, especially the warning section for ACMEDOS is important!
I will put new versions in the 1st post. Please take a look, which ACMEDOS-/M4DOS/CubeIOS-Version is required, if you don't have the correct version, YANCC maybe will not be run.
Please post your suggestions, when you found a bug (reproduceable?) or whatever in this thread.

Future-Plans:
- More features for the launcher


Added 20.09.16: XMASS 0.8P
Added 22.09.16: Added new Version ("A"-Key fixed + BASIC-Config to prevent YANCC constitutes colors)
Added 11.02.17: Added new Version 100217b with M4DOS-Support and the new Filelauncher-Module
Added 22.04.17: Added new Version 140417b with M4DOS-Floppy Support, fixes prev. reported YANCC-Crashes (i hope so :blank:) and more
Added 12.02.18: Added new Version 110218b with the M4-Floppy-Fix + Support of my upcoming FAT32-ROM.
Added 23.03.18: Added new Version 130318b with Bugfixes
Added 15.04.18: Added new Version 140418b with LowerROM-Fix, considered latest CubeIOS-Version
 
------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: TotO on 10:25, 08 September 16
Great news!  8)

Is-it just possible that YANCC not set (or allow to change) the colour palette to keep the "white on blue" CP/M style adopted by the FW3.1x?
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: SOS on 10:33, 08 September 16
Is-it just possible that YANCC not set (or allow to change) the colour palette to keep the "white on blue" CP/M style adopted by the FW3.1x?
Nearly impossible  :P


I will wait some days to collect the suggestions.
I don't know at the moment, how will i release that, another 2 Versions?  :picard:

Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: Duke on 11:23, 08 September 16
I don't know at the moment, how will i release that, another 2 Versions?  :picard:
Have a config file maybe ? :)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: SOS on 11:32, 08 September 16
Have a config file maybe ? :)
Was my 1st idea, but i dont want to skip the plain AMSDOS-Users.
I think, i will refresh my BASIC-knowledge and will try a "Config-Construction-Kit" and then modify directly the ROM.BIN-File.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: TotO on 11:41, 08 September 16
So, don't set any colour into your ROM and let the user chose what is good for him (default or x-mass booting file)  ;D
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: SOS on 11:44, 08 September 16
So, don't set any colour into your ROM and let the user chose what is good for him (default or x-mass booting file)  ;D
And how get I this mega-cool-colours on my CPC, when I boot directly into YANCC?  ;)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: TotO on 11:47, 08 September 16
In a future version (may be 0.80) at start we plane to RUN a BASIC file named something like AUTOBOOT.BAS / AUTORUN.BAS if found into the ROOT.
Because it is more powerfull than all BAT systems existing on PC... And everybody know how to do.  8)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: Bryce on 11:52, 08 September 16
My first PC (on which I used NC) had an amber screen, so the current colours are almost perfect for me :)

Bryce.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: TotO on 11:59, 08 September 16
Amber was more dark red and orange than black and yellow.  ;D
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: Gryzor on 13:58, 08 September 16
This is interesting, always loved NC (these days I use Directory Opus, so...), and I bet it's a charm to work with from ROM!


I just wish -apart from the colourse- that more space was available for the actual listings...
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: Bryce on 14:04, 08 September 16
Amber was more dark red and orange than black and yellow.  ;D

Yeah, but the current colours are closer than black/white or other colour choices.

Bryce.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: TotO on 14:16, 08 September 16
Hehe. ;)
Personally, all my "basic" tools only set the screen mode. I refuse to force the user colours choice for a tool.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: SOS on 09:58, 20 September 16
I just wish -apart from the colourse- that more space was available for the actual listings...

The next version will be have a basic-config, to supress the colour-set
and bugfix of the "a"-Key (thanks to Audronic).
(i need more time to test the version, i changed a little bit too much in the last days.... >:( )

More space, yes, but the screen-size is limited  :P (do someone have a 720p/1080p solution?  ;) )
Some restrictions for the display-layout: I will not change: The Keys + Status line on the last two rows.
So, I will take a look, after the M4-Version about more space, but this will take a lot of months (next year)

I've forgot: Added the XMASS0.8P in the first post.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: TFM on 18:45, 21 September 16
Great work!!!  :) :) :)  No complaints!  :)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: SOS on 09:31, 22 September 16
The next version will be have a basic-config, to supress the colour-set
and bugfix of the "a"-Key (thanks to Audronic).
(i need more time to test the version, i changed a little bit too much in the last days.... >:( )
New version in the 1st post.
I hope, no new errors introduced...  ::)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: SOS on 18:15, 26 September 16
Bug found :o :
You can't copy something from the DOM to the floppies.
Locally fixed in the actual trunk, but i can't release it easy (lot of reconstructions).
Fix follows (please PM me when needed shortly).

Thanks to Audronic!  :)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: zhulien on 15:19, 21 January 17
it will be a sweet day when acmedos, amsdos, hcx sd card readers, x-mass, m4, x-mem, y-mem and all others work together as one... along with YANC
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: SOS on 16:45, 21 January 17
it will be a sweet day when acmedos, amsdos, hcx sd card readers, x-mass, m4, x-mem, y-mem and all others work together as one... along with YANC
thanks,

acmedos+amsdos+x-mass already functional.
hxc at the moment only with the hxc-rom, but maybe i take a look, if it's integrateable
M4 is in Alpha-State, i hope to release it this month.
Memory-Extensions? YANCC supports 64KB or 80KB, why needed more?
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: RockRiver on 12:32, 27 January 17
Thanks! for your great YANCC, SOS

You know that BonnyDOS Rom Extra #1 with the help of PARAdos Rom can read FAT12 floppies?

|fget  |fput  |fcat  |fdel  |dcopy  |copyd

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/BonnyDOS (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/BonnyDOS)

My sweet dream: YANCC with FAT12 floppy disk support and BFS16 format (bonnydos) HDD support. The last because these handycaps: ACMEDOS has the 128MB limit, (sig!  :-[ ) and X-mass has 8bit transfer (only?)

[Yes I'm Symbiface user (I will test that with YANCC and ACMEDOS). BonnyDOS support 2GB partitions HDD on AMSDOS, yeahhh!!! ]
[What a pity! that winAPE doesn't support BFS16 format HDD images. That would help to research that too]

Maybe BonnyDOS work and ROMs could help for that...
[I wish fat16/fat32 16bit transfer HDD, Memory Card or similar in Amsdos or similar for all CPC people; maybe M4 or X-mass allow that in a future]
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: SOS on 13:25, 27 January 17
My sweet dream: YANCC with FAT12 floppy disk support and BFS16 format (bonnydos) HDD support.

Sadly, two big problems I would see:
- My power - It was a very exhausting leaching work to add the M4-Compatibility to YANCC.
  At the Moment, i don't see, that i will do that again (with the next DOS).
  (and it's not helpful, that WinApe doesn't support BFS16)
- The bigger Problem: BDOS is not supported anymore(?).
  In both development lines "YANCC for ACMEDOS" & "YANCC for M4" i found enough problems/Errors in the DOS-Roms.
  So ACMEDOS+M4 are not critical, because Duke + SyX are great guys and do the bugfixing.
  But, what happens, if i found a problematic problem with BDOS?

So (at the moment) sadly i must say "no BDOS Support is planned"

...

Memory Card (you mean RAM-Drive?!), hmmmm.... needed? you have a fast DOM/SD-Card with ACMEDOS/M4.
(what is the classic RAM-Drive-ROM for ACMEDOS+M4?)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: RockRiver on 13:41, 27 January 17
OK man. There are a few BDOS (bonny) users, I understand. I like your Great Work!!!

On the other side. SD and FAT12: I mean SD or similar card sorry (memory  card)...
My critical question: * Nowadays M4 (or X-mass) works as a real FAT16/32 HDD on AMSDOS/acmeDOS/SymbOS ?
                                * PC-->CPC with (SD card, DOM, CF, IDE, HDD...) transfer only allowed with M4 or not yet?

And I will test FAT12 flopies with that BonnyDOS extra ROM and YANCC, maybe works???  ::)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: SOS on 14:03, 27 January 17
My critical question: * Nowadays M4 (or X-mass) works as a real FAT16/32 HDD on AMSDOS/acmeDOS/SymbOS ?
M4/Acmedos works like a Drive-Letter (M4=>"A:"  Acmedos=>"D:").

                                * PC-->CPC with (SD card, DOM, CF, IDE, HDD...) transfer only allowed with M4 or not yet?
At the Moment, only the Transfer with the M4-Card is reproduceable.
(and maybe when you use SymbOS with an IDE-Device, but i doesnt use SymbOS)

And I will test FAT12 flopies with that BonnyDOS extra ROM and YANCC, maybe works???  ::)
I think BonnyDOS will not work, when you have a lot of luck, YANCC can handle BonnyDOS like a Floppy (but without Change-Dir, Make-Dir).
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: RockRiver on 14:53, 27 January 17
Thanks for your kind answers, mate!
At the Moment, only the Transfer with the M4-Card is reproduceable.
(and maybe when you use SymbOS with an IDE-Device, but i doesnt use SymbOS)
Yeah, SymbOS & BonnyDOS allow transfer (with symbiface) [BDOS on X-mass ?? only 8bit-trans?] .
SymbOS on Win/Symb side and BDOS on Ms-DOS/AMSDOS side.

I was asking for news about new interfaces, and yes FAT16 on AMSDOS (acmeDOS really, maybe M4DOS).

Sorry the OffTopic; but I think is related to. [I'm thinking about to buy M4 and/or X-mass board]

Back on YANCC:
I will make research on FAT12 floppy disks with BDOS roms and YANCC and report you.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: Ast on 15:06, 07 February 17
@Sos : i installed all files in my xmem (acmedos 0.8p, firm 3.16 and firm 3.16 exp) and it seems that your yancc doesn't work correctly.


My problem :


All drives are detected (a/b/d) but, when i made some tranfert a or b to d, all files copied are crushed.


So, i've decided to Try to save some files manually to see what's happening.


Save"toto.bas -> save basic file "toto.bas into d
Save"toto.scr",b,&c000,&4000 -> save binary file "toto.scr into d
Save"toto -> seems to save an ascii file événements it was a basic file ta The beginning... (what's wrong?)


You need to add ".bas" to save a basic file...


I put acmedos in slot 2 and yancc in slot 3. CAN you please Help me?





Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: SOS on 15:34, 07 February 17
@Sos : i installed all files in my xmem (acmedos 0.8p, firm 3.16 and firm 3.16 exp) and it seems that your yancc doesn't work correctly.

Could you reproduce that in WinApe?

All drives are detected (a/b/d) but, when i made some tranfert a or b to d, all files copied are crushed.
You mean e.g. A copied to D, NOT D copied to A (there is a bug present, corrected in the next coming Version).


Save"toto.bas -> save basic file "toto.bas into d
Save"toto.scr",b,&c000,&4000 -> save binary file "toto.scr into d
Save"toto -> seems to save an ascii file événements it was a basic file ta The beginning... (what's wrong?)
You need to add ".bas" to save a basic file...

When I'm type in in BASIC:
10 print
save"toto"
yes, the file was saved without BAS-Extension, this belongs to ACMEDOS

Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: Ast on 15:58, 07 February 17
Could you reproduce that in WinApe?
Sorry but i only use my own cpc6128. When i wrote it doesn't work correctly, that means on originals hardware...
so sorry i don't know.
You mean e.g. A copied to D, NOT D copied to A (there is a bug present, corrected in the next coming Version).
 
I mean transfert files from drive a or b (original floppy drive in A or Gotek in B) to d (xmass)


Concerning the save function it doesn't work correctly. Without the ".bas" the saved file is empty.

Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: SOS on 16:24, 07 February 17
ok, understand.
I will test it next weekend and give you feedback.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
Post by: wilco2009 on 22:16, 07 February 17
I'm trying to configure the program as not bootable, but always boot automatically when the computer boot.


I have a M4 board.


Is there a bug in the program or I amd doing something wrong?
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 20:38, 11 February 17
I'm trying to configure the program as not bootable, but always boot automatically when the computer boot.
I have a M4 board.
Is there a bug in the program or I amd doing something wrong?
I've uploaded the M4-Version today, please test it.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: wilco2009 on 00:36, 12 February 17
I've uploaded the M4-Version today, please test it.


Now is working.  :) :) :)


The program is perfect to run together with M4 board. I like it.


Thankyou very much.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: Skunkfish on 12:00, 12 February 17
I've just been having a play with these on my M4 this morning, they're both awesome tools.

I used YANCC to copy a .DSK file from the root directory into a subfolder. This worked fine but seems to be a very slow process taking a couple of minutes. Is that working as expected or is there a way to make it faster?

Thanks.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 12:07, 12 February 17
I used YANCC to copy a .DSK file from the root directory into a subfolder. This worked fine but seems to be a very slow process taking a couple of minutes. Is that working as expected or is there a way to make it faster?
Yes, it's working as expected but i planned to speedup this.
But it's on my list after "Floppy-Support for M4" & "Extended Launcher-Features".
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: Jungsi on 12:26, 12 February 17
I'am not sure if I've missed that feature - if not maybe it's possible ;-)


I have a pile of 3'' disks wich I would like to archive. Is there a tool to create a *.dsk from the disk and store it directly on the M4?
Maybe with YANCC?
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 14:54, 12 February 17
I have a pile of 3'' disks wich I would like to archive. Is there a tool to create a *.dsk from the disk and store it directly on the M4?
Maybe with YANCC?
Maybe i will check this next year   :( I have a big enough todo-list

@zhulien (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=58)
Cartridge port-Support: Never, i dont have a plus-machine.
Native-HXC-Support: Definitely I'll check that, maybe successful ?!
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: Joseman on 14:25, 13 February 17
Hi @SOS (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=941)

Good utility!! it's very promising for use with M4

Things i see with this release:

-mkdir command: it doesn't allow lowercase letters, i like to make directories with uppercase and lowercase names (m4 allows to do and display it!).

-erase command: it doesn't ask for confirmation to delete!!

-it's possible to have YANCC as normal utility? (not rom), as some games that do call &BCCB hang if YANCC is installed  :-[

-i think that joystick control is a good option to enter directories and execute files without use of keyboard
 
Keep the good work!!
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 15:44, 13 February 17
-mkdir command: it doesn't allow lowercase letters, i like to make directories with uppercase and lowercase names (m4 allows to do and display it!).
Ok, i will check this.
-erase command: it doesn't ask for confirmation to delete!!
It's a Feature!!
Please say "yes" in the Config-BASIC-Program, for the question "Comfort-Version".

-it's possible to have YANCC as normal utility? (not rom), as some games that do call &BCCB hang if YANCC is installed  :-[
Not-ROM-Version, sadly, it's impossible.
When you doesn't select autoboot from the ROM, so please, give me an info, which games hung with BCCB (should not be!).
If you select autoboot on M4: Please do not so, and use autoexec.bas, on ACMEDOS: No Chance, you must live with it :(

-i think that joystick control is a good option to enter directories and execute files without use of keyboard
 
hmmm....
My todo-list is big enough, i think "no", sorry
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: Jwood79 on 22:09, 23 February 17
This all looks very exciting but I think I'm missing something (sorry - bit of a noob).  Am struggling to get yancc to detect any other drives other than my M4?


I'm running m4 2.01 (rom number 6) on a 6128.  No other roms running.


Yancc rom in slot 2
Launcher rom in slot 15.


Have I missed something obvious?



Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 00:09, 24 February 17
Am struggling to get yancc to detect any other drives other than my M4?
Do you mean your floppy-drives?
I'm working on it - local on my dev-CPC the drives detected as C+D without problems, but i introduce a new error ???
I think (hope) that I can release a new version in the next month, but at the moment I'm very busy with my job.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: Jwood79 on 00:23, 24 February 17
Yes, I have |a (internal) and |b (fd-1). 

No rush. Day job needs to be done! I'm just happy yancc exists! :-)

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: XeNoMoRPH on 13:37, 15 March 17
Hi!! ,  i'm new with this program and don't works for me , with M4 Board sorry  :o

Yancc rom in slot 1
Launcher rom in slot 9

when i typed : |YANCC or |LAUNCH , CPC always reset ...

this is my M4 Romset screenshot:

(http://webs.ono.com/xenomorph/romset.png)(http://bkn.byethost16.com/imagen/romset.png)

(http://webs.ono.com/xenomorph/romset.png)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 13:53, 15 March 17
Yancc rom in slot 1
Launcher rom in slot 9

when i typed : |YANCC or |LAUNCH , CPC always reset ...

Strange....

You have installed the actual "YANCC100217b" version, not an older one?
Did you execute the BASIC file "config.bas"?
If Yes, how do you answered the questions about "Autostart YANCC" / "Autostart Launcher"?
=>
Please execute the config.bas and answer both questions with "No" and burn the new "YANCC-CO.ROM"-file.
What happens? Can you execute |YANCC & |LAUNCH?
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: XeNoMoRPH on 14:47, 15 March 17
Strange....

You have installed the actual "YANCC100217b" version, not an older one?
Did you execute the BASIC file "config.bas"?
If Yes, how do you answered the questions about "Autostart YANCC" / "Autostart Launcher"?
=>
Please execute the config.bas and answer both questions with "No" and burn the new "YANCC-CO.ROM"-file.
What happens? Can you execute |YANCC & |LAUNCH?

i execute config.bas with "NO Autostart YANCC" and  "NO Autostart Launcher" then ..

" ... save YANCC-CO.ROM successful , so burn them ... "

But i don't see that new file YANCC-CO.ROM ... ?  :doh:

(http://bkn.byethost16.com/imagen/captura.png)

EDIT: ok .. DSK it's only read mode ...

i put all files on a floppy disk and generate YANCC-CO.ROM , then with this M4 Command , |romup , " YANCC-CO.ROM " , 1 ...rom is setup on slot 1 , but same result , CPC is Always Reset when i type |YANCC & or |LAUNCH in basic
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 15:35, 15 March 17
Ok, i will check this in the next days
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: XeNoMoRPH on 19:45, 15 March 17
Ok, i will check this in the next days

Thx , maybe it's my fault  :'(

EDIT : now works .. yeeeha , thx :)
 
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 20:22, 16 March 17
I can't reproduce that.

Next Version:
I'm using some System Memory, in some rare circumstances i have problems with that
(this case looks a little bit equal).
In the next Version i'm using some other Memory, maybe some problems disappears.
Some other user PM me, with other mysterious problems....  ::)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 12:54, 22 April 17
when i typed : |YANCC or |LAUNCH , CPC always reset ...
Added new version in the 1st post.

Changelog:
- Change of memory usage, so maybe some none reproduceable problems are solved
- Making Space for features, now you need everytime install both ROMs
  (without autoboot you can choose any rom-number, e.g. Launcher on 8, YANCC on 15)
- M4DOS: Floppy-Access (as drive C+D)
- M4DOS: MKDIR: Support of lower chars.
- AMSDOS+M4DOS: The copy of big-files (approx fro 35KB to 64KB) are boring slow (CAS_IN/OUT_CHAR speedup).
- AMSDOS+M4DOS(when AMSDOS present): 1:1 Copy of Fileheader
- Copy of protected binaries
- Small fixes
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: merlinkv on 00:25, 02 October 17
Hi,

I've made some FDD drives tests with the lastest versions of YANCC & LAUNCH on my CPC6128:

With M4 Board:

- One FDD as drive A. I can read it, but the CPC reboot when I try to copy files from<=> to M4-FDD
- Two FDDs. I can readn only A, but copy from<=>to M4-FDD also don't work

Of course, with |m4romoff the two drives works fine.

With X-MEM & X-MASS:


YANCC works perfect with two FDDs connected and I can copy fles from<=>to X-MASS/FDDs without problems.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 07:57, 02 October 17
hmmm  :(
I will check it, but need some time (my CPC has no monitor at the moment).
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: francouai on 10:16, 17 January 18
thanks SOS for your great software.
How can be loaded a .DSK file when I have to type ùCPM ?
perhaps to use a pre configured short cut key on your sw?
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 11:21, 17 January 18
How can be loaded a .DSK file when I have to type ùCPM ?
perhaps to use a pre configured short cut key on your sw?
At the Moment i have no Access to the M4-Board.
Is it actual possible (without my software) that you |CD into the DSK and then |CPM starts the (CPM-)Program in the DSK-Image?!
If yes, i will set a shortcut-key to my todolist.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: zhulien on 18:32, 08 February 18
hi, does anyone know where to download the ACMEDOS rom from?
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 21:34, 08 February 18
hi, does anyone know where to download the ACMEDOS rom from?
Yes, see first post "xmass08P.zip".
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: zhulien on 10:53, 09 February 18
Thanks
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: SOS on 09:58, 12 February 18
With M4 Board:
- One FDD as drive A. I can read it, but the CPC reboot when I try to copy files from<=> to M4-FDD
- Two FDDs. I can readn only A, but copy from<=>to M4-FDD also don't work

Please test the new version.


How can be loaded a .DSK file when I have to type ùCPM ?
perhaps to use a pre configured short cut key on your sw?

I check the M4, it doesn't Support |CPM from a DSK-File (it loads from the floppy).
When M4 Support |CPM from a DSK, i will add them.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS + M4DOS
Post by: merlinkv on 22:57, 16 March 18
Thank a lot SOS,

I will try ASAP.  :)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS+M4DOS+CubeIOS
Post by: SOS on 01:08, 23 March 18
New Version, changelog:
130318b
- Fixed Unwanted starts of YANCC during Warm-Reset (e. g. „Monty on the Run“)
- In rare circumstances, some files are copied empty.
- In rare circumstances, the ROM-Init of YANCC makes nonsense...  (e.g. in "12 Lost Souls")
- CubeIOS bugfix
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS+M4DOS+CubeIOS
Post by: MissionComplete on 19:33, 27 March 18
Great work, SOS!!

Especially the launcher works fine for me and is VERY comfortable. Congratulations.

My problem is with Yancc (last version 130318b).

I use M4 Board in a 6128, with the lower rom modified by Duke for more compatibility with games, in slot 31. Yancc rom is in slot 1 and launcher in slot 15 (Amdos in slot 8 and Parados in 7, M4 in 6).

When I type 3 or 4 (C or D, I have 2 FDD), I can't see the inside of the disks, but a folder called M4. To see the software in the disks, I have to delete the lower rom and let empty the slot 31. Then your software works fine and I can copy files between drives. But a lot of games are not compatible with this configuration of roms, sadly.

Is there any configuration to work with disks in Yancc and having the modified rom of Duke as lower rom?

Thank you!!
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS+M4DOS+CubeIOS
Post by: SOS on 21:21, 27 March 18
Is there any configuration to work with disks in Yancc and having the modified rom of Duke as lower rom?
I will test this (will take a few days).
When i can reproduce that, i bet i can patch this.
(if i have problems with replication, i will send you a PM for assistance)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS+M4DOS+CubeIOS
Post by: MissionComplete on 22:32, 31 March 18
I will test this (will take a few days).

@SOS (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=941)

I think the problem is that the lower rom modified by Duke disables all drives except the sd, precisely in order to improve compatibility for games whome call the floppy. So, this is the unfortunated dilemma: more compatibility for games or visibility to manage files.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS+M4DOS+CubeIOS
Post by: SOS on 18:52, 01 April 18
I think the problem is that the lower rom modified by Duke disables all drives except the sd, precisely in order to improve compatibility for games whome call the floppy. So, this is the unfortunated dilemma: more compatibility for games or visibility to manage files.
You can install AMSDOS e.g. in ROM 8, so you have still Floppy-Access.

It was a medium-good idea to hardcode AMSDOS to ROM 7 in YANCC   :picard: -> in the RC of the next version i've changed that (works in your configuration), but i will test a similar configuration with CubeIOS, if the floppies are still accessable.
(i think approx 2-3 Week?!)
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS+M4DOS+CubeIOS
Post by: MissionComplete on 13:47, 02 April 18
You can install AMSDOS e.g. in ROM 8, so you have still Floppy-Access.


I have indeed AMSDOS in slot 8, but it looks like YANCC doesn't know it.

Thanks for the support and, again, congratulations for the wonderful software.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS+M4DOS+CubeIOS
Post by: SOS on 13:15, 15 April 18
I have indeed AMSDOS in slot 8, but it looks like YANCC doesn't know it.

Please check the new version, problem should be solved.
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS+M4DOS+CubeIOS
Post by: MissionComplete on 16:10, 02 June 18
Please check the new version, problem should be solved.
It works perfectly!!! Thanks. Now I can use the drives to copy files between them.
Sorry for the delay, but I was the las two months only with 464 an now I have my 6128 again.
Just a detail. In the changelog txt you say "Floppies not detected, when AMSDOS <> ROM 7". In muy case, it works with AMSDOS in ROM 8, not 7.
Thanks again!!!  ;D
Title: Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS+M4DOS+CubeIOS
Post by: SOS on 21:04, 02 June 18
In the changelog txt you say "Floppies not detected, when AMSDOS <> ROM 7". In muy case, it works with AMSDOS in ROM 8, not 7.
This is what i changed: "Floppies not detected, when AMSDOS <> ROM 7"

AMSDOS in ROM 8 is a very good choice...