- Top Stats

Top Posters Top Topic Starters Top Topics
TFM 514
ComSoft612... 323
Gryzor 290
Targhan 174
Ast 161
ComSoft612... 42
TFM 17
arnoldemu 15
Gryzor 12
Devilmarku... 11
BBS software /... - 561610 Views Octoate 21:00, 23 March 10
Arkos Tracker - 32208 Views Targhan 16:56, 20 February 10
SID tracker / ... - 26878 Views BSC 14:35, 05 November 13
SymbOS CPC upd... - 22258 Views Prodatron 00:18, 11 October 16
X-Mass Application - 20903 Views Ast 16:18, 04 March 16


Author Topic: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone (YANCC) for ACMEDOS+M4DOS+CubeIOS  (Read 18595 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 278
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 184
  • Likes Given: 167
Puhhh, this was a long-hard-way, but i think YANCC for ACMEDOS, M4DOS and AMSDOS is stable enough to introduce a public beta-version to the forum.
YANCC exist only as a ROM-Version, so you need a ROM-Board...
What should i say about the program, if you don't know what "norton commander" is, then i think, you dont need this program ;-)

Please read the TXT there are additional Infos inside, especially the warning section for ACMEDOS is important!
I will put new versions in the 1st post. Please take a look, which ACMEDOS-/M4DOS/CubeIOS-Version is required, if you don't have the correct version, YANCC maybe will not be run.
Please post your suggestions, when you found a bug (reproduceable?) or whatever in this thread.

Future-Plans:
- More features for the launcher


Added 20.09.16: XMASS 0.8P
Added 22.09.16: Added new Version ("A"-Key fixed + BASIC-Config to prevent YANCC constitutes colors)
Added 11.02.17: Added new Version 100217b with M4DOS-Support and the new Filelauncher-Module
Added 22.04.17: Added new Version 140417b with M4DOS-Floppy Support, fixes prev. reported YANCC-Crashes (i hope so :blank:) and more
Added 12.02.18: Added new Version 110218b with the M4-Floppy-Fix + Support of my upcoming FAT32-ROM.
Added 23.03.18: Added new Version 130318b with Bugfixes
Added 15.04.18: Added new Version 140418b with LowerROM-Fix, considered latest CubeIOS-Version
 
------------------------------------------------------------------
« Last Edit: 12:49, 15 April 18 by SOS »

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.296
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2511
  • Likes Given: 1474
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #1 on: 10:25, 08 September 16 »
Great news!  8)

Is-it just possible that YANCC not set (or allow to change) the colour palette to keep the "white on blue" CP/M style adopted by the FW3.1x?
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 278
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 184
  • Likes Given: 167
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #2 on: 10:33, 08 September 16 »
Is-it just possible that YANCC not set (or allow to change) the colour palette to keep the "white on blue" CP/M style adopted by the FW3.1x?
Nearly impossible  :P


I will wait some days to collect the suggestions.
I don't know at the moment, how will i release that, another 2 Versions?  :picard:


Offline Duke

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.083
  • Country: dk
    • spinpoint.org
  • Liked: 1153
  • Likes Given: 819
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #3 on: 11:23, 08 September 16 »
I don't know at the moment, how will i release that, another 2 Versions?  :picard:
Have a config file maybe ? :)

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 278
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 184
  • Likes Given: 167
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #4 on: 11:32, 08 September 16 »
Have a config file maybe ? :)
Was my 1st idea, but i dont want to skip the plain AMSDOS-Users.
I think, i will refresh my BASIC-knowledge and will try a "Config-Construction-Kit" and then modify directly the ROM.BIN-File.

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.296
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2511
  • Likes Given: 1474
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #5 on: 11:41, 08 September 16 »
So, don't set any colour into your ROM and let the user chose what is good for him (default or x-mass booting file)  ;D
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 278
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 184
  • Likes Given: 167
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #6 on: 11:44, 08 September 16 »
So, don't set any colour into your ROM and let the user chose what is good for him (default or x-mass booting file)  ;D
And how get I this mega-cool-colours on my CPC, when I boot directly into YANCC?  ;)

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.296
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2511
  • Likes Given: 1474
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #7 on: 11:47, 08 September 16 »
In a future version (may be 0.80) at start we plane to RUN a BASIC file named something like AUTOBOOT.BAS / AUTORUN.BAS if found into the ROOT.
Because it is more powerfull than all BAT systems existing on PC... And everybody know how to do.  8)
« Last Edit: 11:50, 08 September 16 by TotO »
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.806
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3774
  • Likes Given: 390
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #8 on: 11:52, 08 September 16 »
My first PC (on which I used NC) had an amber screen, so the current colours are almost perfect for me :)

Bryce.

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.296
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2511
  • Likes Given: 1474
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #9 on: 11:59, 08 September 16 »
Amber was more dark red and orange than black and yellow.  ;D
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 14.873
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 2882
  • Likes Given: 4976
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #10 on: 13:58, 08 September 16 »
This is interesting, always loved NC (these days I use Directory Opus, so...), and I bet it's a charm to work with from ROM!


I just wish -apart from the colourse- that more space was available for the actual listings...

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.806
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3774
  • Likes Given: 390
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #11 on: 14:04, 08 September 16 »
Amber was more dark red and orange than black and yellow.  ;D

Yeah, but the current colours are closer than black/white or other colour choices.

Bryce.

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.296
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2511
  • Likes Given: 1474
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #12 on: 14:16, 08 September 16 »
Hehe. ;)
Personally, all my "basic" tools only set the screen mode. I refuse to force the user colours choice for a tool.
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 278
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 184
  • Likes Given: 167
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #13 on: 09:58, 20 September 16 »
I just wish -apart from the colourse- that more space was available for the actual listings...

The next version will be have a basic-config, to supress the colour-set
and bugfix of the "a"-Key (thanks to Audronic).
(i need more time to test the version, i changed a little bit too much in the last days.... >:( )

More space, yes, but the screen-size is limited  :P (do someone have a 720p/1080p solution?  ;) )
Some restrictions for the display-layout: I will not change: The Keys + Status line on the last two rows.
So, I will take a look, after the M4-Version about more space, but this will take a lot of months (next year)

I've forgot: Added the XMASS0.8P in the first post.
« Last Edit: 10:05, 20 September 16 by SOS »

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
  • Liked: 1977
  • Likes Given: 4650
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #14 on: 18:45, 21 September 16 »
Great work!!!  :) :) :)  No complaints!  :)
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 278
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 184
  • Likes Given: 167
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #15 on: 09:31, 22 September 16 »
The next version will be have a basic-config, to supress the colour-set
and bugfix of the "a"-Key (thanks to Audronic).
(i need more time to test the version, i changed a little bit too much in the last days.... >:( )
New version in the 1st post.
I hope, no new errors introduced...  ::)

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 278
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 184
  • Likes Given: 167
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #16 on: 18:15, 26 September 16 »
Bug found :o :
You can't copy something from the DOM to the floppies.
Locally fixed in the actual trunk, but i can't release it easy (lot of reconstructions).
Fix follows (please PM me when needed shortly).

Thanks to Audronic!  :)

Offline zhulien

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 377
  • Country: au
    • 8bitology
  • Liked: 166
  • Likes Given: 93
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #17 on: 15:19, 21 January 17 »
it will be a sweet day when acmedos, amsdos, hcx sd card readers, x-mass, m4, x-mem, y-mem and all others work together as one... along with YANC

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 278
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 184
  • Likes Given: 167
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #18 on: 16:45, 21 January 17 »
it will be a sweet day when acmedos, amsdos, hcx sd card readers, x-mass, m4, x-mem, y-mem and all others work together as one... along with YANC
thanks,

acmedos+amsdos+x-mass already functional.
hxc at the moment only with the hxc-rom, but maybe i take a look, if it's integrateable
M4 is in Alpha-State, i hope to release it this month.
Memory-Extensions? YANCC supports 64KB or 80KB, why needed more?

Offline RockRiver

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • Country: aq
  • Liked: 13
  • Likes Given: 44
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #19 on: 12:32, 27 January 17 »
Thanks! for your great YANCC, SOS

You know that BonnyDOS Rom Extra #1 with the help of PARAdos Rom can read FAT12 floppies?

|fget  |fput  |fcat  |fdel  |dcopy  |copyd

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/BonnyDOS

My sweet dream: YANCC with FAT12 floppy disk support and BFS16 format (bonnydos) HDD support. The last because these handycaps: ACMEDOS has the 128MB limit, (sig!  :-[ ) and X-mass has 8bit transfer (only?)

[Yes I'm Symbiface user (I will test that with YANCC and ACMEDOS). BonnyDOS support 2GB partitions HDD on AMSDOS, yeahhh!!! ]
[What a pity! that winAPE doesn't support BFS16 format HDD images. That would help to research that too]

Maybe BonnyDOS work and ROMs could help for that...
[I wish fat16/fat32 16bit transfer HDD, Memory Card or similar in Amsdos or similar for all CPC people; maybe M4 or X-mass allow that in a future]
« Last Edit: 13:01, 27 January 17 by RockRiver »

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 278
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 184
  • Likes Given: 167
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #20 on: 13:25, 27 January 17 »
My sweet dream: YANCC with FAT12 floppy disk support and BFS16 format (bonnydos) HDD support.

Sadly, two big problems I would see:
- My power - It was a very exhausting leaching work to add the M4-Compatibility to YANCC.
  At the Moment, i don't see, that i will do that again (with the next DOS).
  (and it's not helpful, that WinApe doesn't support BFS16)
- The bigger Problem: BDOS is not supported anymore(?).
  In both development lines "YANCC for ACMEDOS" & "YANCC for M4" i found enough problems/Errors in the DOS-Roms.
  So ACMEDOS+M4 are not critical, because Duke + SyX are great guys and do the bugfixing.
  But, what happens, if i found a problematic problem with BDOS?

So (at the moment) sadly i must say "no BDOS Support is planned"

...

Memory Card (you mean RAM-Drive?!), hmmmm.... needed? you have a fast DOM/SD-Card with ACMEDOS/M4.
(what is the classic RAM-Drive-ROM for ACMEDOS+M4?)

Offline RockRiver

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • Country: aq
  • Liked: 13
  • Likes Given: 44
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #21 on: 13:41, 27 January 17 »
OK man. There are a few BDOS (bonny) users, I understand. I like your Great Work!!!

On the other side. SD and FAT12: I mean SD or similar card sorry (memory  card)...
My critical question: * Nowadays M4 (or X-mass) works as a real FAT16/32 HDD on AMSDOS/acmeDOS/SymbOS ?
                                * PC-->CPC with (SD card, DOM, CF, IDE, HDD...) transfer only allowed with M4 or not yet?

And I will test FAT12 flopies with that BonnyDOS extra ROM and YANCC, maybe works???  ::)

Offline SOS

  • Supporter
  • CPC6128
  • *
  • Posts: 278
  • Country: de
  • Identity lost
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 184
  • Likes Given: 167
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #22 on: 14:03, 27 January 17 »
My critical question: * Nowadays M4 (or X-mass) works as a real FAT16/32 HDD on AMSDOS/acmeDOS/SymbOS ?
M4/Acmedos works like a Drive-Letter (M4=>"A:"  Acmedos=>"D:").
  • M4DOS requires M4-Hardware (SD-Card as storage) and needed AMSDOS or can be standalone without AMSDOS.
    It doesn't run at the same time with Acmedos. Acmedos can't work with the M4-SD-Card.
  • Acmedos requires an IDE-Interface like the X-Mass or the Symbiface-Hardware (M4DOS can't work with an IDE-Port)

                                * PC-->CPC with (SD card, DOM, CF, IDE, HDD...) transfer only allowed with M4 or not yet?
At the Moment, only the Transfer with the M4-Card is reproduceable.
(and maybe when you use SymbOS with an IDE-Device, but i doesnt use SymbOS)

And I will test FAT12 flopies with that BonnyDOS extra ROM and YANCC, maybe works???  ::)
I think BonnyDOS will not work, when you have a lot of luck, YANCC can handle BonnyDOS like a Floppy (but without Change-Dir, Make-Dir).

Offline RockRiver

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • Country: aq
  • Liked: 13
  • Likes Given: 44
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #23 on: 14:53, 27 January 17 »
Thanks for your kind answers, mate!
At the Moment, only the Transfer with the M4-Card is reproduceable.
(and maybe when you use SymbOS with an IDE-Device, but i doesnt use SymbOS)
Yeah, SymbOS & BonnyDOS allow transfer (with symbiface) [BDOS on X-mass ?? only 8bit-trans?] .
SymbOS on Win/Symb side and BDOS on Ms-DOS/AMSDOS side.

I was asking for news about new interfaces, and yes FAT16 on AMSDOS (acmeDOS really, maybe M4DOS).

Sorry the OffTopic; but I think is related to. [I'm thinking about to buy M4 and/or X-mass board]

Back on YANCC:
I will make research on FAT12 floppy disks with BDOS roms and YANCC and report you.
« Last Edit: 15:11, 27 January 17 by RockRiver »

Offline Ast

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 954
  • Country: fr
    • Amstrad cpc Website of Ast/iMPACT
  • Liked: 691
  • Likes Given: 659
Re: Yet Another Norton-Commander Clone
« Reply #24 on: 15:06, 07 February 17 »
@Sos : i installed all files in my xmem (acmedos 0.8p, firm 3.16 and firm 3.16 exp) and it seems that your yancc doesn't work correctly.


My problem :


All drives are detected (a/b/d) but, when i made some tranfert a or b to d, all files copied are crushed.


So, i've decided to Try to save some files manually to see what's happening.


Save"toto.bas -> save basic file "toto.bas into d
Save"toto.scr",b,&c000,&4000 -> save binary file "toto.scr into d
Save"toto -> seems to save an ascii file événements it was a basic file ta The beginning... (what's wrong?)


You need to add ".bas" to save a basic file...


I put acmedos in slot 2 and yancc in slot 3. CAN you please Help me?





_____________________

Ast/iMP4CT. "By the power of Grayskull, i've the power"


Amstrad Plus French Forum

All friends are welcomed !