CPCWiki forum

General Category => CPCWiki Discussion => Topic started by: Gryzor on 12:56, 22 May 18

Title: testing empty lines
Post by: Gryzor on 12:56, 22 May 18
This is a test


Just left an empty line


Here's another one


...and another.
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Bryce on 15:00, 22 May 18
There
are
empty

lines

between
these
words.
With a space at the end of the line it leaves an empty row, enter directly after the word causes the forum to remove the empty row.

Bryce.
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Gryzor on 15:01, 22 May 18
OS,


browser


and version?
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Bryce on 15:02, 22 May 18
Firefox 60.0.1 64bit.
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Gryzor on 15:07, 22 May 18
This is me typing
From 61.0b6
64bit
On Windows 10.
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Gryzor on 15:07, 22 May 18
Confirmed, a FF turd.
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Gryzor on 15:15, 22 May 18
testing
one
two

three
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Gryzor on 15:15, 22 May 18
Yup, it cancels the first empty line. Not much I can do...
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Bryce on 15:19, 22 May 18
Open a ticket with FireFox? :)

Bryce.
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Gryzor on 15:21, 22 May 18
Oh yes that'll do it. The one ticket I've ever opened with them ended in a sort-of-flame.


From what I see (not a FF user) there used to be an option to tweak Return behavior, but from what I see now the option is gone. Not sure if I can wade through a shitton of flags...
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Bryce on 15:55, 22 May 18
All tweaks should still be available under about:config

Bryce.
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Gryzor on 16:07, 22 May 18
Yup, saw that much, that was the shitton I was referring to.
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Gryzor on 16:09, 22 May 18
Found

something

that sounds like it
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Gryzor on 16:09, 22 May 18
Yup, try editor.use_div_for_default_newlines .

Thanks for making me do that.
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Bryce on 16:59, 22 May 18
You're welcome :D

Bryce.
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Bryce on 17:00, 01 June 18
Seems to be only an issue on this Forum. I tested this on the EEVBlog which even uses the same Forum software and the issue doesn't occur.

Bryce. (now hitting enter twice every time).
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: Gryzor on 17:14, 01 June 18
Well, no setting has anything to do with it, it's not something I can, erm, set. No idea which version EEV uses that could have something do with an obscure setting of a specific version of a single browser. I tried looking around, there are no references to it unfortunately...


Btw, does it happen in the Quick Reply editor and/or full editor?
Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: GUNHED on 17:18, 01 June 18
Testing Win7 (64 bit) and Chrome...
There was no empty line


Up there is one single empty line...




And now we just had two empty lines :)

Title: Re: testing empty lines
Post by: GUNHED on 17:19, 01 June 18
Testing Win7 (64 bit) and Chrome...
There was no empty line


Up there is one single empty line...




And now we just had two empty lines :)


As we see, one empty line becomes... two! And two become four.