News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Video Modes - RGB

Started by sigh, 21:31, 01 April 11

Previous topic - Next topic

redbox

Quote from: hal 6128 on 20:03, 06 May 11
I'm a technical newbie and just an old-generation cpc user. But... how is it possible to create a sprite with 15 colors in mode 2/1. (Is it the ability to use more RAM for storing color informations?) What are the technical difference between plus and old?

Hardware sprites are a feature of the Plus.  There are 16 of them and they are 16x16 in size.  They do take up more space (256 bytes) than a 'normal' sprite (128 bytes).

You modify them by paging in the ASIC.  You can alter their magnification so they can look like they are Mode 0, 1 or 2 irrespective of the actual screen Mode behind them.

MacDeath

As I told you, the HardSprites are independent from the normal Display (video modes).

It is a "second layer" applied on the normal screen by some additionnal components inside the ASIC.

HAL6128

I'm curious and maybe a stupid question. Is it possible to make the same with the old-gen CPCs if I integrate an additional CRTC and monitior I/O (combine both original and new signals) via expansion port?
...proudly supported Schnapps Demo, Pentomino and NQ-Music-Disc with GFX

MacDeath

Well, perhaps with an external Video card... :-\
Not sure if this would be fast enough though.

sigh

I was just looking at Pang youtube. I think it's using mode 1 with the 16 colour hardware sprites as the backgrounds seem to be split into 3 different sections using 4 colours and rasters.

arnoldemu

Quote from: sigh on 18:33, 10 May 11
I was just looking at Pang youtube. I think it's using mode 1 with the 16 colour hardware sprites as the backgrounds seem to be split into 3 different sections using 4 colours and rasters.
I have already checked this one.

It's using mode 0 for backgrounds.
It uses the screen split of the plus to do the panel at the bottom.