CPCWiki forum

General Category => Emulators => Topic started by: OffseT on 21:43, 17 July 16

Title: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 21:43, 17 July 16
Ok guys. Since Push'n'Pop died, I finally created an account here to post news about ACE.
I know that you are mainly about PeeCee and that ACE is not really your cup of tea, but I need to post news somewhere. ;D

So, ACE 1.12 is finally released after being delayed for quite a long time.

This new version fixes some issues in CRTC emulation (mostly on CRTC 0/2 since CRTC 1/3/4 are already almost perfect  8) ). It also extends the plugins API and comes with new plugins for mice and joysticks.

More details about ACE on the dedicated web page.


http://ace.cpcscene.net (http://ace.cpcscene.net/)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: CraigsBar on 02:31, 18 July 16
Will definitely be grabbing this tomorrow. Thanks @OffseT (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1826) ;)


Edit: Downloaded and installed... Ever better, this is without doubt the best Amstrad Emulator on any platform.


I'd love to see Arnold for OSX match this, and I am sure it will get there. but right now it's not there yet.


Thanks @OffseT (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1826) and keep up the good work @arnoldemu (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=122) :)

Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: roudoudou on 10:16, 18 July 16
I know that you are mainly about PeeCee and that ACE is not really your cup of tea, but I need to post news somewhere. ;D


Maybe you see the following post from Kevin about acid testing: amstrad cpc "acid" test (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/emulators/amstrad-cpc-'acid'-test/)


It would be nice to share all limit cases you told me about  :P


Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: arnoldemu on 10:48, 18 July 16
@OffseT (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1826): Yes I hope I already tested some of these limit cases but if there are some I missed please tell me about them and I will add a test.
I can tell you if the limit case is already tested and the name of the program to run to see it.
I have tested a lot of things but I have probably missed something.

All the tests I made and published have been run on the following setups: GX4000, 464Plus, 6128Plus, 464 (type 0, tall keys), 464 (type 4), 6128 type 0, 6128 type 1, 6128 type 2, KC Compact.
+ I also tested some hardware devices I have: X-MASS, X-MEM, PlayCity, Symbiface 2, Amram 2, Dobbertin ROM board.

Ace has always been the emulator which people say is the best because of it's higher accuracy and compatibility. I can't run it myself but I have asked Craig to run some tests :)

The name "acid" tests comes from the html acid test. e.g. http://acid3.acidtests.org/ (http://acid3.acidtests.org/)
It means to thoroughly test features. In our case to thoroughly test the hardware of cpc and plus so that the accuracy of emulators can be confirmed and to highlight and show limits and features of our machines so that they can be used (or worked around) in demos and games :)

Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 20:17, 18 July 16
Ok. I didn't know about this acid test (I don't read forums very often).
I'll run it and I'll fix what might be wrong in ACE asap!


That's a very good idea to try to gather this kind of tests. I'll let you know if I have some additional stuff I could provide you
(I guess Roudoudou was thinking about some timing tests for I/O ASIC register page).

I don't know if ACE is that accurate. Well, at least for me it is not accurate enough. :P
Anyway, last time I checked Arnold and WinAPE, ACE was better at almost every stage. ;)
(I cannot check on a regular base because I don't have any PC at home)

Now, the good news is that Arnold and WinAPE are still being improved, and that some other good emulators are on the way for PC users.
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: TFM on 20:20, 18 July 16
Welcome OffseT, nice to read from you again.  :)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: arnoldemu on 21:00, 18 July 16

Now, the good news is that Arnold and WinAPE are still being improved, and that some other good emulators are on the way for PC users.
Arnold's accuracy has improved a lot but It doesn't pass the tests 100%.


Feel free to ask questions about the tests. Please put the questions in the thread about them :)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: Gryzor on 17:40, 08 August 16
Glad to see some news - the more, the merrier. Even though I still have a MorphOS machine on my to-do list...
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: Skunkfish on 19:24, 08 August 16
Can MorphOS run on WinUAE? I believe it's possible to run AmigaOS4 now?
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: roudoudou on 21:49, 08 August 16
Morphos is not a free software  :(
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 19:26, 21 August 16
MorphOS is a commercial operating system and cannot be run emulated.
Anyway, it is free to download and install on any supported machine (the trial version is limited to 30 minutes sessions).


The goal of ACE never was to be widely spread; I just wanted a proper the best CPC emulator on the machine I have at home. 8)
On PC you already have Arnold and WinAPE which are good and still being improved.

Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: CraigsBar on 23:05, 21 August 16
MorphOS is a commercial operating system and cannot be run emulated.
Anyway, it is free to download and install on any supported machine (the trial version is limited to 30 minutes sessions).


The goal of ACE never was to be widely spread; I just wanted a proper the best CPC emulator on the machine I have at home. 8)
On PC you already have Arnold and WinAPE which are good and still being improved.
ACE is in my opinion the best emulator on *any* platform. It's a shame I am probably the only one who gets to appreciate it. Thanks for your continued work on ACE it is awesome.
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: TFM on 02:14, 22 August 16
On PC you already have Arnold and WinAPE which are good and still being improved.


You forget JavaCPC, which is in few ways more precise than all other emulators.  :)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 00:46, 23 August 16

ACE is in my opinion the best emulator on *any* platform. It's a shame I am probably the only one who gets to appreciate it. Thanks for your continued work on ACE it is awesome.


Thank you very much! ;D
Anyway, there are more users than you think!


You forget JavaCPC, which is in few ways more precise than all other emulators.  :)


Sorry, I don't know much about PeeCee. :P
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: TFM on 00:47, 23 August 16

Sorry, I don't know much about PeeCee. :P


Yeah, they're not that important anyways.  :laugh:
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: Skunkfish on 14:49, 23 August 16
Planning an emulator round-up for issue 2 of my fanzine, I'm assuming a Mac Mini G4 and trial MorphOS is the cheapest way to get thus emu up and running?
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: CraigsBar on 15:11, 23 August 16
Planning an emulator round-up for issue 2 of my fanzine, I'm assuming a Mac Mini G4 and trial MorphOS is the cheapest way to get thus emu up and running?
Yep, sure is. It's best if you get a g4 "silent upgrade" Mac mini. But the 1.42ghz is OK too.
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 22:03, 07 November 16
ACE 1.13 is available.
This version comes with numerous small improvements related to usage for crossdev (thanks Krusty for the advices).
 
It also fixes several small bugs (mainly in MUI code) and introduces some minor improvements in the emulation engine (thanks to Kevin Thacker test suite). Finally, it also includes internal reworks to improve portability and 64-bits support.

http://ace.cpcscene.net/fr:downloads (http://ace.cpcscene.net/fr:downloads)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: CraigsBar on 22:39, 27 November 16
I've been playing with my vampire 600 v2 recently so have not tried thus new release yet. But I guess it will be awesome
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: CraigsBar on 16:27, 02 January 17
Played with this latest release in preparation for the Amiga event in 3 weeks time. All working beautifully.
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 22:10, 09 March 17
Hey there!

Just a few words to let you know that ACE 1.14 is released. 8)
A lot of improvements, including CRTC 0 now as good as CRTC 1/3/4, reworked GUI, updated German translation, new icons, new features...

More details about ACE on the dedicated web page.
http://ace.cpcscene.net (http://ace.cpcscene.net/)

Still for MorphOS only, but internals were also improved to ease a future AmigaOS port.
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 17:10, 19 February 18
Hi there!

ACE 1.15 is released. :o
A lot of improvements, including real time video recording, extensive symbols handling, clipboard support and a bunch of new stuff...

More details about ACE on the dedicated web page.
http://ace.cpcscene.net (http://ace.cpcscene.net/)

Still for MorphOS only, sorry guys! :P
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: DanyPPC on 21:58, 19 February 18
I own a MacMini G4 with dual OS (MacOS/MorphOS) installed, and i think ACE is the best Amstrad CPC/CPC+ emulator i have tested and used on an Amiga compatible platform.


Great work !  ;)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: Skunkfish on 12:15, 20 February 18
Planning to pick up a PowerPC Mac Mini this week and looking forward to trying out this emulator finally!
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 12:11, 25 February 18
Additionally, I published the source code of a small tool which can be used to convert ACE video recordings (AREC files) and then encode them (thru ffmpeg) in your preferred format.


Here it is: ace-arec2raw (http://ace.cpcscene.net/en:downloads#ace-arec2raw)


It is the POSIX compatible version of the tool already provided for MorphOS with ACE. The goal is mainly to be able to use a big fat PeeCee to do the durty encoding job instead of injuring your little MorphOS machine.  ;D
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 13:13, 19 March 18
ACE 1.16 released. 8)


What new?

Grab it there:.
http://ace.cpcscene.net (http://ace.cpcscene.net/)

Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 20:02, 08 September 18
I forgot to mention that...
ACE 1.17 was released 8)

It is new, it is nice; you need it!

Grab it there:
http://ace.cpcscene.net (http://ace.cpcscene.net/)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: DanyPPC on 00:37, 09 September 18
Downloaded and installed under MorphOS 3.11 on macmini. That' great, as always !
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 20:44, 20 March 19
Feel free to download ACE 1.18 now! 8)

This version includes various GUI improvements, as well as new plugins (for more light guns), optimized speed, and more.

[/size]It's always free, just use your mouse to click there:[size=78%]
http://ace.cpcscene.net (http://ace.cpcscene.net/)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 19:10, 12 July 19
ACE 1.19 is ready; I am looking for a few additional beta testers before the release.
Ping me if you wanna be the first ones to check this new version of the best emulator ever. :)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 20:56, 17 September 19
In a truly unbelievable event, the best emulator became even better!


:o   ACE 1.19 is out!   :o


Lot of exciting new stuff, but here are the main ones:

Heaven is just here: http://ace.cpcscene.net (http://ace.cpcscene.net) 8)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: Ast on 21:49, 17 September 19
C’est bien beau tout ça mais à quand une version Windows ??
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: roudoudou on 08:46, 18 September 19
  • Added support for up to 4096K expansion RAM (compatible with MemCard 2M and CPC4MB).
  • Added support for new snapshot chunks MX??, so that up to 4160K can be stored.
HiSo....   How many MX chunks? Starting from 00 or 01 ?I will add support for Rasm in the next release :-*
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 18:37, 18 September 19
HiSo....   How many MX chunks? Starting from 00 or 01 ?I will add support for Rasm in the next release :-*

MX?? chunks are following MEM0-8 chunks. They are numbered from 09 to 40 (hexadecimal numbering).
Information are stored compressed like in MEM0-8 chunks.

I wanted to add this description to the snapshot CPCWiki page (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/Snapshot), but my password was lost and password recovery do not work!

C’est bien beau tout ça mais à quand une version Windows ??

Ça représente une quantité de travail très conséquente et il y a déjà de bons émulateurs sous Windows, ça n'est donc pas une priorité pour le moment. ;)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: PhilZeVibe on 17:07, 19 September 19
MX?? chunks are following MEM0-8 chunks. They are numbered from 09 to 40 (hexadecimal numbering).
Information are stored compressed like in MEM0-8 chunks.

I wanted to add this description to the snapshot CPCWiki page (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/Snapshot), but my password was lost and password recovery do not work!
Done!
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: roudoudou on 14:14, 11 October 19
Done!

MX09 to MX40 i counted 55 slots of 64K -> 3520K
plus MEM0-8 -> 9 slots of 64K -> 576K
total 4096K, not 4160K so i guess some 4M extension are not really 4M or we cannot use the last page of 64K because of IO adressing


Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: PhilZeVibe on 16:53, 11 October 19
MX09 to MX40 i counted 55 slots of 64K -> 3520K
From MX09 to MX40 included, there are 56 slots, not 55 slots ;)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: roudoudou on 18:22, 11 October 19
From MX09 to MX40 included, there are 56 slots, not 55 slots ;)
rhaaaaaaaaaaa, i forgot the 09 in fact when counting  :o
thank you
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: roudoudou on 09:57, 15 November 19
Hey guys




It's cool to extend snapshot memory over 512K but what about the snapshot ram configuration still a 8 bits value in the header  :D 



Let me know when it's done (for rasm integration)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: megachur on 09:58, 16 November 19
Someone can send me (or post here) snapshot wih Xtra memory sna made with ACE for implemting it on my CPC emulator and test purpose  ;D ?
Thanks in advance !  :D
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: roudoudou on 09:26, 17 November 19
Someone can send me (or post here) snapshot wih Xtra memory sna made with ACE for implemting it on my CPC emulator and test purpose  ;D ?
Thanks in advance !  :D
Here is a snapshot (with an animation)Offset told me it works with ACE
If you use with Winape the animation will stop quickly as there is only 512K read and 3.5M free occuring blank screens before it loops again
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: roudoudou on 10:19, 17 November 19
I made another one in mode 0 (probably better visual result, can't say)
Title: Re: ACE CPC Emulator, only Amiga makes it possible?
Post by: OffseT on 19:13, 22 November 19
I confirm, 4MB snapshots from rasm are correctly supporting the new MX?? chunks introduced by ACE. 8)