Author Topic: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?  (Read 8455 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shaun M. Neary

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.346
  • Country: 00
  • Read error a
  • Liked: 461
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #100 on: 01:37, 19 November 15 »
I think the best we can do is donate a modernish Mac mini to @arnoldemu. A core2duo will still run Mavericks, Yosemite or ElCapitan right?


Or he can give me instructions and I'll be the crash dummy! My term finished today, I've fuck all to do for the next eight weeks! xD

Offline arnoldemu

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 5.331
  • Country: gb
    • Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource
  • Liked: 2233
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #101 on: 19:32, 19 November 15 »
I think the best we can do is donate a modernish Mac mini to @arnoldemu. A core2duo will still run Mavericks, Yosemite or ElCapitan right?
I would happily accept the lowest spec intel mac mini that would allow me to visit the app store install xcode and the command-line tools and build wxwidgets and arnold. Lower spec also means I can easily see performance problems when they happen.

Shaun is helping but it's much easier if I could use one myself.
My games. My Games
My website with coding examples: Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource

Offline chinnyhill10

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.317
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 675
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #102 on: 19:39, 19 November 15 »
I would happily accept the lowest spec intel mac mini that would allow me to visit the app store install xcode and the command-line tools and build wxwidgets and arnold. Lower spec also means I can easily see performance problems when they happen.

Shaun is helping but it's much easier if I could use one myself.


Could we crowdfund it? Actually do a proper job on this so you can get the resources and equipment you need to get this up and running? And hell, and also to make it worth your while?


I think a modest goal of whatever a second hand Mini or refurbed Mini of a decent spec + some beer tokens would do it? Anyone have any thoughts? 400 quid?
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline Shaun M. Neary

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.346
  • Country: 00
  • Read error a
  • Liked: 461
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #103 on: 19:44, 19 November 15 »
I would happily accept the lowest spec intel mac mini that would allow me to visit the app store install xcode and the command-line tools and build wxwidgets and arnold. Lower spec also means I can easily see performance problems when they happen.

Shaun is helping but it's much easier if I could use one myself.


Would remote access to my machine via a shell help, Kev?

Offline dodogildo

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 340
  • Country: tr
  • M'enfin!
  • Liked: 126
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #104 on: 19:56, 19 November 15 »
I think the best we can do is donate a modernish Mac mini to @arnoldemu. A core2duo will still run Mavericks, Yosemite or ElCapitan right?
I've a spare Mac mini (a 2006 model most likely) , sleeping in the office storage. I can donate this if it helps. I'll check the configuration tomorrow and share with you guys.

Just tell me if it's too old or not?

Offline chinnyhill10

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.317
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 675
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #105 on: 22:32, 19 November 15 »
I've a spare Mac mini (a 2006 model most likely) , sleeping in the office storage. I can donate this if it helps. I'll check the configuration tomorrow and share with you guys.

Just tell me if it's too old or not?


Think its too old to even run a recent-ish OSX let alone the latest which will be a problem developing for the latest platform.
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Online Lone

  • Supporter
  • CPC664
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 150
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #106 on: 23:53, 19 November 15 »

Fair point. I'm not using it for precision stuff. It's mainly just checking or quickly comparing images before I put them onto the real deal.


Does any emulator read or write directly to HxC format yet? That would be a boon. Pop the SD card out the computer straight into the CPC without all that tedious conversion stuff.


A bit of teasing from me : Next Sugarbox release will support HFE convertion (as well as a debugger). I'm currently testing it a bit, and it manage to convert "Le necromancien" original dsk dump, famous for being a nightmare of a protection.
Unfortunately, it runs only for Windows...


Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.174
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1112
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #107 on: 00:12, 20 November 15 »

Could we crowdfund it? Actually do a proper job on this so you can get the resources and equipment you need to get this up and running? And hell, and also to make it worth your while?


I think a modest goal of whatever a second hand Mini or refurbed Mini of a decent spec + some beer tokens would do it? Anyone have any thoughts? 400 quid?
You can count me in. Mavericks capable C2D should be doable for about the €400 mark. Count me in for at least €50. I'll keep an eye on the Irish auction sites too.

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.174
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1112
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #108 on: 00:18, 20 November 15 »
OK. Maybe we can even get an i5 for the 400 euro
http://www.adverts.ie/9266682

Offline Shaun M. Neary

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.346
  • Country: 00
  • Read error a
  • Liked: 461
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #109 on: 02:53, 20 November 15 »
Thats on adverts.ie, you can probably get a swap for a half chewed Snickers and a clapped out Nissan Almera.

(for those outside of Ireland, that site is notorious as a seller as it attracts the worst of the low ballers and tyre kickers. I'm currently having a horrible time on it trying to sell two lenses.)

Offline dodogildo

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 340
  • Country: tr
  • M'enfin!
  • Liked: 126
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #110 on: 16:53, 20 November 15 »
I checked out the old Mac Mini. It seems to be older than I remember:
-G4 PowerPC G4 1.25 GHz 512 Ram and CDRW

Well, if you think it's still usable for dev/test purposes; @arnoldemu you can always drop me a PM...



Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
  • Liked: 1974
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #111 on: 18:45, 20 November 15 »
A bit of teasing from me : Next Sugarbox release will support HFE convertion (as well as a debugger). I'm currently testing it a bit, and it manage to convert "Le necromancien" original dsk dump, famous for being a nightmare of a protection.
Unfortunately, it runs only for Windows...


Actually fortunate for the majority of people.  :) :) :)
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline arnoldemu

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 5.331
  • Country: gb
    • Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource
  • Liked: 2233
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #112 on: 17:55, 21 November 15 »
I have made some progress with Arnold on Mac. :)
Shaun is helping :)
My games. My Games
My website with coding examples: Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource

Offline Shaun M. Neary

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.346
  • Country: 00
  • Read error a
  • Liked: 461
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #113 on: 18:24, 21 November 15 »
To be fair, Kev is getting more progress on Mountain Lion than I am with Yosemite.
But it's looking good.  :)

Offline chinnyhill10

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.317
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 675
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #114 on: 18:57, 21 November 15 »
I have made some progress with Arnold on Mac. :)
Shaun is helping :)


Great news!
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.174
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1112
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #115 on: 11:03, 22 November 15 »

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.174
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1112
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #116 on: 15:37, 02 December 15 »
Damn! In the wiki outage last night we missed out on a 2009 Mac mini with 4gb ram, 2.53ghz c2d and elcapitan for 163 euro. Would have been perfect for @arnoldemu

Sent from my m8 using Tapatalk


Online Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.346
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3558
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #117 on: 15:50, 02 December 15 »
Damn! In the wiki outage last night we missed out on a 2009 Mac mini with 4gb ram, 2.53ghz c2d and elcapitan for 163 euro. Would have been perfect for @arnoldemu

Sent from my m8 using Tapatalk

Ebay needs the CPCWiki to work properly??? :D

Bryce.

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.174
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1112
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #118 on: 15:55, 02 December 15 »

Ebay needs the CPCWiki to work properly??? :D

Bryce.
adverts.ie not eBay.... And no, but I do before shelling out a load of money for what would hopefully be a crowd funded osx dev box for @arnoldemu;)

Offline duncan_bayne

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Country: au
    • http://duncan-bayne.github.com/
  • Liked: 27
Re: Which OS does your "emulation" computer use?
« Reply #119 on: 03:14, 14 September 18 »
None of the above - FreeBSD 11.1, configured as per https://gitlab.com/duncan-bayne/freebsd-setup/wikis/home.