Author Topic: WinAPE Fullscreen Freezes on Win 10  (Read 3238 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

JohnBb

  • Guest
WinAPE Fullscreen Freezes on Win 10
« on: 16:38, 28 June 16 »
using WinApe latest beta. On first run Windows has me install Direct Draw, then runs in window mode. Tried to enter full screen, just get the top and bottom menu bars, and a black screen, and nothing works.


I get an error message about an exception encountered, and I am unable to close the program and have to do a reset.


Any ideas? Is this a Windows 10 problem?


(Sorry about the brevity -on mobile)

Offline Executioner

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 783
  • Country: au
  • WinAPE Developer
    • WinAPE
  • Liked: 390
Re: WinAPE Fullscreen Freezes on Win 10
« Reply #1 on: 00:49, 30 June 16 »
I get an error message about an exception encountered, and I am unable to close the program and have to do a reset.

Any idea what the error message is?

WinAPE 2.0B3 has had the full screen updated to support more video modesand 24/32 bit colour depth since a lot of modern
 (cheap?) video cards don't appear to support 800x600/8 or 800x600/16. I'll be releasing it officially soon.

Offline Miika Suominen

  • Speccy
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Liked: 0
Re: WinAPE Fullscreen Freezes on Win 10
« Reply #2 on: 19:45, 16 August 16 »
I cannot answer for him, but I can say what error I get ;)
Running 1920*1080 and the error I get is:
TDirectDraw.SetDisplayMode:SetDisplayMode: Action not supported. (-2147467263)

Now, one thing that comes to mind, is that PAL needs to be 50Hz and most LCD's today cannot support this. If emulator tries to set 1920*1080/50Hz-mode, it will fail.

Offline Executioner

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 783
  • Country: au
  • WinAPE Developer
    • WinAPE
  • Liked: 390
Re: WinAPE Fullscreen Freezes on Win 10
« Reply #3 on: 00:54, 17 August 16 »
Now, one thing that comes to mind, is that PAL needs to be 50Hz and most LCD's today cannot support this. If emulator tries to set 1920*1080/50Hz-mode, it will fail.

The current WIP (next release) will allow any resolution to be used in full screen. WinAPE doesn't even try to set 50Hz at the moment (I'm looking into that for a later release), but most modern LCD displays actually support 100Hz, 200Hz or even higher. Finding a PC/Laptop graphics card with 50/100Hz support is another matter.

Offline Ace

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: gr
  • Liked: 13
Re: WinAPE Fullscreen Freezes on Win 10
« Reply #4 on: 04:05, 17 August 16 »
using WinApe latest beta. On first run Windows has me install Direct Draw, then runs in window mode. Tried to enter full screen, just get the top and bottom menu bars, and a black screen, and nothing works.
I get an error message about an exception encountered, and I am unable to close the program and have to do a reset.
Any ideas? Is this a Windows 10 problem?

Happens to me also, in Windows 8.1. The exact error message, like Miika Suominen wrote earlier, is "TDirectDraw.SetDisplayMode:SetDisplayMode:Action not supported. (-2147467263)"

Found a workaround though, that might work for you, also -but I don't think that it has to do anything with the resolution: Try to rename the WinApe subfolder to something simple, like "D:\Emulators\Amstrad CPC\WinApe". That's it. A plain \WinApe... No dots, nor spaces or dashes or anything like that.

Personally I can reproduce the error every time, simply by renaming the WinApe folder, from "WinApe" to "WinApe 2.0b2" or to something random like "WinApe nvgcfg". The name "WinApe test" seems to work OK though!

The only difference is that my system doesn't lock up. It can revert Winape from -erratic- fullscreen to window, by pressing the F10 again and then by clicking on the error message's "OK" button. Or by simply opening the Task Manager and killing the WinApe process.

Really strange error though...
« Last Edit: 04:14, 17 August 16 by Ace »

Offline Executioner

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 783
  • Country: au
  • WinAPE Developer
    • WinAPE
  • Liked: 390
Re: WinAPE Fullscreen Freezes on Win 10
« Reply #5 on: 05:47, 17 August 16 »
WinAPE 2.0B2 always tries to set the full screen display mode to 800x600 in either 8 bit or 16 bit colour. Many graphics cards don't support that resolution these days, or if they do they only support 32 bit colour. 2.0B3 will allow any resolution and any colour bit depth (although I haven't fully tested a 24 bit colour depth yet as I don't have a machine with a card that does it).

Offline dasco

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: au
  • Liked: 0
Re: WinAPE Fullscreen Freezes on Win 10
« Reply #6 on: 05:17, 18 February 17 »
Thanks ACE! Your post solved the problem for me.

Offline alex76gr

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
  • Country: gr
  • Liked: 81
Re: WinAPE Fullscreen Freezes on Win 10
« Reply #7 on: 09:53, 17 March 17 »
That worked for me too! :)
Ace you are ace!

Just for reference, i also run W8.1 on my system and i had the same error message and symptoms as Ace described above.
I still believe that i got my myopia from the green GT-65 monitor, but i can't prove it! :)

Offline jason9

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: england
  • Liked: 5
Re: WinAPE Fullscreen Freezes on Win 10
« Reply #8 on: 16:21, 27 March 17 »
I’ve just found this topic and the ACE post effectively solved an old problem undergoing on my tablet.
Thanks a lot!
J

Offline cwpab

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Liked: 1
Re: WinAPE Fullscreen Freezes on Win 10
« Reply #9 on: 21:42, 06 February 18 »
Any updates on this? I am unable to switch to fullscreen in Windows 10. I receive the message

Access violation at adress 00490c7b in module "WinApe.exe"

And the emulator crashes. Changing the name of the folder didn't work.  :(

Offline jesusdelmas

  • CPC664
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 43
Re: WinAPE Fullscreen Freezes on Win 10
« Reply #10 on: 17:40, 08 February 18 »
The current WIP (next release) will allow any resolution to be used in full screen. WinAPE doesn't even try to set 50Hz at the moment (I'm looking into that for a later release), but most modern LCD displays actually support 100Hz, 200Hz or even higher. Finding a PC/Laptop graphics card with 50/100Hz support is another matter.


Hi!! i wanna know if there is any update about this, also How does the next version will be call? beta 3? or will be the final version?
 :)