CPCWiki forum

General Category => Games => Topic started by: XeNoMoRPH on 20:57, 24 April 18

Title: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: XeNoMoRPH on 20:57, 24 April 18
(https://2.bp.blogspot.com/-PB2ObHASAhE/Wt22RV6gKqI/AAAAAAABUlI/QXMfnDDu_pcug5wkQcnLUpKOPlZzDWy8ACLcBGAs/s400/titulo.png)
Quote
On April 28, 2018, coinciding with RetroMadrid, ESP Soft publishes Galactic Tomb for Amstrad CPC.
https://youtu.be/1kpcSUdeqf0 (https://youtu.be/1kpcSUdeqf0)

https://youtu.be/qJtFHIICeeg

(https://scontent.fmad3-5.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/29683766_2055356424707524_8882263132568386220_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=b72d4e015ccbaa3539beeca112db6692&oe=5B744C26)
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: adolfo.pa on 21:31, 24 April 18
Looks gorgeous!

You evil people, how you dare making me wait three days to play this ...  ;)
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: MacDeath on 22:53, 24 April 18
2018 is being a good year.
Title: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: ukmarkh on 23:42, 24 April 18
Definitely my kind of game! Well done getting it to scroll

Where can we download or purchase it from?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: SuTeKH/Epyteor on 11:59, 28 April 18
Wow! A really nice game! It's exactly what the Turrican series should have been on CPC!
I'm stuck, but already looking for the infinite-energy cheat! ^_^
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: ukmarkh on 12:00, 28 April 18
Wow! A really nice game! It's exactly what the Turrican series should have been on CPC!
I'm stuck, but already looking for the infinite-energy cheat! ^_^

Where can we download it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Token on 12:14, 28 April 18
Where can we download it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

http://espsoft.blogspot.fr/2018/04/galactic-tomb.html (http://espsoft.blogspot.fr/2018/04/galactic-tomb.html)
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: tjohnson on 12:46, 28 April 18
Had a quick play, seems well made, would like some feedback when hitting an enemy to show that its doing damage, the bullets just disappear into the enemy  other than that no other comments yet.
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: ukmarkh on 16:32, 28 April 18
Will this work on the GX4000???
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: DanyPPC on 17:38, 28 April 18
Download on CPC Rulez (https://cpcrulez.fr/GamesTest/galactic_tomb.htm)


Many thanks for this other great CPC game  ;)
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Gryzor on 20:17, 28 April 18
Perfect for my Sunday! Video looks very cool (the part where you get in that sub-ship and shooting reminded me of Into Oblivion :D ). I sure hope we get a change to buy it...
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: XeNoMoRPH on 20:50, 28 April 18
http://www.amstrad.es/externo/espsoftgames/galactictomb/GalacticTomb_128K.zip
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: ||C|-|E|| on 20:55, 28 April 18
Great game! I have enjoyed it a lot during the evening and I think I will definitely be able to finish it at some point. The music and graphics are awesome and I find the difficulty very well balanced, at least for me. I really love it!
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Phantomz on 22:04, 28 April 18
Thanks for this great little game.  8)

I've just completed it in winape, I couldn't read the end screens, I had fun all the same.

Any chance of a version in English too?  ;D

Wow! A really nice game! It's exactly what the Turrican series should have been on CPC!
I'm stuck, but already looking for the infinite-energy cheat! ^_^

I've got poke address for all three levels if it's ok to share them.  ;)
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: XeNoMoRPH on 22:52, 28 April 18
Give me pokes !!! hahaha  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Phantomz on 23:03, 28 April 18
I'm stuck, but already looking for the infinite-energy cheat! ^_^


Give me pokes !!! hahaha  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

These are for @XeNoMoRPH (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1952) and  @SuTeKH/Epyteor (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=466) and anyone else that need or want them.  ;D


Infinite lives level 1: POKE & 5222   3D TO 00

Infinite lives level 2: POKE & 5217   3D TO 00

Infinite lives level 3: POKE & 482E   3D TO 00

Infinite energy level 1: POKE & 3123   3D TO 00

Infinite energy level 2: POKE & 30FC   3D TO 00

Infinite energy level 3: POKE & 299E   3D TO 00

Infinite jet pac energy level 2: POKE & 5718      3D TO 00

Infinite 2nd Attack energy level 3: POKE & 4CD2   3D TO 00
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Gryzor on 23:45, 28 April 18
"How do I use those pokes?"

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Phantomz on 17:30, 29 April 18
"How do I use those pokes?"

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

Use a multiface 2 on real hardware, or add them in a emulator like winape, ignore the 3D that is what is at each address at the moment, they need changing to 00.   ;)
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Gryzor on 17:53, 29 April 18
Thanks, though I was being ironic, as this was a question very often posed in the olden days (hence the quotes)! But thanks anyhow

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Phantomz on 18:08, 29 April 18
Thanks, though I was being ironic, as this was a question very often posed in the olden days (hence the quotes)! But thanks anyhow

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

 :laugh: I thought as much, but thought I'd post to make sure.  ;D
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Gryzor on 18:11, 29 April 18
Well I'm sure there are people still in need of this info, so...

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Phantomz on 18:56, 29 April 18
@Gryzor (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1)

Here is another option, the poke's can be added directly to the disk, I've made myself a couple of versions that are poked.

Use a Hexeditor and open the disk, I use " HxD - Hexeditor ".

Use the goto option, " Goto  Ctrl+G ", and change the following....


Infinite lives level 1: 3D @ 289A2   3D TO 00            

Infinite lives level 2: 3D @ 7B97   3D TO 00            

Infinite lives level 3: 3D @ 172AE   3D TO 00            

Infinite energy level 1: 3D @ EEA3   3D TO 00            

Infinite energy level 2: 3D @ 5C7C   3D TO 00            

Infinite energy level 3: 3D @ 1431E   3D TO 00            

Infinite jet pac energy level 2: 3D @ 8798      3D TO 00      

Infinite 2nd Attack energy level 3: 3D @ 17E52   3D TO 00      

I hope this helps a few people out.  ;D

Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Targhan on 21:48, 29 April 18
Pretty good game! Cool music, beautiful graphics, and for once, a Spanish game than is not too hard :). Though I got killed by the first boss... The scrolling is also quite fast, the character reacts well to the keyboard. Well done!
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Neil79 on 21:55, 29 April 18
 :o :o :o :o ;)
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Buleste on 22:35, 29 April 18
I noticed on the main page there is a cassette cover you can download and instructions on how to load a cassette but no CDT file, will there be one?
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: roudoudou on 22:36, 29 April 18
Funny game, i should pass the first boss with a litle praticte

Suprislingly there is no memory test and the game will crash on a 664...

I noticed that expanded memory is almost empty (except a little portion of bank 7)

I fixed my version with a small basic loader
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: XeNoMoRPH on 17:57, 30 April 18
Funny game, i should pass the first boss with a litle praticte

Suprislingly there is no memory test and the game will crash on a 664...

I noticed that expanded memory is almost empty (except a little portion of bank 7)

I fixed my version with a small basic loader
the game needs 128 kb RAM , it does not work in the 464 , but the programmer told me that they are going to get a reduced version that will work in 464
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: 6128 on 17:59, 30 April 18
The DSK is 128k version of the game. The CDT 64k version of the game is coming soon.
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: ukmarkh on 21:22, 30 April 18
the game needs 128 kb RAM , it does not work in the 464 , but the programmer told me that they are going to get a reduced version that will work in 464

So it’ll be GX4000 ready before long 🤪 I play all my games these days on the GX hooked up to a projector.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: XeNoMoRPH on 09:12, 04 May 18
Rev 01 (03/05/2018) - Compatible with M4; Minor errors fixed
Rev 02 (03/05/2018) - Fixed Robotia level load problem



this guy , Raul Pedroso  , he has manufactured his own cassette
(https://scontent.fmad3-5.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/31880624_10213610794763214_954001954013446144_o.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=582c0705b7a167de2ec3d327398deb30&oe=5B4EC75C)
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: XeNoMoRPH on 15:57, 05 May 18
Another custom case

(https://scontent.fmad3-8.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/31944541_10157350035980898_1891554943492423680_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=9001f6627664389569eb458f3f1693af&oe=5B9A3E4B)
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: VincentGR on 19:10, 05 May 18
Damn, this even looks used  ;D
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Ast on 13:01, 06 May 18
Is it possible to have an iMPdos xmass edition working?
Thanks!
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: DARKGATE on 15:02, 07 May 18
 :D Another new game, great playability, hope on a .CDT for CPC464.
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: 6128 on 16:50, 07 May 18
CDT 64k version is coming soon.
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Buleste on 00:01, 08 May 18
CDT 64k version is coming soon.

Silly question but will there be a 128k CDT?
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: ukmarkh on 00:02, 08 May 18
I just want it to work on my GX4000...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Carnivius on 12:03, 08 May 18
I like this game but for some reason the only emulator it works properly on out of three I have is Winape but I don't like using Winape as it doesn't let me use gamepad properly (it forces use of the left analog which is terrible for old CPC games and I want to use the d-pad).   When running it on Caprice Forever the status panel is duplicated up into the main game screen area hiding the majority of the gameplay area.  I don't know why this is.  It's the first game I've run on this emulator that has such an issue that prevents me from playing.  I wish it weren't so as it's a cool game but I can't put up with Winape's very limited gamepad configuration (or having to boot up something like xpadder everytime i want to play).  Still a great game though.
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: jesusdelmas on 13:35, 08 May 18
I like this game but for some reason the only emulator it works properly on out of three I have is Winape but I don't like using Winape as it doesn't let me use gamepad properly (it forces use of the left analog which is terrible for old CPC games and I want to use the d-pad).   When running it on Caprice Forever the status panel is duplicated up into the main game screen area hiding the majority of the gameplay area.  I don't know why this is.  It's the first game I've run on this emulator that has such an issue that prevents me from playing.  I wish it weren't so as it's a cool game but I can't put up with Winape's very limited gamepad configuration (or having to boot up something like xpadder everytime i want to play).  Still a great game though.


the last caprice forever git solve the problems, you will be able to play it ;)/
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Carnivius on 15:37, 08 May 18

the last caprice forever git solve the problems, you will be able to play it ;) /

 :picard: at my stupidity.   You are right.  I didn't even realise there was a new version of Caprice Forever (I'm so used to things auto-updating or notifying me of an update I forget when things don't. :P )

And yes it runs the game properly.  Thank you very much. :D
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: 6128 on 16:30, 08 May 18
Silly question but will there be a 128k CDT?


No. Only 64k CDT. But will there be a 64k DSK for 664 users.
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Xyphoe on 20:12, 11 May 18
Am I the only one having problem with the controls in this game?
I use WinApe. Weirdly by default only cursors left, right and down work. No idea what fire is, but I tried pressing each and every key and nothing happens.
In WinApe I have "Enable Joystick" selected, but it ignores any of these controls (eg if I set cursor keys, or WASD - none work).
Additionally, on the menu screen when I try to redefine keys the input sensor is too sensitive, so by the time I've quickly pressed a key for "Left" for example, it's already jumped onto "Down".
ARGHHH
Please help. I want to play this game this evening!! :(
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Carnivius on 20:18, 11 May 18
Am I the only one having problem with the controls in this game?
I use WinApe. Weirdly by default only cursors left, right and down work. No idea what fire is, but I tried pressing each and every key and nothing happens.
In WinApe I have "Enable Joystick" selected, but it ignores any of these controls (eg if I set cursor keys, or WASD - none work).
Additionally, on the menu screen when I try to redefine keys the input sensor is too sensitive, so by the time I've quickly pressed a key for "Left" for example, it's already jumped onto "Down".
ARGHHH
Please help. I want to play this game this evening!! :(
Yeah when I was briefly using keyboard before switching on the Dual Shock 4 I noticed I could only walk and crouch and couldn't find jump or shoot at all until redefining and then when I updated Caprice to run the game properly I just used the DS4 since it works beautifully in that emulator ( I just tested keyboard and it still has the default keys issue)
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Xyphoe on 20:27, 11 May 18
Yeah when I was briefly using keyboard before switching on the Dual Shock 4 I noticed I could only walk and crouch and couldn't find jump or shoot at all until redefining and then when I updated Caprice to run the game properly I just used the DS4 since it works beautifully in that emulator ( I just tested keyboard and it still has the default keys issue)
Glad it's not just me then!!
Well, after trying dozens of times and taking a snapshot after each successful key press in redefining keys... I managed to set WASD and Space bar for fire - then saved a snapshot. It works, and I can play it. 2nd Weapon doesn't seem to work, unless it's something I've got to pick up later in the game. So I'm up and running, but it's been a frustrating experience.
But... first initial impressions of the game.... WOW!!!!
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Phantomz on 20:46, 11 May 18
It looks like the controls are not set right on the disk, what are the default controls suppose to be?
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Targhan on 01:44, 12 May 18
On a real CPC, everything's fine :). Ok, this is not helping.
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: 6128 on 08:51, 12 May 18
I have no problem with the keys in emulator. And the redefine keys option works properly. Of course all works perfect in the real CPC.
The second fire only works in level 3 (Microbia).
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Carnivius on 10:44, 12 May 18
I have no problem with the keys in emulator.
Strange how I have the issue in both Caprice Forever and Winape but you apparently don't at all?  Which emulator did you try?
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: VincentGR on 11:56, 12 May 18
Silly question:


Do you have any remapping utility running for gamepads?
Also tried to reset controls?
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Carnivius on 13:00, 12 May 18
Do you have any remapping utility running for gamepads?
Also tried to reset controls?
Nope. I have DS4Windows to let me configure my Dual Shock 4 in lots of ways but I noticed this thing before I'd even had that running or connected my DS4.
And yeah I can redefine keys but I'm confused as to why on default keyboard controls only left, right and down work
Tested with other games (as well as simply moving the cursor around on the BASIC screen) and they all control absolutely fine with default keyboard controls on both Caprice and Winape.
It's not a huge concern for me as I use DS4 most of the time anyways but was very curious about it.
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Phantomz on 16:30, 12 May 18
On a real CPC, everything's fine :). Ok, this is not helping.

@Targhan (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=110)

I haven't got access to real hardware at the moment, what are the default keys set at?
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: 6128 on 22:10, 12 May 18
Strange how I have the issue in both Caprice Forever and Winape but you apparently don't at all?  Which emulator did you try?


I play the game with WinAPE. And I redefine keys in each game.
There are no keys by default. With the final code changes the programmer forgot the default keys. Only cursor keys works. That's why it's convenient to redefine keys in each game.
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Targhan on 11:23, 13 May 18
@Phantomz (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1308) Actually, on a real CPC, the default keys seem buggy, only left/right/crouch are working. I couldn't find the keys for up and fire1/2. You have to redefine the keys, which I did without thinking when I played the game.
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Carnivius on 11:54, 13 May 18
So it is a problem with the game itself and not emulators and such?  That's all I wanted to know so I wasn't being dumb or crazy or something. 
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: XeNoMoRPH on 12:40, 13 May 18
https://youtu.be/yRzgReghu3g
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Phantomz on 15:01, 13 May 18
@Phantomz (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=1308) Actually, on a real CPC, the default keys seem buggy, only left/right/crouch are working. I couldn't find the keys for up and fire1/2. You have to redefine the keys, which I did without thinking when I played the game.

@Targhan (http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=110)

Thank you for the response, I thought it was strange that you said it was working ok on real hardware as I can see the problem on the disk.  ;)

So it is a problem with the game itself and not emulators and such?  That's all I wanted to know so I wasn't being dumb or crazy or something.

Sure is, they will probably fix this soon enough.

I can fix my disk myself, just not sure what the best default keys would be, in case it's ok to share it.  ;)
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Targhan on 15:45, 13 May 18
Quote
Thank you for the response, I thought it was strange that you said it was working ok on real hardware as I can see the problem on the disk.


I simply forgot that I never trusted default keys for a game, and prefer to redefine them without a second thought :).
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Phantomz on 16:02, 13 May 18

I simply forgot that I never trusted default keys for a game, and prefer to redefine them without a second thought :).

As much as I also prefer using my own keys too, the default keys should work as some people might press 1 to start a game from the start ( before using redefine ) and get stuck and can't play due to half the default keys missing.  :doh:
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: 6128 on 22:59, 28 May 18
Now CDT 64k version and DSK 64k version are available on ESP Soft site. DSK 128k version updated.


https://espsoft.blogspot.com.es/2018/04/galactic-tomb.html
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Carnivius on 00:01, 29 May 18
Now CDT 64k version and DSK 64k version are available on ESP Soft site. DSK 128k version updated.


https://espsoft.blogspot.com.es/2018/04/galactic-tomb.html (https://espsoft.blogspot.com.es/2018/04/galactic-tomb.html)
Cool, the default controls are fixed. :)
What's the differences between the 64 and 128k versions? I had a quick go on both and noticed the 64k has different title screen logo, simpler Game Over text and no level name screens, but otherwise seems very much the same as the 128k version (even keeping the music which is often one of the things that gets cut when stripping down a game into 64k).   It's a cool game.  May have to go plug in my real 464 soon for a proper playthrough on the real hardware. :)
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: Ast on 00:32, 29 May 18
Now CDT 64k version and DSK 64k version are available on ESP Soft site. DSK 128k version updated.


https://espsoft.blogspot.com.es/2018/04/galactic-tomb.html (https://espsoft.blogspot.com.es/2018/04/galactic-tomb.html)
Does it work on iMPdos ?
Title: Re: Galactic Tomb is done !!!
Post by: adolfo.pa on 10:57, 29 May 18
On my 6128+ I cannot get past the first screen, the game hangs and I get a blank screen instead of the Robota loading picture. I read on CPC-POWER that the same thing happens on 64k systems, so I'll try the 64k version and cross fingers :-)


Another weird thing is that although the game loads fine on the M4, if I try to load it from drive A (real floppy) or B (HxC) while the M4 is connected, just after displaying the loading screen I get a load error and the game crashes. Disconnecting the M4 makes everything work again.


Anyway, thanks a lot for all your hard work. I'm really enjoying the game and although I know it by heart at this point, I still play it every night before bed. It has a weird relaxing effect on me :-D