News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Uwol 2 (Quest for Money) a new game from Mojon Twins on 2011.

Started by Cpcmaniaco, 00:50, 07 January 11

Previous topic - Next topic

mr_lou

Quote from: trocoloco on 09:00, 12 January 11
It's good to see well written games and bug free, but hey I appreciate more their effort on making it. The  point is to keep the cpc alive, I couldn't care less about the technical part of a game if I enjoy it.

I agree with trocoloco.

I'm a sparetime developer for mobile phones myself. Talk about a market with lots of fragmentation. Here we have J2ME, Android, iPhone, Blackberry, Palm, Windows Phone 7, Symbian etc etc.

My favorite platform is J2ME, despite its age and bugs and limitations. It is infact the most limited platform of the ones mentioned, which means that anything I can create with J2ME will definitely also be able to run on any of the other platforms. But that definitely doesn't mean I'll go through the trouble of porting my J2ME game to those other platforms. I'm way too lazy for that.

So here we have a Spectrum game, where the authors take their time to make a CPC version. That should be embraced and appreciated. Complains about that it could have been better, is based on a misunderstanding.
My J2ME game could also have been done better on Android - but that's not the goal. The goal is merely to make the game available on more platforms - even those platforms that are more powerful, despite how little the game uses the abilities of that platform.

So quit complaining, and start thanking the authors instead.

Or, if you insist on complaining, then code your own CPC game with all those things you miss - and then provide an Amiga port that's better.

I think it's great what Mojon Twins are doing.

arnoldemu

Quote from: redbox on 10:21, 11 January 11
I agree.