News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Sirius631, an introduction.

Started by sirius631, 15:08, 18 March 18

Previous topic - Next topic

sirius631

Hello everyone, and thank you to the admin for accepting my application to join.

My name is David, I'm 50 and I'm a former automotive design engineer. Although I'm pretending to be a writer right now (unpublished teen fiction at 75000 words long) it's not making me any money. One lives in hope.

My computing history starts with our family getting a Camputers Lynx 48. Although I liked that computer, the crappy TV sets that my dad got for us to us it on kept failing, meaning I didn't get much time with it. That company soon went bang, and that prompted my parents to go for something better: our first Amstrad CPC464. Apart from typing in magazine programs, I created a few programs in BASIC that were useful to me. When I was 18, I took on organising an event for my cycle club, and wrote a program that could rank rider by their previous performances, sort them into a starting order and print out address labels, so that they could be posted their start sheets. One sort took all day in BASIC, so I learned some machine code and swapped in some new m/c routines. The sorts ended up taking about ten minutes.

When I went to college, I took the CPC with me, to write my notes and reports on TASWORD, for them to be printed out on an Epson HR5 dot matrix printer. Part of my final project involved the specification and construction of a PC for CAD work. We were given student copies of WordStar for the PC by college, and it became easy to write reports on that and print them out onto the quality printers on campus. After that, I had no need for the CPC, so it went back to my dad.