Author Topic: 6128 PLUS Problem! Not sure what the problem is.  (Read 874 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Phantomz

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 900
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 1095
6128 PLUS Problem! Not sure what the problem is.
« on: 21:33, 12 October 17 »
I took my 6128 PLUS out of storage to test the new gotek/usb firmware with disk support.

At first the computer appeared to be working ok, however I've come across a problem and I've no idea what's causing it.

I loaded up the new version of R-type (128k) and started to play the game, and it all runs ok up until I pick up the blue item for weapon upgrade then the machine just crashes out.
If I avoid the blue weapon upgrade I can complete the first level, I also tried to pick up a yellow upgrade and this did the same.

I know it's not a fault with the disk or file used, as I tested it on another 6128 PLUS and the game played fine.

I'm puzzled to know what the issue is, I've played other games and they appear to work fine, but I haven't had chance to play to much at the moment to see if I get issues in anything else.

Maybe some of you guys might know what the issue is.

Thanks.

Online dragon

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.293
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 495
Re: 6128 PLUS Problem! Not sure what the problem is.
« Reply #1 on: 20:51, 13 October 17 »
The two have the same os?.

Offline Phantomz

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 900
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 1095
Re: 6128 PLUS Problem! Not sure what the problem is.
« Reply #2 on: 23:02, 13 October 17 »
@dragon

Just tested the game in both 6128 plus machines again.

I used the same power supply, original yellow English OS Cartridge and ran the game from the 3" Disc.

The working 6128 PLUS played the game ok, the 6128 PLUS with the problem didn't.

The game is crashing when I pick up a blue weapon upgrade, I can collect the first one ok, but if I go to get a second blue upgrade ( when I have the drone thing ) then the game crashes.

The second blue upgrade is around the middle of the level, just after the background changes colour, and you go through the small passage with the small turrets, just before you get to the big circle alien.

Other games appear to be working fine so I'm rather puzzled.  ???
« Last Edit: 00:08, 14 October 17 by Phantomz »

Online dragon

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.293
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 495
Re: 6128 PLUS Problem! Not sure what the problem is.
« Reply #3 on: 00:41, 14 October 17 »
Try it from  another source if  you  can.


What revision motherboard  is?.


What cpu is mounted  ram etc etc. search  por anything different from the other plus.


You can try swap cpu (is in socket).
« Last Edit: 00:43, 14 October 17 by dragon »

Offline Phantomz

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 900
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 1095
Re: 6128 PLUS Problem! Not sure what the problem is.
« Reply #4 on: 23:17, 14 October 17 »
Try it from  another source if  you  can.


What revision motherboard  is?.


What cpu is mounted  ram etc etc. search  por anything different from the other plus.


You can try swap cpu (is in socket).

Amstrad 6128 Plus that works
Motherboard
MC0122A [5]
2700-016P-3
AMSTRAD PLC 1990

CPU
Z8400AB1
Z80ACPU
29021

Amstrad 6128 Plus with the Problem
Motherboard
MC0122C [7]
2700-016P-3
AMSTRAD PLC 1990

CPU
Z8400AB1
Z80ACPU
29026

I haven't tried to swop the CPU's over as don't really want to mess about with my working 6128 plus.

I've also got a GX4000, can I swop the CPU from that into the 6128 PLUS with the problem? is it fully compatible?

My Amstrad GX4000
Motherboard
MC0123C
2700-017P-4
1990 AMSTRAD PLC

CPU
Z8400AB1
Z80ACPU
29024

I was going to try and swop the CPU from the GX4000 and put it into the 6128 Plus with the problem to see if it was helped, but wasn't sure due to the different numbers on the CPU's.  ???
« Last Edit: 23:21, 14 October 17 by Phantomz »

Online dragon

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.293
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 495
Re: 6128 PLUS Problem! Not sure what the problem is.
« Reply #5 on: 23:47, 14 October 17 »
Yes is fully compaible. My plus ir rev c so i can try the game

Offline Phantomz

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 900
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 1095
Re: 6128 PLUS Problem! Not sure what the problem is.
« Reply #6 on: 23:37, 16 October 17 »
Yes is fully compaible. My plus ir rev c so i can try the game

Just swopped the cpu from the gx4000 to the rev c plus, still got the same problem with r-type.  :(

Have you had chance to try the game on your rev c plus yet?

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.923
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3076
Re: 6128 PLUS Problem! Not sure what the problem is.
« Reply #7 on: 23:41, 16 October 17 »
What exactly does the game do at that exact moment? Does it write to some particular RAM address or play a sound? Knowing what it was doing will tell you exactly what's not working properly.

Bryce.

Online dragon

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.293
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 495
Re: 6128 PLUS Problem! Not sure what the problem is.
« Reply #8 on: 23:54, 16 October 17 »
Just swopped the cpu from the gx4000 to the rev c plus, still got the same problem with r-type.  :(

Have you had chance to try the game on your rev c plus yet?


Tomorrow i mount it is the modern remake right?.

Offline Phantomz

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 900
  • Country: gb
  • Liked: 1095
Re: 6128 PLUS Problem! Not sure what the problem is.
« Reply #9 on: 00:00, 17 October 17 »

Tomorrow i mount it is the modern remake right?.

Yes, the new 128k version, I don't think it matters where you get the disks from as I've tried different places, same problem.  ???