News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Faulty Monitors

Started by geebus, 16:59, 30 November 18

Previous topic - Next topic

geebus

Anyone got any advice for working on the monitors? I believe them to be the CTM644. I know there are precautions I need to take when opening it, I'm sure i'll find out those on here somewhere after a bit of searching.

More looking for advice on where to start with fixing the 12v output and the h or v-sync if anyone has any experience with those.

I'm totally new to this, hell I don't even have the screens at home yet. Just excited to have them in my ownership even if they are a couple of hundred miles away just now.
Getting prepared!

Bryce

These monitors have a 20kVDC charge on the tube and a 400VDC charge in one of the capacitors on the mainboard, even when it has been unplugging for days. So if you don't know exactly what you are doing, I would suggest no touching them! It may end up being your last repair.

Bryce. 

geebus

Hi Bryce,
Thanks for the comment. I'm aware that there are high voltages stored within the monitors. I was hoping for some advice on checking there was no charge in them. Or how to discharge them.
Everyone starts somewhere, and i'm aware of the danger involved with opening up CRT devices.
I'm not going to do anything with them unless i know EXACTLY what i'm doing. Because I don't fancy having 20kV through me..
Thats an insane amount of voltage!

I'm assuming there is some way of earthing and discharging all the voltages that are held within the screens?

If no one is willing to advise on how to do it (for fear I might fry myself trying), Can anyone advise on someone who is able to do the repairs for me?

I would rather Learn how to do these repairs myself. I'm apprehensive about it, but want to learn.

Bryce