- Top Stats

Top Posters Top Topic Starters Top Topics
Bryce 690
Audronic 237
CraigsBar 143
TFM 138
llopis 96
Audronic 34
Bignumbas 19
llopis 9
ComSoft612... 8
Querubin 6
X-Mass help please - 20256 Views 00WReX 15:29, 26 February 15
Fixing Floppy-Drives - 9928 Views Shining 00:45, 13 January 15
Interpreting u... - 9063 Views JonB 13:25, 05 April 15
CPC 464 blue s... - 7244 Views Alexandre ... 12:24, 29 July 15
Keyboard or Ma... - 5763 Views talrek 17:57, 21 October 14


Author Topic: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?  (Read 457 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chrisgreen

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: gb
  • Coming back to the CPC after a 20+ year absence
    • chrisgreen.co.uk
  • Liked: 0
Hi All


I've recently removed the internal 3inch drive from my 6128 and replaced it with a Gotek in a custom 3D printed frame.


However, I was wondering what would be involved in reconnecting the previously internal drive externally to the B drive edge connector. Does anything need to be changed on the drive itself (jumpers etc.) or is it simply a case of making up the appropriate ribbon cable and a suitable 12v power cable?


Also, has anyone created a 3D printable case for a 3-inch drive? Loads of 3.5inch ones on Thingiverse, but nothing for the 3inch that I could see.


Cheers
Chris

Offline LambdaMikel

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.318
  • Country: us
    • Homepage
  • Liked: 693

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.183
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 267
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #2 on: 02:40, 08 May 19 »
@chrisgreen


I have just completed a 3" drive "B"
Made up an adapter cable AND rewired the DRIVE to be Drive 1 (Previously 0).

The mods to the drive depend upon the Model of the 3" drive.

Please send a photo of the Drives motherboard and the Model number of the drive EME XXX ?
NB: Please note the Power plug is wired NON STANDARD to the rest of the World.

Photo:- Remove link from the end holes and rewire as per photo for Drive "B" EMM 155

Good Luck

Ray
« Last Edit: 02:55, 08 May 19 by Audronic »
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.183
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 267
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #3 on: 02:53, 08 May 19 »
Part 2 Other Photo

Remove JP 119 and rewire as per photo. EMM 156


Ray


Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline chrisgreen

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: gb
  • Coming back to the CPC after a 20+ year absence
    • chrisgreen.co.uk
  • Liked: 0
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #4 on: 16:09, 08 May 19 »
Hi Ray

I'll ping you the drive specs this evening when I get in from work.

I'm aware of the non-standard power plug pinout, as the chap who made up my Gotek kit also provided the necessary rewired power adapter so that the 5v went to the right pins and the 12v was isolated.

However, I'm a little confused, as you say that the drive requires modification in order to be used as an external A or B drive, while @LambdaMikel (my expansion board is still going great BTW) suggests it's purely down to the cable wiring (which is what I thought was the case).


Cheers
Chris

Offline LambdaMikel

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.318
  • Country: us
    • Homepage
  • Liked: 693
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #5 on: 16:45, 08 May 19 »
I never tried to turn an internal 6128 drive to an external one though.
So I guess @Audronic is right.

@Audronic  is this modification somewhere documented on this Wiki?

Offline CraigsBar

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 3.238
  • Country: ie
  • The party ain't over yet
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 1153
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #6 on: 17:03, 08 May 19 »
Just a thought but might it not be easier to jumper the gotek as B, leave the 3inch drive as A and fit an internal abba switch in the cpc?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.183
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 267
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #7 on: 02:21, 09 May 19 »
I never tried to turn an internal 6128 drive to an external one though.
So I guess @Audronic is right.
@Audronic  is this modification somewhere documented on this Wiki?


No its not. (The one that is in the wiki is short on detail for me).
I used the   http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/DIY:Floppy_Drives.
as a reference to making up the cable.


Ray

Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.183
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 267
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #8 on: 02:23, 09 May 19 »
Just a thought but might it not be easier to jumper the gotek as B, leave the 3inch drive as A and fit an internal abba switch in the cpc?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


No


I want to put the 3" drive in an other environment (TRS-80 Model 3/4) as I have test tools that I can use to work out an intermittent problem that I have with one of my 3" drives.


Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.183
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 267
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #9 on: 02:26, 09 May 19 »
Hi Ray

However, I'm a little confused, as you say that the drive requires modification in order to be used as an external A or B drive, while @LambdaMikel (my expansion board is still going great BTW) suggests it's purely down to the cable wiring (which is what I thought was the case).
Cheers Chris


Hi Chris
It is preferable to make up a "Standard" interconnect cable and adjust the drive for what ever Drive select number is appropriate.
as you would do on any other drive chain.


Ray
« Last Edit: 02:00, 10 May 19 by Audronic »
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.109
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 581
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #10 on: 19:16, 09 May 19 »
I want to put the 3" drive in an other environment (TRS-80 Model 3/4) as I have test tools that I can use to work out an intermittent problem that I have with one of my 3" drives.
Which test tools do you miss on the Amstrad?
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.01.14)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.183
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 267
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #11 on: 01:58, 10 May 19 »
Which test tools do you miss on the Amstrad?


Hi GUNHED.


I have a program called " Trakcess " That in real time can read Tracks, sector ID's and display them instantly.
PS:- it does not stop on Error Reads it just reads what it gets.

I was going to use that to test the alignment of "Track 0 , 17 , 38 "
As I have 2 Drives that are Unwell.


Trakcess zip attached including manual (FOR TRS-80 MODEL III ONLY)


Ray
« Last Edit: 02:01, 10 May 19 by Audronic »
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.109
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 581
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #12 on: 20:26, 15 May 19 »

Discology does that for you on CPC  :)




Hi GUNHED.


I have a program called " Trakcess " That in real time can read Tracks, sector ID's and display them instantly.
PS:- it does not stop on Error Reads it just reads what it gets.

I was going to use that to test the alignment of "Track 0 , 17 , 38 "
As I have 2 Drives that are Unwell.


Trakcess zip attached including manual (FOR TRS-80 MODEL III ONLY)


Ray
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.01.14)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.183
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 267
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #13 on: 02:12, 16 May 19 »
Hi GUNHED


Ok Thanks I will get the rom and have a look.
Do you know whichEnglish version is the best ?
Version 2, 3.3, 6



Ray
« Last Edit: 02:18, 16 May 19 by Audronic »
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.109
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 581
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #14 on: 14:20, 16 May 19 »
For CPC take the last one. For the Plus not every one is running. CPC-Power should be your friend. I would attach files here, but the forum doesn't eat DSKs.
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.01.14)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.183
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 267
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #15 on: 14:29, 16 May 19 »
Hi Gunhed


Thanks I will have a look at CPC-power


If you want to send a file or a DSK then if you Zip it up the forum will accept the file.


EG :- xxxxxxx.zip


Thanks.  Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.109
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 581
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #16 on: 14:40, 16 May 19 »
Yes, I know that. But seriously it's time consuming to:
- Locate file
- Zip file
- Upload file
- Delete zipped file


Just instead of tag and upload file.


Where's the problem in allowing DSK files? They are very small, people upload some MB big pictures. Why not a small DSK? I guess even HxC format (bigger than DSKs) can be uploaded.
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.01.14)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.183
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 267
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #17 on: 14:44, 16 May 19 »

Where's the problem in allowing DSK files? They are very small, people upload some MB big pictures. Why not a small DSK? I guess even HxC format (bigger than DSKs) can be uploaded.


Admin May be able to change the Extension filter to allow xxxxx.DSK
Perhaps ask Admin ?


Thanks.  Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.109
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 581
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #18 on: 14:51, 16 May 19 »
PM sent.
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.01.14)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.183
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 267
Re: How can I connect an internal 3inch drive externally?
« Reply #19 on: 04:40, 18 May 19 »
Discology does that for you on CPC  :)


@GUNHED


Thanks, Discology6 Rom is what I was after.


Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.