Author Topic: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?  (Read 712 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.000
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 205
Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« on: 08:55, 06 December 17 »
Hi All


Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline roudoudou

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 527
  • Country: fr
    • urban exploration
  • Liked: 701
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #1 on: 09:15, 06 December 17 »



I saw some people using it successfully, not mine (because he's keeping 50Hz and i have only 60Hz screen?)


I've also seen a modification to handle better the signal on a Atari forum, just a resistor to add. I will try when i'll have time!


Do not put it in the trash!


ps: Now i'm using a generic RGB VGA converter
use RASM, the best assembler ever made :p

I will survive

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.000
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 205
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #2 on: 10:52, 06 December 17 »
@roudoudou
I have just checked Pin 16 on the Scart socket and it is Grounded, hmmmm
Therefore it will only display Mono (Black and White).
I think I have a Faulty Converter.


Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.295
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3529
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #3 on: 11:04, 06 December 17 »
@roudoudou
I have just checked Pin 16 on the Scart socket and it is Grounded, hmmmm
Therefore it will only display Mono (Black and White).
I think I have a Faulty Converter.


Ray

Nope, that just means that it will only display composite, but it could still be in colour. It may only convert to composite and not RGB?

Bryce.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.000
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 205
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #4 on: 00:17, 07 December 17 »
@Bryce


OK Thanks for that.


I thought that Pin 16 has 2 voltage levels
0 Volts -  Mono
1-5 Volts Colour RGB
Photo Below


Ray

Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.295
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3529
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #5 on: 09:42, 07 December 17 »
It does, and as your attached list shows - 0V = Composite, not mono. Composite can be coloured too.

Bryce.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.000
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 205
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #6 on: 10:14, 07 December 17 »
@Bryce


Ok I will do some more research.


Thanks for the Pointers.


Ray

Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline Shaun M. Neary

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.346
  • Country: 00
  • Read error a
  • Liked: 461
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #7 on: 13:48, 07 December 17 »
I use one of these. For the 8 bit machines, I only get black and white output.
If I hook an original Xbox to it, it's colour.

So definitely don't bin it, it's not a fault with the device.

Offline khaz

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 485
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 244
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #8 on: 15:24, 07 December 17 »
It's working as intended, but the intention is to convert Composite only, not RGB. Definitely shady, there is no need for a SCART socket here unless to fool the buyer into thinking the device may do RGB.

Good quality scan converters / upscalers are expensive.

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.295
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3529
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #9 on: 16:24, 07 December 17 »
I use one of these. For the 8 bit machines, I only get black and white output.
If I hook an original Xbox to it, it's colour.

So definitely don't bin it, it's not a fault with the device.

Then it's the 8-bit computer producing the black and white composite signal, not the converter.

Bryce.

Offline Shaun M. Neary

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.346
  • Country: 00
  • Read error a
  • Liked: 461
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #10 on: 16:27, 07 December 17 »
Then it's the 8-bit computer producing the black and white composite signal, not the converter.

Bryce.

Yep, it's definitely not the device at all.

Offline Audronic

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.000
  • Country: au
  • I know RST3 . I now know a little More.
  • Liked: 205
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #11 on: 23:39, 07 December 17 »
@Shaun M. Neary
@Kaz
@Bryce

Thanks to all, I spent most of yesterday trying to make some sense of the MONO signal.
Your comments are helpful

Thanks

Ray
Procrastinators Unite,
If it Ain't Broke PLEASE Don't Fix it.
I keep telling you I am Not Pedantic.
As I Live " Down Under " I Take my Gravity Tablets and Wear my Magnetic Boots to Keep me from Falling off.

Offline chinnyhill10

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.317
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 674
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #12 on: 02:32, 08 December 17 »
Then it's the 8-bit computer producing the black and white composite signal, not the converter.

Bryce.


Is it an Acorn Electron? That only has mono composite.
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.295
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3529
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #13 on: 10:17, 08 December 17 »

Is it an Acorn Electron? That only has mono composite.

Until you mod it to give colour composite (1 wire, 2 minutes). :)

Bryce.

Offline Shaun M. Neary

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.346
  • Country: 00
  • Read error a
  • Liked: 461
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #14 on: 11:32, 08 December 17 »

Is it an Acorn Electron? That only has mono composite.


Nope. Happened on both an Amstrad 6128+ and a Spectrum +2b using that converter.
I'll post screenies over the weekend when I get a bit more time.

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.295
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3529
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #15 on: 11:36, 08 December 17 »
Neither of those produce a coloured composite signal, so of course it will be black and white if the convertor doesn't use the RGB signals. You could do the composite hack to the Spectrum UHF output and it would then give you colour.

Bryce.

Offline Shaun M. Neary

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.346
  • Country: 00
  • Read error a
  • Liked: 461
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #16 on: 13:08, 08 December 17 »
Neither of those produce a coloured composite signal, so of course it will be black and white if the convertor doesn't use the RGB signals. You could do the composite hack to the Spectrum UHF output and it would then give you colour.

Bryce.


Tried it on my grey +2 and ballsed it. Thankfully the TV with the SCART to HDMI adapter doesn't get used often so it's not bothering me too much.
S.

Offline chinnyhill10

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.317
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 674
Re: Scart to HDMI is anybody using this type ?
« Reply #17 on: 03:00, 09 December 17 »
Until you mod it to give colour composite (1 wire, 2 minutes). :)

Bryce.


Yes, never saw what Acorn were trying to achieve with that other than perhaps trying to give a lower spec than the BBC Micro.
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube