Author Topic: PC2086 - Keylock  (Read 3843 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chinnyhill10

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.387
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 765
  • Likes Given: 522
PC2086 - Keylock
« on: 12:59, 19 February 16 »
The PC2086 has arrived. It displays the key lock fault that you usually just hotwire across the switch. Except the switch is missing! Someone has got here before me.


Anyone recognise these two wires? Are they the key lock so if I short them all would be well? I have the official keyboard but no mouse (but presumably lack of mouse won't stop machine booting).





Absolutely no idea what the previous owners have been up to inside this case.
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.674
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4188
  • Likes Given: 439
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #1 on: 13:15, 19 February 16 »
Was there meant to be a picture that we can see in that post?

Bryce.

Offline chinnyhill10

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.387
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 765
  • Likes Given: 522
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #2 on: 14:18, 19 February 16 »
Was there meant to be a picture that we can see in that post?

Bryce.


Yep. I can see it. Can't you?


Here's a link - https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CbkloWgUYAEPYVy.jpg
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.674
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4188
  • Likes Given: 439
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #3 on: 14:32, 19 February 16 »
No, there's no picture in your post on my screen.

Bryce.

Edit: First I'd check where those wires are going to. Then test them while the machine is running to see what voltages are on them. You could short them very quickly while the PC is running. If the PC doesn't reset, then short them again and see if the keys work.

Edit 2: @Gryzor In IE11 I can see the picture in chinnys first post. In FireFox 44.02 it's not there.
 
« Last Edit: 14:38, 19 February 16 by Bryce »

Offline arnoldemu

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 5.336
  • Country: gb
    • Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource
  • Liked: 2274
  • Likes Given: 3478
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #4 on: 15:38, 19 February 16 »
Edit 2: @Gryzor In IE11 I can see the picture in chinnys first post. In FireFox 44.02 it's not there.
@Gryzor: I'm using firefox 44.02 and I see it in the first post.
My games. My Games
My website with coding examples: Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource

Offline 1024MAK

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 343
  • Country: gb
  • Touching the hot end of an iron will hurt!
  • Liked: 146
  • Likes Given: 198
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #5 on: 15:40, 19 February 16 »
Picture in first post okay on an iPad  :D
Looking forward to summer in Somerset :-)

Offline 1024MAK

  • Supporter
  • 464 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 343
  • Country: gb
  • Touching the hot end of an iron will hurt!
  • Liked: 146
  • Likes Given: 198
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #6 on: 15:46, 19 February 16 »
@ chinnyhill10 Have you compared to pictures of unmolested machines? If you can see the same colour wires running between the switch and the motherboard, that would be a good sign that your wires are the key switch wires.

If you have a 100 ohm to 330 ohm resistor, try connecting it between the two screw terminals / wires.

Mark
Looking forward to summer in Somerset :-)

Offline chinnyhill10

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.387
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 765
  • Likes Given: 522
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #7 on: 15:53, 19 February 16 »
@ chinnyhill10 Have you compared to pictures of unmolested machines? If you can see the same colour wires running between the switch and the motherboard, that would be a good sign that your wires are the key switch wires.

If you have a 100 ohm to 330 ohm resistor, try connecting it between the two screw terminals / wires.

Mark


Can't find a service manual for this one unlike the earlier PC's. Lots of resisters around so can try one.
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.674
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4188
  • Likes Given: 439
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #8 on: 16:57, 19 February 16 »
@Gryzor: I'm using firefox 44.02 and I see it in the first post.

Really weird, I wonder what's different on my setup?

Bryce.

Offline SRS

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 583
  • Country: de
  • Schneider CPC464 - what else ?
  • Liked: 571
  • Likes Given: 316
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #9 on: 21:34, 19 February 16 »
Really weird, I wonder what's different on my setup?

Bryce.

Workin 'ere on portable 44.0.2, too. Maybe kind of Ad-Blocker ?

To Topic: if you look here http://images.google.de/imgres?imgurl=http://www.seasip.info/AmstradXT/Images/pc2086_scsi.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.seasip.info/AmstradXT/scsihd.html&h=600&w=683&tbnid=Dbs7M4h1ySN23M:&tbnh=137&tbnw=156&docid=LjZdMDQD1FiSXM&usg=__vT8tvp6snHQ6nrqwTeNU0ohd9c4=&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiwv9iZyYTLAhXrAJoKHShGCRAQ9QEINzAJ
http://images.google.de/imgres?imgurl=http://www.seasip.info/AmstradXT/Images/pc2086_scsi.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.seasip.info/AmstradXT/scsihd.html&h=600&w=683&tbnid=Dbs7M4h1ySN23M:&tbnh=137&tbnw=156&docid=LjZdMDQD1FiSXM&usg=__vT8tvp6snHQ6nrqwTeNU0ohd9c4=&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiwv9iZyYTLAhXrAJoKHShGCRAQ9QEINzAJ

"Green is Keylock and Black is GND"
« Last Edit: 21:37, 19 February 16 by SRS »

Offline arnoldemu

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 5.336
  • Country: gb
    • Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource
  • Liked: 2274
  • Likes Given: 3478
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #10 on: 21:38, 19 February 16 »
Really weird, I wonder what's different on my setup?

Bryce.
Setup I used. Windows 8.1. 64-bit.
adblock was installed.

I can also see it on 64-bit linux, firefox.
My games. My Games
My website with coding examples: Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.674
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4188
  • Likes Given: 439
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #11 on: 22:24, 19 February 16 »
Ok, even weirder. I am now on a completely different PC, different ISP, different connection setup, no firwalls, FireFox 44.02 again, no adblockers and I still can't see the picture. Only when I run IE11 ???

Bryce.

Offline SRS

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 583
  • Country: de
  • Schneider CPC464 - what else ?
  • Liked: 571
  • Likes Given: 316
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #12 on: 22:28, 19 February 16 »
Ok, even weirder. I am now on a completely different PC, different ISP, different connection setup, no firwalls, FireFox 44.02 again, no adblockers and I still can't see the picture. Only when I run IE11 ???

Bryce.

Java ? Javascript ?

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.674
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4188
  • Likes Given: 439
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #13 on: 22:46, 19 February 16 »
Java isn't installed on either computer, but wouldn't that cause it to not display on IE11 too? And why would I need Java just to display a static picture in a Forum? Up to now I could see all other pictures in the forum.

Bryce.

Offline SRS

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 583
  • Country: de
  • Schneider CPC464 - what else ?
  • Liked: 571
  • Likes Given: 316
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #14 on: 22:52, 19 February 16 »
Really weired. Only thing I can see from IE is it is a HTTPS embedded: <img class="bbc_img" alt="" src="https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CbkloWgUYAEPYVy.jpg:large">;;;

So it may be a "mixed content" problem ?

Blockierung gemischter Inhalte in Firefox | Hilfe zu Firefox

or

Mixed content blocking in Firefox | Firefox Help

P.S.: I am no way HTML or JavaScipt expert, so this is just an engoogled guess  :)
« Last Edit: 22:55, 19 February 16 by SRS »

Offline chinnyhill10

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.387
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 765
  • Likes Given: 522
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #15 on: 00:12, 20 February 16 »
Disconnected the bridged connector at the header and suddenly it all worked. Then a tiny bit of metal fell out of the connector. Someone had bridged it with a staple!


Now confused as web sources say the bridged state is unlocked but mine isn't bridged. Ah well, who cares!


Machine is in a right state inside. Needs a good clean. Think the internal hard disk is dead (was unplugged). Dunno how to activate it to see if it is alive or not.


Heavy rust on PSU casing. Unsure what to do about it. Looks like a CMOS battery has leaked onto it.


Will give it an initial cleanup and will tackle rust and the rest later!
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline SRS

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 583
  • Country: de
  • Schneider CPC464 - what else ?
  • Liked: 571
  • Likes Given: 316
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #16 on: 00:39, 20 February 16 »
What an effort for such an old PC ...

Wish I never sold my first PC ... 486/33 , 4MB RAM, 106 MB HD, 1 MB ET4000 WIN 3.1 AND 14" targa 1499 NL that was just AWESOME 1992


Offline chinnyhill10

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 1.387
  • Country: 00
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/chinnyhill10
  • Liked: 765
  • Likes Given: 522
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #17 on: 01:09, 20 February 16 »
What an effort for such an old PC ...


Slightly missing the point.  :D


Cleaned up the rust with sandpaper. Not as deep as feared but was still hard work.


Also took out the hard drive and the weird controller. HD hardly likely to work (and 30 meg is useless anyway) and I can repurpose the space inside the case for an HxC or other floppy emulator to work as a B drive.


Working well. Just cleaning her up now!
--
ChinnyVision - Reviews Of Classic Games Using Original Hardware
chinnyhill10 - YouTube

Offline remax

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.121
  • Country: fr
  • Liked: 408
  • Likes Given: 451
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #18 on: 19:12, 20 February 16 »

Slightly missing the point.  :D


Cleaned up the rust with sandpaper. Not as deep as feared but was still hard work.


Also took out the hard drive and the weird controller. HD hardly likely to work (and 30 meg is useless anyway) and I can repurpose the space inside the case for an HxC or other floppy emulator to work as a B drive.


Working well. Just cleaning her up now!


Nice work. I had a 3086 back in the time... Quite the same as yours. Funny to have a great video card (Paradise VGA) with such a crap processor...

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.843
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3365
  • Likes Given: 6026
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #19 on: 10:24, 25 February 16 »
Opera, Chrome, IE and FF all show the picture on my work PC, even through our #@!*^% firewall. On my mobile I tried it in Flynx (both mobile and web versions), Chrome and FF - again it works every time...

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.674
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4188
  • Likes Given: 439
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #20 on: 11:19, 25 February 16 »
Still doesn't show on my screen though.

Bryce.

Offline arnoldemu

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 5.336
  • Country: gb
    • Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource
  • Liked: 2274
  • Likes Given: 3478
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #21 on: 11:23, 25 February 16 »
Still doesn't show on my screen though.

Bryce.
@Gryzor, @chinnyhill10: Was it hosted on another site? Maybe Bryce's internet is blocking that site.
My games. My Games
My website with coding examples: Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.674
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4188
  • Likes Given: 439
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #22 on: 11:40, 25 February 16 »
@Gryzor, @chinnyhill10: Was it hosted on another site? Maybe Bryce's internet is blocking that site.

No, that can't be it either. I can see the picture on the same computer and connection if I use IE, but I can't see it in FF on my PC at home which is using a different connection. So it must be something that I have installed on both PCs that only effects FF. But I haven't found anything yet. I thought it might have been ABP (Ad Blocker Plus), which is on both and only on FF, but turning that off didn't make the picture appear.

Bryce.

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.843
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3365
  • Likes Given: 6026
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #23 on: 11:57, 25 February 16 »
Well, here's the url:


Code: [Select]
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CbkloWgUYAEPYVy.jpg:large

Nothing weird here... does it work if you remove the :large part?

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 11.674
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 4188
  • Likes Given: 439
Re: PC2086 - Keylock
« Reply #24 on: 11:59, 25 February 16 »
Ok, something happened that it has got worse. In the GND for Dummies thread I can't see the attachment, but in IE I also don't see it any more, it just shows a small black box with an X in it.

Putting that URL (less the "large" statement) directly into the address field I can see the picture.

Bryce.
« Last Edit: 12:01, 25 February 16 by Bryce »