News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

pcw wont start anymore

Started by radu14m, 13:21, 16 September 18

Previous topic - Next topic

radu14m

sad day. :doh:
today my pcw did not start anymore - no sound, no screen display - nothing - completely dead.
yesterday, everything runs perfect. :picard:
what can be the problem ?

i open it and check the fuse, it's fine.
As i am a noob in electronics, i appreciate any advice :)

thanks !!!

GeoffB17

Hello,

There have been discussions about such failures, you might look for these on this site.

The power supply is certainly understood to be fragile, and not easy to repair if certain parts go.   Usually, this sort of failure is readily visible due to burn marks, or smell.

You might take a couple of pics of the area of the board (both sides) near to the mains inlet.   Someone might spot components that look visibly unhealthy!

There may well be a service manual (it's not too big, there's not THAT much in the box) on the web.

Oh, do you have anything attached to the expansion interface, that might have moved?   Remove it, and try again.

Geoff

JonB

There is a schematic at least.

I had the same thing happen to my 9512. In the end I ripped the guts out of the power supply and fitted a compact switching PSU.

Not for the inexperienced though. There are hairy voltages in there.

I also had just the board & drives running off a small 5v/12v PSU with the uIDE expansion port "video" on an LCD display (you can see it in one of the uIDE demo videos I posted on youToob).

robcfg

You can find the service manuals on the PCWWiki.

As JonB said, don't play with the PSU board. Try to check voltages on the connector that goes to the main board.

radu14m

thanks Guys, i had an cps8256 attached.
i removed but no go.

also nothing smells, or looks burnout.
i am very carefully because of high voltage.
ill post some pictures :)

GeoffB17