- Top Stats

Top Posters Top Topic Starters Top Topics
JonB 409
GeoffB17 302
Bryce 202
robcfg 154
TFM 145
JonB 33
GeoffB17 15
ComSoft612... 14
Starglider 11
chinnyhill... 9
Amstrad NC100 ... - 17414 Views Nilquader 02:32, 31 August 10
Who wants IDE ... - 15684 Views JonB 13:43, 22 January 17
PCW kit - 13369 Views Token 01:51, 14 February 14
PCW ? - 10694 Views fano 10:02, 13 March 11
Anne PCW16 - 10335 Views TFM/FS 21:01, 20 April 11


Author Topic: Reliable source of 1 Mb SRAM PCMCIA card ? Or any hardware emulator ?  (Read 289 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline genesis8

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • Country: fr
    • Genesis8 Amstrad Page
  • Liked: 42
Hello,
do you know any reliable source of new type I PCMCIA SRAM card 3,3 mm (as seen in this forum) for any notepad ? I can see industrial vendors which seems to sell this (even with 2 included batteries, one replaceable, the other isnt but can keep the data when you change the replaceable one), but no thickness information.

Or maybe a hardware emulator ?
____________
Amstrad news site at Genesis8 Amstrad Page

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.727
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3735
These are getting very hard to find and stupidly expensive ( I've seen them on offer for >€80! ). I think I may still have a 2MB version somewhere if you are interested.

For information: ALL Type I should be 3.3mm, Type II are 5mm.


Bryce.

Offline pelrun

  • VK4CPC
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 525
  • Country: au
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 257

http://www.best-electronics-ca.com/portfoli.htm claims to have 1MB cards explicitly compatible with the NC100 for US$15.

2MB will *sort* of work, but the A21 line in the NC100 is floating, which will cause all sorts of weird corruption issues as the card flips between the two 1MB banks are random. Not sure how the NC200 is set up. Eventually I soldered a wire from A21 to ground, which forces the notepad to only use the low 1MB.

Online LambdaMikel

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.236
  • Country: us
    • Homepage
  • Liked: 641
http://www.best-electronics-ca.com/portfoli.htm claims to have 1MB cards explicitly compatible with the NC100 for US$15.



I got mine from Best Electronics (Bradley) as well. I didn't do much with the NC100 yet, but the card works fine for CP/M and such. I can testify that.




Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.727
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3735
http://www.best-electronics-ca.com/portfoli.htm claims to have 1MB cards explicitly compatible with the NC100 for US$15.

2MB will *sort* of work, but the A21 line in the NC100 is floating, which will cause all sorts of weird corruption issues as the card flips between the two 1MB banks are random. Not sure how the NC200 is set up. Eventually I soldered a wire from A21 to ground, which forces the notepad to only use the low 1MB.

Learnt something new :) I don't have an NC100, only any NC200 which can handle 2MB without issues.

Bryce.

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.044
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 547
Learnt something new :) I don't have an NC100, only any NC200 which can handle 2MB without issues.

Bryce.


That would be nice, but the NC200 also only works up to 1 MB.
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.01.14)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.727
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3735

That would be nice, but the NC200 also only works up to 1 MB.

Possibly, but it obviously has A21 tied low or high because the card works reliably.

Bryce.

Offline genesis8

  • CPC6128
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
  • Country: fr
    • Genesis8 Amstrad Page
  • Liked: 42
I ordered 2 cards from best electronics.
____________
Amstrad news site at Genesis8 Amstrad Page

Offline GUNHED

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.044
  • Country: de
  • Reincarnation of TFM
  • Liked: 547
Possibly, but it obviously has A21 tied low or high because the card works reliably.

Bryce.


Not in my case. Maybe there was an update of the PCB at some point. If I use a 2 MB card, it will fail very soon. Even formatting of the card raised problems.
http://futureos.de --> Get the revolutionary FutureOS (Recent update: 2019.01.14)
http://futureos.cpc-live.com/files/LambdaSpeak_RSX_by_TFM.zip --> Get the RSX-ROM for LambdaSpeak :-) (Ver.: 2018.08.15)

Offline Bryce

  • The Hardware Guy.
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 10.727
  • Country: wf
  • It's not broken, it just hasn't been fixed yet.
    • index.php?action=treasury
  • Liked: 3735
Hmm, maybe I modded it and have forgotten??

Bryce.