Who wants IDE drives on the PCW?

Started by JonB, 12:43, 22 January 17

Previous topic - Next topic

JonB

Thanks Geoff.

Those notes were written for the CP/M 2.2 xdriver 1.9, and might be out of date for CP/M Plus.  If you want to correct any of it, go ahead.

To be honest I'm pretty new to CP/M Plus. I'm much more knowledgeable about 2.2.

JonB

Oh by the way, I use SET <file>[SYS] to set the system bit, and SET <file>[DIR] to change back. I like to keep it old school..  ;)

But all this makes me wonder. Should we not write up some hints and tips to help people get the most out of their uIDEs? That was the purpose of the shot article on user areas. I'm happy to do it, but what topics do you think pack maximum fun?

1024MAK

You had me doing a double take when I saw this picture...

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Keep on trucking  :P

Mark
Looking forward to summer in Somerset :-)

JonB

Eh? Why...?

Too subtle for me!  ???

1024MAK

Quote from: JonB on 09:36, 23 February 17
Eh? Why...?

Too subtle for me!  ???
I did a double take because I thought you had somehow got a DOM connected via a single row connector  :o

Mark

sucram

I am very interested in an IDE adapter for the PCW. But I'm not sure wich version is the best for me. Is it possible to use two or three devices at the expansion port? I also have an DK'tronics joystick and sound adapter and the CPS8256.

JonB

The adapter doesn't have an expansion through connection, so you should fit uIDE-8 internally with a z80 shim. This is how mine is connected, it leaves the expansion port unused.

It is technically possible to have a through port, but I haven't found a suitable parts supplier yet. You need certain edge connectors for this.

PCW owners with no additional stuff to plug into the expansion port may be interested in my z80 bus expansion card and CPS8256 clone, which are in development. See here: http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/nc100-nc200-pcw-pda600/serial-parallel-io-via-z80-bus-adapter/

Cheers
JonB