News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu
C

Amstrad CPC 6128 Spanish Version now correctly dumped

Started by Coherencia, 01:52, 10 April 16

Previous topic - Next topic

Gryzor

Wow, how did it come to this?

Indeed, when I was sent the ROM dump I was wondering what's wrong with the dumps we already have, but thought - eh, I never use the Spanish ROM so I'll look around, there might be something to it.

I can see the value of proper archiving, but does it really matter if, say, you got a ROM that's some bytes long and you type it instead of dumping it? Is the dumped result any better for archival reasons?

In the end, I think T Guru's approach wasn't unwarranted - he's not familiar with the CPC per se and he was told (erroneously so) that the existing dump was bad, so he went about fixing that - which is something admirable. At most, an effort duplication. But the "Arguing with me is pointless, I'm an expert in this field, regardless of what you or others think" part really irked me; obviously you can be an expert in electronics but not an expert in common sense.

it saddens me that it escalated this way - after all, we're all after the same, more or less, thing.

I'm uploading the ROM here, should we add it to the Wiki with a relevant explanation?

khaz

High horses everywhere.

Get off of them, people!

1024MAK

Quote from: Gryzor on 14:54, 12 April 16
it saddens me that it escalated this way - after all, we're all after the same, more or less, thing.

I'm uploading the ROM here, should we add it to the Wiki with a relevant explanation?
It saddens me too, as well. There should be no difference between a 32k byte ROM file copied from a real ROM chip and a combined 32k byte ROM file made by joining a 16k byte OS/lower ROM file and a 16k byte BASIC ROM file.