Author Topic: Pac-Man emulator for CPC  (Read 31657 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Joseman

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 780
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 628
  • Likes Given: 429
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #50 on: 11:18, 17 April 12 »
Thanks!!!

When i have some time to play, i'll do the trick and see



Offline folkoh

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: de
  • CPC 464
  • Liked: 3
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #51 on: 12:59, 18 April 12 »
Hello,

1st post! CPC-owner since 1984.

First I like to express my gratitude for everyone keeping the CPC alive and bringing all these great new achievements to the lurking public like me  :)

At first I also thought about this being an April's Fool prank - but then I dared to check this in WinCPC first and it worked fine. Well actually, it lagged a bit here and there, but I thought it was some emulation issue.

So I copied the dsk to an old trusty 3" and loaded the game on real hardware (6128 classic) and watched it coming to live on a CTM 644. And what a wonderful experience that is: The overscan, the colours - this is the arcade look and feel that I remember from the late 70ies in some Italian arade. It's so much better than MAME on a PC with an LCD monitor!

But I have to pour a little water into the wine: The lagging I experienced with WinCPC reproduces exactly on the real hardware. It's everywhere, in the start screen, the demo mode, the real game, the interlevel animations (especially with the latter and big sprites). The speed just goes down a bit then after 2-3 seconds it goes back to full speed. This does not happen at fixed times or situations it's more or less unpredictable. So I checked with my CPC 464 (classic) - same story. It's still playable, it even adds another challenge: ghosts speed up all of a sudden! :D

Even though it remains a great achievement (I couldn't have lived with the Spectrum having this alone), thanks a lot!!! I don't know if there is a chance to fix this or of it's just the limits of the hardware - in any case: thanks for making me happy!

Greetings,

Folko

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 683
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 397
  • Likes Given: 887
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #52 on: 14:03, 18 April 12 »
Hi Folko...welcome.

Have you tried the PACMANF version...this version has been considerably speed enhanced.
You shuld be able to find the files easily, but you can PM me with your email address if you want me to send you a .DSK of this version.

Cheers,
Shane
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline folkoh

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: de
  • CPC 464
  • Liked: 3
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #53 on: 15:52, 18 April 12 »
Wow thx! I don't have the F version. PM sent.

Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 683
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 397
  • Likes Given: 887
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #54 on: 16:18, 18 April 12 »
Email sent  :)


Let us know what you think...
 
 
Cheers,
Shane
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.177
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3009
  • Likes Given: 5347
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #55 on: 16:51, 18 April 12 »
I have only tested the F version. While there's some slowdown, I really, clearly do not care. It's just amazing :D


Oh, and welcome mate!

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
  • Liked: 1976
  • Likes Given: 4650
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #56 on: 20:09, 18 April 12 »
Hello,

1st post! CPC-owner since 1984.


Very welcome here!
 
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline folkoh

  • CPC464
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: de
  • CPC 464
  • Liked: 3
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #57 on: 13:48, 19 April 12 »
Yeehahh!
Thanks Shane, the F-Version totally solved the issue. Now running (almost, just very little lags at the startup music and the interlevel sequences but not during the game at all) flawlessly on the real hardware (and on WinCPC, too).
Me happy.  :D
Thanks for the welcome, too TFM/FS.
Keep on doing great stuff, guys.
Cheers,

Folko







Offline 00WReX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 683
  • Country: au
  • The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • CPCwiki
  • Liked: 397
  • Likes Given: 887
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #58 on: 16:25, 19 April 12 »
That's good, It's still putting a smile on my face too  :)
 
SyX & TotO are the reason you (and I) are happy, their skills brought this to life on the good old CPC  ;D
 
Cheers,
Shane
The CPC in Australia...
Awa - CPCWiki

Offline SyX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.120
  • Country: br
  • Liked: 1094
  • Likes Given: 1863
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #59 on: 23:28, 19 April 12 »
Thanks again for the amazing feedback!!!  :D

Kukulcan, the webmaster of CPC Power, has added it and made a great cover and sticker for the floppy :)

Offline Gryzor

  • Administrator
  • 6128 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 15.177
  • Country: gr
  • CPC-Wiki maintainer
    • CPCWiki
  • Liked: 3009
  • Likes Given: 5347
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #60 on: 20:06, 20 April 12 »
Wow, the tape jacket is great!!! I see no floppy sticker though? - ah yes, in Les Goodies section...

Offline Joseman

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 780
  • Country: es
  • Liked: 628
  • Likes Given: 429
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #61 on: 14:30, 21 April 12 »
Of course, you can :)

The correct order is:
pir1 +pir5 = pacman.6e
pir2 +pir6 = pacman.6f
 pir3 +pir7 = pacman.6h
 pir4 +pir8 = pacman.6j
 

I tryed this combination and didn't work :( , only blank screen, have you tested this?

and the remaining files pir9.bin pir10.bin pir11.bin pir12.bin are not needed?


« Last Edit: 14:33, 21 April 12 by Joseman »

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.465
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2636
  • Likes Given: 1565
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #62 on: 14:48, 21 April 12 »
Hade you added the AMSOFT header on files to make them "BINARY" compatible ?
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline SyX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.120
  • Country: br
  • Liked: 1094
  • Likes Given: 1863
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #63 on: 15:05, 21 April 12 »
I tryed this combination and didn't work :( , only blank screen, have you tested this?
Are you sure is Pirahna? Piranhao doesn't work, because the roms are encrypted... but don't worry, take a look to the CPC Power link, because somebody has put there all the supported versions ready to use ;)


and the remaining files pir9.bin pir10.bin pir11.bin pir12.bin are not needed?
Those are the arcade graphics, we don't need those, we are using the wonderful graphics made by TotO ;)

Offline SyX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.120
  • Country: br
  • Liked: 1094
  • Likes Given: 1863
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #64 on: 01:04, 01 June 12 »
Well, two months after the launch and as i promise, the sources are available, enjoy them and if somebody have any doubt, only need to ask  ;)

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.465
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2636
  • Likes Given: 1565
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #65 on: 22:35, 18 September 12 »
Hehehehe !  ;D 






I'm surprised that there was no video of this game on Youtube...
Xyphoe and Metr are not enough good for it ?  :P
« Last Edit: 22:39, 18 September 12 by TotO »
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
  • Liked: 1976
  • Likes Given: 4650
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #66 on: 22:52, 18 September 12 »
Well, two months after the launch and as i promise, the sources are available, enjoy them and if somebody have any doubt, only need to ask  ;)

Just had a look at it, which assembler do you use? Err.... is it possible to convert it for MAXAM? I'm just curious... ;) :) :)
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline SyX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.120
  • Country: br
  • Liked: 1094
  • Likes Given: 1863
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #67 on: 23:51, 18 September 12 »
Just had a look at it, which assembler do you use? Err.... is it possible to convert it for MAXAM? I'm just curious... ;) :) :)
I use VASM, remember that i don't code only for cpc... although i don't like maxam at all (never liked its awkard syntax :P), i was more in devpac (i bought the cpc and amiga versions) or the Amstrad Personal assembler. Also, maxam requires a cpc or winape, and the 99% of my computing free time is in my linux desktop.

But sure, the pac-man sources can be changed to maxam syntax.

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
  • Liked: 1976
  • Likes Given: 4650
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #68 on: 00:24, 19 September 12 »
Well, you know my friend, I always try to make everything available on CPC. Just waiting for the day when no PC will run anylonger - but the CPCs will  :)
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline TotO

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 3.465
  • Country: fr
    • ?area=showdonations;u=4
  • Liked: 2636
  • Likes Given: 1565
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #69 on: 10:34, 19 September 12 »
Well, you know my friend, I always try to make everything available on CPC. Just waiting for the day when no PC will run anylonger - but the CPCs will  :)
May be the time to get a new powerfull ASM on CPC/FutureOS, using the same syntax as VASM so ? :)
« Last Edit: 10:36, 19 September 12 by TotO »
"You make one mistake in your life and the internet will never let you live it down" (Keith Goodyer)

Offline SyX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.120
  • Country: br
  • Liked: 1094
  • Likes Given: 1863
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #70 on: 16:02, 19 September 12 »
Add to the list an editor with syntax highlighting (but mode 1 is not enough colour and mode 0 is not enough resolution), a python shell (instead of basic :P ) and a lovely keyboard like this (you can put a pair of nice Amstrad keys :P ):

Extra points for getting the cpc in a nice case as the Mac Mini, Amiga 1000, CDTV, C128D or the MSX2 8280 from philips :P

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
  • Liked: 1976
  • Likes Given: 4650
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #71 on: 18:44, 19 September 12 »
May be the time to get a new powerfull ASM on CPC/FutureOS, using the same syntax as VASM so ? :)

If you like to do it - that would be great.
 
I must admit that - at this time - I'm deeply into chicken, I mean cyber chicken. Err, no, it's a game I'm working on. For example yesterday... I thought about how to make the collision detection (up to 21 bullets on screen, and up to 64 chicken) the best... so I stranded in a bar. Well, as you see, I do work not efficient enough  ;) :laugh:
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus

Offline arnoldemu

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 5.332
  • Country: gb
    • Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource
  • Liked: 2247
  • Likes Given: 3477
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #72 on: 21:04, 19 September 12 »

If you like to do it - that would be great.
 
I must admit that - at this time - I'm deeply into chicken, I mean cyber chicken. Err, no, it's a game I'm working on. For example yesterday... I thought about how to make the collision detection (up to 21 bullets on screen, and up to 64 chicken) the best... so I stranded in a bar. Well, as you see, I do work not efficient enough  ;) :laugh:
2d sweep and prune?

or use a grid... or...
My games. My Games
My website with coding examples: Unofficial Amstrad WWW Resource

Offline SyX

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.120
  • Country: br
  • Liked: 1094
  • Likes Given: 1863
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #73 on: 23:20, 19 September 12 »
... or sort by coordY for skipping collisions fast (bucket sort is your friend)

Offline TFM

  • Visit the mysteries of the CPC at www.futureos.de
  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 9.899
  • Country: aq
  • Space Chicken for FutureOS is free!
    • index.php?action=treasury
    • FutureOS - The revolution on CPC!
  • Liked: 1976
  • Likes Given: 4650
Re: Pac-Man emulator for CPC
« Reply #74 on: 23:35, 19 September 12 »
Thank's for the offered ideas  :) :) :)
 
But, naaaaaaaa.... all tooo slow (at least the way I understand them, if I understood at all  :laugh: ).
 
What I do now is to ...
 
- Check all (maximum 21) Shots for a Z-Koordinate which can cat a chicken.
   (Chicken can be hit only at some Z coordinates, that makes it more easy).
- If a Shot/Bullet can hit, then ckeck the X-coordinate of all chicken, see if it is close the X of shot.
- ... then check Y
 
Using a nice lookuptable I can project the 3D on a 2D grid (originally it was made for positionating sprites). That may be what you suggested to me  :)
 
 
That's running nicely so far... I worked around that 3d problems... I just have to do the fine tuning (size of bullet and sprite must be taken in account, all that small crap ;) )
 
 
 
EDIT: Sorry, back to topic !!!  :) :) :)
TFM of FutureSoft
Also visit the CPC and Plus users favorite OS: FutureOS - The Revolution on CPC6128 and 6128Plus