Project "8bit Stories": Diskmag-like collection of my retro-computer memories

Started by mr_lou, 16:47, 29 June 14

Previous topic - Next topic

mr_lou

Hi all

I would like to present a project I've been working on for about 2 years now.

The working title is "RetroMag", but I think I'll call the project "8bit memories" instead when it's done, and the short description sounds like this:

It'll (hopefully) be a Discmag-like series, where each issue contains a lot of (true) stories told by one person. All stories will be memories from that persons life about various retro computers and/or consoles he/she remembers from his/her childhood.
For example, the day he/she got her Amstrad CPC464, or that summer vacation he/she visited a friend who introduced him/her to the Amiga. Or a story about how a certain game represents certain people and/or a certain time in his/her life.
That's the only requirement for each story: It has to be about some kind of retro machine, 8bit or 16bit.

I am making issue 1 myself, where I'm writing stories about the Phillips G7000 at my aunt and uncle's, the Game & Watch game Donkey Kong II I got one year for Christmas, the Amstrad CPC464 at my grandmother's, when I began exploring the BASIC language - and lots of other stories.

The collection of my stories will then become "8bit memories issue 1".

Future issues can be created by anyone who wishes to do so, and be about any retro machine(s) he/she wishes. If you find that interesting, and would like to share your stories with the world, then start writing your memories today!

Here are some guidelines:

In short: The stories should describe how you remember experiencing the machine(s) and the games back then.