News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

Using a "dumbphone" in 2018

Started by mr_lou, 10:16, 08 December 18

Previous topic - Next topic

mr_lou

(If this isn't retro enough, moderator must move it to Other).

So it's been several months now, since I gave up using modern smartphones. They just kept disappointing me in various ways. So in the end I decided to go back to an old feature phone.

I found a used Sony Ericsson W995 at a flea-market very cheap, did a factory reset, and I was off. Literally, as in offline.  ;)

At the time of writing, I have been using this old phone for many months. It wouldn't surprise me if it's been a whole year already.

So what's it like using such an old phone here in 2018, when you're a geek like me?
Well, actually pretty cool. Here is a short story from my life. :)

Every morning, I take the bus with my daughter, to bring her to school. At school while waiting for another bus to take me back again, I realize that my old phone is really retro, because the other kids from my daughters class come up to me, see me stand there with my old W995, and then go: "I've had one of those too. It was my old playphone"...  and by that they mean that they used to play with one of these - long ago. That's how old it is....  :laugh:

These old phones does run apps, and there are plenty of apps to choose from - all nicely ad-free too. :)
There's a nice big app store available at http://sony-ericsson-w995.oms.apps.bemobi.com/en_dk/

I've installed Moby Explorer, which is a file explorer with a built-in ftp client and text-editor. So I can use the waiting time writing various texts.