Author Topic: Arcade Game Designer  (Read 7151 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.119
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 608
  • Likes Given: 1582
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #50 on: 01:17, 24 April 19 »
I managed it to work in other game by replacing the < symbol with =.


You mean instead of:

IF X < LEFTEDGE
    LET X = RIGHTEDGE


To:

IF X = LEFTEDGE
    LET X = RIGHTEDGE

Offline MiguelSky

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 361
  • Country: es
    • CPCGamesCD
  • Liked: 185
  • Likes Given: 344
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #51 on: 01:51, 24 April 19 »

You mean instead of:

IF X < LEFTEDGE
    LET X = RIGHTEDGE


To:

IF X = LEFTEDGE
    LET X = RIGHTEDGE
Right!

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.119
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 608
  • Likes Given: 1582
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #52 on: 02:00, 24 April 19 »
This is what I did  :-X

Offline MiguelSky

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 361
  • Country: es
    • CPCGamesCD
  • Liked: 185
  • Likes Given: 344
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #53 on: 04:23, 24 April 19 »
Looks like you're running an old version of the CPC compiler, 0.7.2.  The latest version should display 0.7.3.  Make sure you're using the most recent CompilerCPC.exe and the WINH error will disappear.
They are the ones included on last version I downloaded from https://jonathan-cauldwell.itch.io/multi-platform-arcade-game-designer/devlog/77278/version-074-released. I also downloaded 64bit version to replace the compiler file but the same 0.7.2 version is shown in the console.

Offline Jonathan.

  • Dev
  • CPC464
  • *****
  • Posts: 36
  • Country: gb
    • The Arcade Game Designer Forums
  • Liked: 92
  • Likes Given: 8
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #54 on: 23:40, 27 April 19 »
They are the ones included on last version I downloaded from https://jonathan-cauldwell.itch.io/multi-platform-arcade-game-designer/devlog/77278/version-074-released. I also downloaded 64bit version to replace the compiler file but the same 0.7.2 version is shown in the console.


This is weird.  I just downloaded the latest 64-bit version myself to make sure I'm not going mad and CompilerCPC.exe does show 0.7.3.  Are you sure you didn't download the previous version by mistake?  Perhaps you have a rogue old copy of the previous version of CompilerCPC.exe still on your drive and the new one didn't copy over it or maybe there's an old version running from a different directory?

I can post the most recent 32 or 64 bit CompilerCPC.exe here if that helps.
« Last Edit: 23:47, 27 April 19 by Jonathan. »

Offline Jonathan.

  • Dev
  • CPC464
  • *****
  • Posts: 36
  • Country: gb
    • The Arcade Game Designer Forums
  • Liked: 92
  • Likes Given: 8
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #55 on: 00:23, 28 April 19 »

You mean instead of:

IF X < LEFTEDGE
    LET X = RIGHTEDGE

To:

IF X = LEFTEDGE
    LET X = RIGHTEDGE




Another way would be to ignore LEFTEDGE and RIGHTEDGE completely and instead take the X coordinates used in the Spectrum game, divide those by 8 then multiply them by 5.  If you're writing a game from scratch it's definitely better to reference LEFTEDGE and RIGHTEDGE because then your game should work on all platforms without changes.  Going forward, the plan is to add more machines with different resolutions and if the mode 0 CPC version proves popular I'll take a look at adding a mode 1 option.


Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.119
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 608
  • Likes Given: 1582
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #56 on: 00:31, 28 April 19 »
Mode 1 will be the best option for most of the ZX ports.

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.119
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 608
  • Likes Given: 1582
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #57 on: 01:01, 28 April 19 »
Ok that worked, thanks so much!!!
I ported another one that now has a problem when I reach the upper screens (The Vectornauts 2)
Will I do the same with with Y?




Offline MiguelSky

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 361
  • Country: es
    • CPCGamesCD
  • Liked: 185
  • Likes Given: 344
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #58 on: 02:28, 28 April 19 »
This is weird.  I just downloaded the latest 64-bit version myself to make sure I'm not going mad and CompilerCPC.exe does show 0.7.3.  Are you sure you didn't download the previous version by mistake?
I just downloaded (once again) the 32 bit to a different drive in my PC and when it tries to export it says it's 0.7.2. I can't try 64bit now because I don't have the laptop with me this week (please, don't ask why  :picard: ).


May you post the 32bit CompilerCPC.exe here, just in case?

Offline Jonathan.

  • Dev
  • CPC464
  • *****
  • Posts: 36
  • Country: gb
    • The Arcade Game Designer Forums
  • Liked: 92
  • Likes Given: 8
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #59 on: 22:45, 03 May 19 »

Here's the 32-bit CompilerCPC.exe


Offline MiguelSky

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 361
  • Country: es
    • CPCGamesCD
  • Liked: 185
  • Likes Given: 344
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #60 on: 23:18, 03 May 19 »
Here's the 32-bit CompilerCPC.exe
I'm afraid this file doesn't solve the problem.I just downloaded (once again more) the 32bit to a different drive in my PC. Then, before doing anything else, I replaced the Compiler CPC with the one you have sent. When it tries to export it keeps saying it's 0.7.2 :o
« Last Edit: 00:21, 04 May 19 by MiguelSky »

Offline VincentGR

  • 6128 Plus
  • ******
  • Posts: 1.119
  • Country: gr
    • Parts from the past.
  • Liked: 608
  • Likes Given: 1582
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #61 on: 23:44, 03 May 19 »
Do you run it from a shortcut?
Maybe it is assigned to an old directory.


Or admin privileges won't let you copy it?

Offline MiguelSky

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 361
  • Country: es
    • CPCGamesCD
  • Liked: 185
  • Likes Given: 344
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #62 on: 00:23, 04 May 19 »
No, I open the file winAGD.exe directly. And the file CompilerCPC is certainly replaced: in previous tests I had renamed it but this time I tried by deleting it.
« Last Edit: 01:44, 04 May 19 by MiguelSky »

Offline SRS

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 562
  • Country: de
  • Schneider CPC464 - what else ?
  • Liked: 547
  • Likes Given: 289
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #63 on: 00:05, 05 May 19 »
I just checked latest 64bit version (580k)  and 32bit version (21 MB) - in both the source code of CompilerCPC claims to be a

Code: [Select]
    puts( "AGD Compiler for Amstrad CPC464 version 0.7.3" );
    puts( "(C) Jonathan Cauldwell March 2019" );

Offline MiguelSky

  • 464 Plus
  • *****
  • Posts: 361
  • Country: es
    • CPCGamesCD
  • Liked: 185
  • Likes Given: 344
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #64 on: 16:57, 05 May 19 »
I just checked latest 64bit version (580k)  and 32bit version (21 MB) - in both the source code of CompilerCPC claims to be a

Code: [Select]
    puts( "AGD Compiler for Amstrad CPC464 version 0.7.3" );
    puts( "(C) Jonathan Cauldwell March 2019" );
I do see that here.

I've finally found what was happening!!! In the 32bit version, build.bat files use the compiler named AGD.exe into AGD folder nested into CPCSuite folder instead the CompilerCPC.exe into  the upper MPAGD32 folder!!! I overwrited that file with the last one that Jonathan sent (renamed to AGD.exe) and 0.7.3 is finally shown. It's the same if I replace it with the CompilerCPC in root MPAGD32 folder (renamed to AGD.exe)


Mystery solved!
« Last Edit: 00:26, 12 May 19 by MiguelSky »

Offline Jonathan.

  • Dev
  • CPC464
  • *****
  • Posts: 36
  • Country: gb
    • The Arcade Game Designer Forums
  • Liked: 92
  • Likes Given: 8
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #65 on: 15:11, 06 October 19 »

There is a new release with a few improvements, mostly to the editors.  There are one or two bug fixes and there's an option to disable the AY so that you can add your own music.


The BBC Model B is now supported thanks to Kieran and Kees so you can create games for that machine too.


The MSX has been added as an option.  Once Jose finishes the compiler and engine (he's very close, I've been testing them on a few Spectrum conversions) it should just be a case of slotting Kees' build suite in as a sub-directory and you'll be able to create games for that machine as well.


https://jonathan-cauldwell.itch.io/multi-platform-arcade-game-designer

Offline SRS

  • Supporter
  • 6128 Plus
  • *
  • Posts: 562
  • Country: de
  • Schneider CPC464 - what else ?
  • Liked: 547
  • Likes Given: 289
Re: Arcade Game Designer
« Reply #66 on: 23:27, 07 October 19 »
Nice news.
I just helped you a bit - now 230 million users of AVG AntiVirus can run it without fearings it's a trojan  :picard: