News:

Printed Amstrad Addict magazine announced, check it out here!

Main Menu

First forced side-scrolling arcade game finally on Amstrad CPC 464 ... or not

Started by PuzCPC, 10:00, 16 September 18

Previous topic - Next topic

PuzCPC

Hi everyone,

After 31 years it's time to learn Z80 assembler and my first goal is to make this game finally for CPC, but it's the problem here.
I don't know how to make music and sound efects from original game. Any help will be very welcome.

I have been working for almost three months on this project.
It's almost everything done except colission detection and of course no sounds and music.

Cheers, PuzCPC

mr_lou

Welcome to the forum!

We have quite a few musicians here actually. I'm one of them, sadly not with a whole lot of time though.
Tell more about what style and such you're after. Chances are some of us already have tracks lying around that can be used.

PuzCPC

It's actually conversion from the Arcade machine.
I think everybody knows that game here on CPCwiki. :)

Here are some screenshots from WinApe.

PuzCPC

mr_lou

Looks awesome.
I've always wanted a proper Scramble clone for the CPC. The topic has been discussed previously though, where the experts said the CPC couldn't perform a smooth scroll in such a slow speed. That's why existing clones scroll by too fast.

Anyway, I'm gonna tag @McKlain and @SuTeKH/Epyteor here who are both experts in reproducing audio from existing games onto the CPC. One of them might be interested in creating the audio for your Scramble game.

AMSDOS

I made a small program a few years ago that should suit the scrolling in that sort of game. In my example it's a person in the centre of the screen, Space is pressed which moves the ground underneath. It's using Firmware though along with CTRC 3 to smooth out the process.
* Using the old Amstrad Languages :D   * with the Firmware :P
* I also like to problem solve code in BASIC :)   * And type-in Type-Ins! :D

Home Computing Weekly Programs